We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIne place, good staff”

Fort Hunter Mansion and Park
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built on a bluff overlooking the Susquehanna River, Fort Hunter Mansion and Park has served as a war fort, a hub for frontier commerce, and an exclusive private estate. Now preserved and open to the public, Fort Hunter Mansion and Park invites you to explore Pennsylvania's rich history. Guided tours of Fort Hunter Mansion are available every day but Mondays, May through December. Admission is charged.Fort Hunter Park is open free to the public, daily from 8 am - dusk.
Harrisburg, Pa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“FIne place, good staff”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was scheduled to give a presentation at this venue and found the facilities to be excellent and the staff to be helpful and knowledgeable. Well worth the visit.

Visited November 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    64
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Place to Roam around and Learn”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I wanted to enjoy a nice Saturday in our area. We found the Fort Hunter Mansion and Park to be delightful. We love museums and historical sites. We were very pleased with the 45 minute personal tour we had of the mansion. If is very beautiful inside and out. There is also a park and other sites to see spread out around the property. You will learn a lot especially if you are a history buff, but will appreciate it even if you are not. The grounds are lovely and there are archaeological digs underway at the moment.

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely historical park”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you are a history buff you will like this park, if you are not you will still like it. A beautiful location along the river, great place for a picnic. The wine and music fests draw a big crowd.

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful site”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Visiting Harrisburg for the first time, the four of us were very happy that we included this historic site in our two day stay. It is on a beautiful location and the tour guide was excellent. The small gift shop is lovely. The grounds, overlooking the Susquehanna River, are spectacular.

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fort Hunter Mansion and Park”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This mansion is a must see for anyone visiting the Harrisburg area. They specifically provide activities for children so that children walk away with knowledge of the early history of Pennsylvania. The park is lovely with grounds for walking and several times a year they sponsor antiques for sale. This site is family oriented such that their is enjoyment for all.

Visited September 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Hunter Mansion and Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing