We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of the owner lady” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beware of the owner lady”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed over in this hotel on our way to Hershey park. We booked this hotel online for a cheaper price. When we reached there the owner lady was at the reception and seemed a little displeased. No reception. She checked us in. The room was decent but had some issues. The tub clogged, bathroom door didn't lock,the main door would get stuck in the carpet and needed to be pushed hard to close. When we informed the owner lady about the issues she said "you are making stuff up and if you are not happy you can leave with refund" rather rudely. We were dumbstruck with such a response. As we were offered a full refund we decided to go to a nearby hotel. We went to the owner lady to tell her that we were ready to check out. She started screaming, used foul language and asked us to leave or she would call the cops. She refused to even give the refund. We didn't want to stay there any longer and decided to leave after all the drama ( my personal opinion that she had some psych issues). We left right away.
Please save yourself and stay away from going to this hotel for any needs.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sleuths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    36
    16
    24
See reviews for
51
36
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

we had a good experience at scottish inn. we stayed there for four nights. friendly environment. really close to hershey park to the great family fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kushal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I come to Hershey every year, but stayed at this hotel for the first time. This is a very family friendly hotel. The room is basic with all the necessary amenities. They provide a nice continental breakfast in the morning. I have stayed at different hotels in the area and paid a higher price at some places, but this is the best pick so far. I have no reason not to come back here. This is a place in our budget within a few minutes drive to Hershey park.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briansoto555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night on our way to meet family. The walls are so thin that we felt we were sharing rooms with people next door. The bathroom door lock was not functioning, but that wasn't an issue for us, it was the beds. The room looked clean, however the beds smelled funny. I developed a severe rash on my arms and thighs which was an allergic reaction to mites which lasted for about 4 days with medication and suffered severe wheezing for a day which I usually get on exposure to mold. Bottom line is, if you have asthma or allergies you definitely don't want to stay here. The place is old and in need of some major revamp. Would not recommend this place for health and hygiene reasons.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Harrisburg hotels

Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a worst place we have ever stayed...We had to leave this place in the middle of night because of such an arrogant rude behavior of lady at reception. I;m sure you would ask the reason...we called the hotel and they asked 99 USD + tax . Immediately we looked at priceline and it was available to 57 per night. We booked three rooms and the story started from there.the hotel receptions/owner would not tolerate us for a second. The batch room were filthy...she screamed at us in front of our kids and asked us to leave repeatedly.........kids were scared as they had never seen such a human being in their life.... We booked another 3.5 star hotel nearby at the middle of the night and had to leave. The entire trip is ruined because of greedy fellows......I'm sure if you are from a decent family you'll stay away from this hotel.....and priceline as well who choose to display these kind of hotels in their search results... price line we were three families and this was our last booking with you. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa ON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way home. Got a coupon from the Hotel Coupon book, which described it as new. NO WAY! Reception was cool, the room was generic, 2 soft double beds, old style tv (no problem with that). But the worst thing was the THIN walls. You could hear everything in adjoining room, even the one below us. Didn't sleep a wink from noise from other rooms. There is much that needs updating here. Door and walls are dirty. Breakfast was minimal, but I guess for 50$, this is what one gets. We are not returning here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsavoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were on the tail end of a 2 week road trip this week and needed a hotel for one night. We reached Harrisburg and decided we would stop for the night here. We had those travel coupon books you pick up at the rest areas and Scottish Inn was advertised in one of them. It was advertised as "brand new" so we decided we would stop here because it was "new". There were only a few cars in the parking lot so we figured the hotel was not booked. We went into the lobby, there was no one at the registration desk so we waited a few minutes and then rang the bell on the desk. After a few more minutes, a young man appeared. We asked for a room and if they would honor a coupon, he answered yes and that was all he said. He handed us a room key and didn't tell us anything about the breakfast, where anything was located, etc. It was the most unfriendly experience we have ever encountered, and we travel all the time.

The room was the typical size of most of the hotel rooms, two queen beds, with very soft mattresses, bedspreads and bedskirts were all wrinkled, window had one curtain and no sheer curtain so you could let in the light but have your privacy.

The bathroom was very small, the sink faucet had a constant drip, we tried to tighten the handles but it still dripped, very annoying sound all night. We didn't bother to notify the front desk because of the registration experience and the unfriendliness we received. We would have gone elsewhere but we were tired of driving and just wanted to settle in for the night.

There was no mico or fridge so you could keep drinks cold, etc. We had fridges in all the hotels we stayed in except this one. We had soft drinks and my husband's diabetic drinks that we kept in the cooler then put in the fridge to keep cold til we were back on the road in the morning. In order to get ice from the ice machine, you had to use your room key card and the ice machine was on the second floor.

The breakfast only had 2 types of cereal, bagels, toast, beverages. Again, not what all the other motels offered us. No one came and checked to see if we needed anything else, there were only the few guests in the lobby. It certainly was not a positive experience and I would not recommend this hotel. Had we not been so tired, we would have gone elsewhere. Perhaps people that don't travel as frequently as we do would think this was not a bad place to spend a night. To each his own, but you won't find us at another Scottish Inn. We stayed at Days Inns, Hampton Inns, independently owned motels, and other chains on our 2 week journey and had a very positive experience. What really was annoying to us was the fact that the motel was listed in the coupon book as brand new when it was not new, you could tell from the furnishings, fixtures, etc.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank May_Zee_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrisburg
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
#32 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel 6 Harrisburg - Hershey North
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
9.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North

Property: Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North
Address: 7975 Jonestown Road, Harrisburg, PA 17112 (Formerly Scottish Inn and Suites Hershey/Harrisburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottish Inns & Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Scottish Inns And Suites Harrisburg
Scottish Hotel Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing