We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very displeased. All the facts from my stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Brick
1 review
“Very displeased. All the facts from my stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We found this hotel from another discounted site but wanted to warn potential guests. 1- this hotel is 11+ miles from Hershey Park. So if your traveling a distance, be prepared to travel again some more...
2- the room had a musty smell to the room, almost the kinda smell that it had not had a good clean in some time
3- bathtub had light black stains on the bottom and side part
4- the tv kept going on and off just out of no where all of a sudden
5- the 3 lights above the sink are on a motion sensor, they would randomly turn on, even when no one moved JUST as my daughter would fall asleep and wake her up (had to unscrew them just so they would stop going off
6- the chlorine was so strong it burned our eyes and could only stay in maybe 10 minutes
7- my door key wasn't letting us in (either one of them) and the front desk clerk said, "this happens sometimes you just have to keep trying" (we tried ATLEAST 6 times then gave up)
8- the breakfast was traditional continental (mediocre coffee, waffles were good, pastries, bagels, bread) the eggs...were gritty and were not being filled fast enough so every time they refilled them there was a mad dash from hungry guests, then empty again... (We gave up and hit dunkin).

Overall this experience was bleak at best! My husband, daughter, father and I wanted to get away for a couple of days and relax and this was just and awful choice. I feel the price this hotel charges is completely too much for the quality the hotel provides. There are several hotels closer to the park (if that's your purpose) that seem to be a better option.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    353
    296
    182
    166
See reviews for
589
339
52
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Easily accessible to the highway. We stayed less than 24 hours as we were traveling through on our way to Atlanta. Very clean, large indoor pool area. Nice breakfast in morning. Would stay again. Was just a block away from a relative, so was the perfect place to stay. Rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDavid17112, General Manager at Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of your stay at the Ramada Harrisburg - Hershey. We strive to please every guest. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel was really nice, large room, very clean rooms, very friendly staff. Breakfast was really good - only issue is hotel has 101 rooms, with only 10 tables for seating at breakfast area. We ended up bringing our food back to the room 3 of the 4 days that we were there. Will stay again when in the Hershey area. Lots of resturants around hotel area to eat at.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drusko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDavid17112, General Manager at Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of your stay at the Ramada Harrisburg - Hershey. We are glad that everything during your stay was outstanding and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Tavern
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was very nice and the breakfast was very good. I would've liked to have a fan/heater in the bathroom for showering and the dryer cost was mismarked and jammed. The girl at the front desk did not know how to handle the situation herself and had to call someone. We had also asked to NOT have our rooms done by housekeeping yet when we returned, they were done. There was a lot of noise late at night but when we called the front desk, it was stopped immediately. Otherwise, the beds were comfortable and the hotel was clean. I would recommend the hotel because the good outweighed the bad and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank CamS587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Good value, the motion lights are a pain in the neck since there is not an option for a light near the bed. I am glad that i was not traveling with my kids since this would have been an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area

Property: Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Address: 300 N Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112-2656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Harrisburg
Harrisburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing