We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT”
Review of Harrisburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harrisburg Hotel
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is run down and does need some TLC. AC need replacing in room and mattress needs replacing. Carpeting could also be cleaned. Staff was friendly but could use some touch up on what they wear to a respectable hotel. We did have issues with the cleaning staff, however, Charles Kitts, the General Manager of this hotel, promptly took care of any issues we had and comped us for our trouble. I think now that new management is in place, this property will make a quick turn-a-round. Overall, this hotel suited our needs and I would give it another chance when in the area again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the front side of the hotel. Much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck K, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding the ongoing turnaround at our property! We are working hard as a team and look forward to showing you that you are right on the next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have stayed in Wyndham hotels before and had high expectations for my stay here. I am sad to report this hotel is just not a good place to stay. This hotel has obvious signs of wear and need for renovation: musty smell, stained carpet & bed coverings, dirty walls, window coverings falling off the windows, air conditioning that doesn't work properly (a bad thing in 90 + degree weather). The hallways, elevators & lobby areas don't seem to be adequately air conditioned. Employees who work in these areas are perspiring & pink faced from the heat. My family booked 4 rooms and two of the rooms did not have properly working air conditioning, even though staff replaced AC units in those rooms (no one did follow up to see if rooms were adequately cooled & occupants were satisfied). The arm chair in our room had torn covering on one of the arms. The positive things I can say: the bathroom did appear to be clean & fresh towels were placed in the bathroom + our bed was nicely made. Employees we encountered were pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck K, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding our property. While we are an older property, I am dissapointed that we could not provide a serviable room along with the cleanliness and friendliness you experienced. We will do our best to make all of those things happen the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place needs some TLC. The elevator back door was boarded up with plywood and it was stuffy and hot inside it. When we entered our room it was pretty standard except for this old black armchair that had its upholstering shredded. Really gross. Should have been removed to the dumpster. But the room was very clean and otherwise comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck K, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are working hard to give everyone the clean servicable room you experienced. We apologize about the chair and have removed it from the room. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the aera!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is not the hotel Wyndham stands for. I stay at Charlotte nc every year. That hotel is a top hotel. This one in Harrisburg is awful. It's been 2 days since our bed or room has been cleaned. You have to ask for anything you need like towels, toilet paper and soap. They make most days 1 pot of house coffee and when it's gone you have to buy their Starbucks and I don't even like Starbucks . It would be better if they also sold hotel house brand. The appearance when you get the is the outside is dirty. The people that work there look like they came off the street. The carpet on our second floor has not been cleaned. How long does it take to fix the ice maker. No ice at all. We haven,t see anyone touch the pool except to put towels out. We are here until Sat. But we won't stay here again. The outside looks dirty. Haven't seen cleaning people for 3 days. We have people staying on the 4th floor and they have same problems but they paid thur 3rd party so they can't help them so they take what they get. But they are leaving today. Think twice before staying here more than a night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck K, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for the opportunity to fix the problems you experienced at our property. We look forward to moving forward and showing you the changes we are making in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed on a recent trip through Harrisburg. Regular spots were crazy price so I tried... It looks like it was a nice hotel, maybe 20 years ago... Not too clean, not to updated, not... I travel a good deal for work and have standards that did not get met. Ice machine(single one) for the hotel was broken so had to get it from the desk down stairs... On looking out my window, it was there... Giant pile of ice machine, looking like it had been there for more than a couple days.. Plus was close to a couple of decent places I have eaten before... Walking distance...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck K, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. While we are an older property, we still should be able to provide you with a clean, servicable room with excellent service. We look forward to having the opportunity to show you that the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Alethea W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chuck K, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chuck K, General Manager at Harrisburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
#15 of 50 in Harrisburg
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
Howard Johnson Inn Harrisburg
#45 of 50 in Harrisburg
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrisburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisburg Hotel

Address: 765 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2308 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Harrisburg/Hershey)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range: £142 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harrisburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrisburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Wyndham Harrisburg
Harrisburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing