We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone, young and old.”

Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center
Ranked #5 of 53 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Hummels Wharf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something for everyone, young and old.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is an excellent show for everyone. It is in its 98th year. There is a sculpture made out of a half ton of butter depicting dancing cows and people drinking milk shakes. It is also a foodie's delight with honey ice cream, potato donuts, lamb stew, and new bacon bundles. You can also enjoy the rodeo, tractor pulls, square dancing, draft horse pulls, plus many more activities. They also have several PA wineries, where you can taste your favorite wines. This is a wonderful attraction.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    98
    34
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Farm show is great for families”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Pennsylvania Farm Show (held in January each year) is free, but parking is $10. It's a great place for having children (all people, actually) be close or next to farm animals of all sizes. The Food Court has numerous choices of food and is always crowded. Unfortunately you will need to stand while eating. There are very few places to sit while at the Farm Show. Be sure to get a free map as you enter the building because the layout is difficult to understand and remember. There was a short wait for a bus ride to and from the offsite parking lot. Be very careful to remember exactly where you parked your car and what waiting shelter you used.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bobfox98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid the farm show!!!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

If you are handicapped or have a stroller this venue is not for you!!! Too many people and most are teens and kids on field trips. They run around pushing and shoving with no respect for the disabled and God forbid when you need to use the elevator yes I said elevator as their is only one and the lines are crazy long to use it. Then when you do use the one that you think is going towards the down floor to the Weis building and it goes back down to the cows then you must wait back in line to go back up and across to a secret cubby hole where the correct elevator is note I did not see any signs pointing to the elevators until I got there and the sign was above the door. Oh and also unless you want to get bowled over do not stop to look at anything period you must keep moving. I totally did not feel safe in any of the buildings if there would ever be a fire how would you get out ?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Farm Show FREE and FUN. Crowded. Need more elevators.”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Visited today with my family for the annual PA Farm Show. FREE admission for all. $10 to park.

Extremely crowded. Go early in the AM, and on a weekday to avoid biggest crowds. To go on the weekend is a suicide mission. WAY too crowded.

Even during off days and times it is crowded. We used two strollers, so had to use elevator. 58,000 people in the place, and only ONE elevator per building! ONE! That is completely inconvenient, and ridiculous.

But, when we weren't waiting in line for the elevator, we had a blast! The Farm Show is FUN! Animals to see and pet, delicious county fair-style food and vendors, educational exhibits, farmers who love answering questions about their animals, FREE flu shots, and our kids, ages 6, 4, 2, and 10 months had a fun time that they'll remember forever during our nearly 4 hour visit (10 AM - 2 PM).

We could have stayed longer, but the 10 month old was ready to go.

$65 cash was plenty of money for our family of 6 plus my Dad (7 of us) to eat, drink, and have fun!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PABryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudlersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst event I have EVER attended.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Too crowded too enjoy at all. Made Disney crowds seem miniscule. Waited longer for the bus ride back to the distant overflow parking lot longer than I have ever waited for an amusement ride or to leave a venue after a concert or sporting event. And of course the waiting was in outside in 14 degree weather. Took an hour and a half to park wait for the bus to get thete in the first place. Incorrect parking signs caused adfitional congestion. To top it all off there weren't even any combines. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing