We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, Great stay”
Review of Harrisburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harrisburg Hotel
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, Great stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After a long work day ( and driving), I received excellent customer service, which was a welcomed relief. The location of the hotel was well suited for me. The staff was hospitable, and the 24 hr. Barista came in handy. I was able to grab something good to eat without leaving the hotel. I could take a pizza up to my room, finish some paperwork and relax.....'Thumbs up' overall

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I appreciate your taking time out your day to write a review of your stay. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay . As you mentioned our location is perfect for visiting the Harrisburg/Hershey area and easy to find. I will be sure to let our staff know because they work very hard to make each and every guest have a memorable stay. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing the next time you visit the area.

Steve Tremmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    164
    187
    144
    145
See reviews for
306
91
47
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wampum, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in April. The rooms were very clean, the front desk was very polite when we checked in. It was a very nice relaxing time that me and my husband and I needed. They had a very nice snack bar and nice selection of breakfast food. My averall experience was very good. thank You

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
This is what we love to hear. Our goal is always to provide clean rooms with the right touch of good customer service. See you next time!

Steve Tremmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wampum, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here May 3 for a hockey meet for my son!! I did read other trip advisors and had concerns. I was so delighted with the staff and the housekeeping department on how clean the rooms were kept!!! I was checking into my room after a long 4 hour trip with 5 kids in our mini van and there were housekeeping staff still in the hall way cleaning rooms. I heard a knock on my door and after being in the room for minutes and to my amazement this housekeeper named Rossy was standing there with extra towels. I guess she notice that we had a full house in lodging room and just went out of her way to bring us extra towels in our room. This is a great hotel and they have staff that really care about the experience here in Harrisburg. I know that if we ever get into more hockey meets in the Harrisburg area that the Wyndham garden hotel will be the first place that I will call.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the front of the building great view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
All I can say is thank-you for making Rossy's day.

Steve Tremmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Similar to last review I read, we were in town for a concert and booked rooms based on location and affordability. The online non-refundable rate was considerably less than refundable.

The hotel seemed understaffed based on the occupancy. The front desk seemed overwhelmed. the room was a non-descript hotel room and the bathroom was showing its age and the shower handle was not very intuitive. The a/c was loud.

Although they say ice is on every other floor, the only ice machine I found didn't work. I asked at the front desk and was told that she would have to get it for me... which took a bit of waiting since she was assisting someone and taking calls. She managed to get me a half-bucket without a smile.

The lobby has minimal seating and has a snack/restaurant/bar thing. Came down for a cup of coffee in the am and had to ring the bell for assistance. Saw someone getting a microwave breakfast sandwich. There is a "business center" in the lobby, which is a desk with a computer.

There is a McDonalds close by and a Bob Evans next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyeballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do take them all very seriously. It looks like you were here for the recent Bruce Springsteen concert and were quite busy that day. There is no excuse for poor service and are always looking for ways to improve . I can tell you we did have a run on ice for guest going to concert that depleted our ice machines which were unable to keep up with the demand. I am very sorry for that and will tell you we are adding additional ice machines to handle future demands.
Again I am truly sorry your stay was not the best and do hope you will give us a chance in the future to be of service so you can see improvement can and has been made.

Sincerely,
Steve Tremmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed over in Harrisburg for one night to attend a concert in nearby Hershey. Hotels were limited and I foolishly did not listen to the other reviewers here regarding the many reasons to avoid this Wyndham. I had never previously stayed at a Wyndham property, but what I experienced was what you would expect from a roadside, pay-by-the-hour motel.

First and foremost, Calvin at the check-in desk was very overwhelmed. There were about 6 groups of people trying to check-in at the same time. This equaled about 12 or more people all standing around the counter while he tried to check people in as well as answer calls from people making complaints. Another gentleman came over about halfway through to assist Calvin, but it was his first time using the computer and had no idea what to do. When we finally got checked in and walked to the elevators, a handwritten sign that said "no water from 1:30 -2:00." So not only did check-in take 30 minutes, we could not even take a shower in the room.

If I wrote about everything wrong with the room this review would turn into a novel. To sum it up, the bathroom floor had a puddle of water, the tissues were pulled out and then shoved back in to the box (see photo), the toilet roll holder was broken, the shower curtain was badly stained with mildew, the only light fixture in the bathroom that worked was an intense heat lamp (and no bathroom fan), my pillow had a weird orange/brown stain (see photo), there was a bottle of liquor left in one of the dresser drawers (see photo), and worst of all there were spiders coming in through the A/C unit. I killed about 6 spiders during the evening of check-in and 2 more the morning of check-out (see photo of spider on my bed when I woke up.) This has been my only experience at a hotel where I called other nearby hotels to inquire about vacancy after checking in. If one nearby could have accommodated me I would have moved. I would have never expected a mid-level Wyndham to be perfect, but this was beyond belief. One redeeming quality of the otherwise dirty bathroom was that the shower head water pressure was very good.

E-mails to Stephen, the GM went unanswered and I am hoping Wyndham corporate can look into this miserable property.

There are plenty of other hotels in the area that seemed to be held to much higher standard at a similar price point.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
First and foremost I apologize you received no response to your e-mails. The fact is I did not receive any in my Wyndham mail. Here is my direct line so you can contact me by phone 717.558.9500 ext 104. I see by your comments that as with the previous reviewer you were here for the recent Bruce Springsteen concert and we frankly were caught off guard with last minute reservations.I take full responsibility for that. I know that does not help you now and would like to refund you for the problems you had. Hopefully you can see from the many positive reviews on this site and other 3rd party sites we do learn from them and always continue to coach our associates in all area's of the hotel . I look forward to hearing from you.

Respectfully ,
Stephen Tremmel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year. Staff is very nice. Had to ask for new room as 334 smelled a little moldy. 328 much better, however bed by window was saggy, door chipped and warped. Bathroom ceiling was moldy and bad paint patches everywhere in room. Water pressure awesome! Great shower. Room gets very bright in morning. Stayed 2 nights. Starbucks no decaf and the snack bar really was sad. This hotel needs some TLC, I manage a community and know sometimes it's not management, you can do your best, that's is the owners that will not kick in $$ or staff hours. Not sure if we will stay here again, it has gone down hill since last year.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstinjoy1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HospitalitySteve_11, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write both of your reviews and also of being a repeat guest. We do appreciate your business. Please know I am committed to ensuring all our guest are satisfied and will return. Please contact me directly the next time you visit the Harrisburg/Hershey area.

Steve Tremmel,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
#18 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#21 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hershey
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Harrisburg East Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrisburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisburg Hotel

Property: Harrisburg Hotel
Address: 765 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2308 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Harrisburg/Hershey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrisburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrisburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Wyndham Harrisburg
Harrisburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing