We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tour and walk around grounds ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Hunter Mansion and Park

Fort Hunter Mansion and Park
Ranked #3 of 53 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built on a bluff overlooking the Susquehanna River, Fort Hunter Mansion and Park has served as a war fort, a hub for frontier commerce, and an exclusive private estate. Now preserved and open to the public, Fort Hunter Mansion and Park invites you to explore Pennsylvania's rich history. Guided tours of Fort Hunter Mansion are available every day but Mondays, May through December. Admission is charged.Fort Hunter Park is open free to the public, daily from 8 am - dusk.
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour and walk around grounds ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Took my son on a whim after reading reviews. Knowledgeable tour guide through the mansion and great price of $5 for me and $3 for my student son. They also have senior price. Took a map and walked the grounds too. Would be great for a picnic on the grounds too. Didn't realize you can also rent several venues for weddings or reunions etc.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCarolJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    56
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fort Hunter Mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The mansion was very interesting and fun to go through. The tour guide, Susan, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. I would recommend to anyone who has an hour to spend. My teenager thought it was cool

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traci F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely old mansion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Our tour guide was knowledgable and funny. The history of the families that lived there is interesting and the furniture and paintings are beautiful. Way worth the measly $5 fee. They should charge more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you like history, stop here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Julia was an awesome tour guide. The tour was nothing short of AMAZING!!!! The history of the home and surrounding areas is incredible! The tour included interactive questions and answer sessions for my kids to keep them entertained. Each room contains period pieces of furniture, knickknacks, clothing, linens, china, kitchen tools, etc. Julia was quick to ask questions and full of information. When we asked questions she knew the answer immediately. She was playful with the kids who also enjoyed the stop. (Usually they just put in their time on the stuff for mom!) The fee ($5 for adults, $3 for students) was more than reasonable for this tour!

About a mile away is a variety of fast food restaurants. We stopped and got the food to go so we could picnic along the river. It was an awesome experience prior to our tour. There is a large picnic area overlooking the Susquehanna River complete with play area for the kids. Across the street is a barn, tavern (1800s version), covered bridge, etc, to explore. Just be careful if you cross the street on foot. It can be very busy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

What made this place "excellent" was the guide, Bob. He described the history of the mansion and explained the purpose of the various rooms and the items in the rooms and on the grounds. It was a very detailed and thorough tour, and we learned a lot. The views of the Susquehanna are very lovely, and the entire park is pleasant and scenic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Hunter Mansion and Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Hunter Mansion and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing