We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Authentic Italian in Harrisburg. What a Surprise!”

Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop
Ranked #25 of 540 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic Italian in Harrisburg. What a Surprise!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I was in Harrisburg 5 months for work and just kept going here for their amazing everything. I cannot recommend just one thing cause it's ALL good. :). Their pizzas, meatballs, canolis, cookies, pastas......just go. This is the ONE place in Harrisburg you MUST go to.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finallymercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    16
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
443 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“First of May, sidewalk tables, blooming trees, and great food”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

After stopping for bread and pastry several times I finally had lunch at Alvaro. If you can move by the wonderful cases of pastries, you will see a number of selections for lunch. I had some pasta with alfredo sauce and a meat ball. Both were delicious. This little out of the way place was busy the whole time I was there. It is situated in a wonderful old restored neighbohood in Harrisburg near the Governor's mansion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Courthouse067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
626 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Love this place for fresh pasta”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I love this place for a stop on the way home for a great dinner. The bread selection is also great! You can eat in or take out, the pasta specials are always outstanding and the deserts well I try and leave them there but it is hard to walk away.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Homestyle Italian Goodness”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great Saturday evening meal at Alvaro's. The seating is a bit cramped but the food was excellent. The menu choices are a bit limited but the quality of the food and the prices can't be beat. We had more than one item that both of us wanted to try and were able to share our dinners to get a great selection. We are already talking about what to try the next time we go. We will definitely go back again.

The only concern is that you have to put in a reservation early for a Saturday night. You can't wait to the last minute to decide to go. We really want to try some of the other pastries and goodies for dessert next time.

It was also great to be able to BYOB....nice cost savings and really lots of fun to eat here.

Definitely try it!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdgeStrategic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, entertaining service”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is a tiny little restaurant - you literally feel like you're just part of the family. This is family owned and family run. The "kids" serve and it's clear they don't have a lot of background in serving tables, but they have a good sense of humor and seem to want you to have a good experience. The food is fantastic and if you can manage the lackadaisical service you'll be fine. Just go with the flow and imagine you're in the living room of an Italian American family where the point is the food and not the service. Very reasonably priced, BYOB.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing