We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Beds and Well Appointed Breakfast Buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Beds and Well Appointed Breakfast Buffet”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This Holiday Inn Express had one of the best free breakfast buffets I've seen (at a select service hotel). The pancakes (made via automated machine) were very popular, to the point it had run out of batter both mornings I was there (It was refilled however on one of the two mornings). The beds as stated above were very comfortable (reminded me of a Hilton Garden Inn I stayed at near Denver International Airport). The bathroom was clean with great shower water pressure and plenty of hot water even through the hotel appeared to be very busy. Wood items (desk, armoire, nightstands) in the rooms showing wear as well as the veneer on the inside of the bathroom door was blistered and peeling (no doubt from humidity from showers). Easy on and off from I-83, yet still a quiet location. McDonald's is next door. Also close by are Wendy's, Texas Road House, Rita's custard and Waffle House, etc. Free individually wrapped cookies at front desk check-in and check-out.

Room Tip: Hotel has just 1 elevator, which was also shared with Housekeepers and their carts, so longer waits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlyBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    122
    48
    27
    20
See reviews for
138
46
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed a night in this Harrisburg hotel in April 2012. My overall impression was that this hotel is slightly cleaner, maybe refurhished since everyhting seemed to be failrly new, than the most of the Holiday Inn Express'es where I have stayed.

The breakfast was naturally excatly the same what you can get in any Holiday Inn Express hotel - consistent quality!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller007Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

So I was looking to do a mini "Spring Break" getaway for my family, for the 1st weekend of April & I decided on Hershey Park. This month the park was opened for the 2 weekends for spring beak & the ticket prices were actually very inexpensive. I looked through so many sites for hotel deals & everything was coming up $75 - $100 per night, even the "Family Packages" at tthose big wig hotels with the kids stay & play for free were ridiculously priced!
So I decided to use Hotwire.com never used the site didn't know anything about it, or even how it worked, as a matter of fact I had to call their customer service # because I was stumped, OK so I picked this $53.00 price, with a 3 1/2 star rating, figuring I should be safe & paid for it & rec'd a email with this hotel's name ( Holiday Inn Express) & information, their website showed some pictures it looked ok, but I've seen some pictures of places & OMG they were gross. I was almost frightened, but I figured what the heck for $96 for 4 txt to the park, & about $113 for the hotel we were getting away for $230 for 3 days & 2 nights.
We arrived April 5th, the outside was nice, parking very easy & close to the front door, clean, welcoming & it was so easy to get to, visable from the highway! I went through the hotel's doors & OMG how beautiful! Modern, decore was beautiful, clean, smelled good. The welcome desk was to the right & the woman who greeted me was friendly & quick & welcoming, the cookies on the desk wasn't bad either! We were checked into the 2nd floor, Room 215, the room was beautiful, again very clean, modern, & the decore was absolutely beautiful, flat screen tv mounted to the wall, mini fridge, & nice deep drawers in the dresser that actually fit all my family's clothes, which rarely happens. The bathroom also beautiful & clean! The floor wasn't sticky which means they actually wash the floor instead of just spraying it with some glass cleaner & paper toweling it. The shower head large & lots of water pressure, & no black mold, yeah! Also in the bathroom they had shampoo, conditioner, soap, mouthwash & a makeup remover wipe, which I was so thankful for I totally forgot to pack mine, Thank you Holiday Inn Express.
The hotel was located near so many resturants & stores, even a car wash which we took advantage of, after been on the road for near 4 hours our windshield was YUK.
My only small dissapointment was my room was right next to the elevator so needless to say each & everytime someone used the elevator the noise was right behind our head because of how the beds were placed in the room, that would be my only suggestion to change in that room, it vibrated in my head for 2 nights, which made my sleep miserable, oh the the pillows were terrible also, so flat. The beds were so comfortable though. The morning express breakfast wasn't that great either, it was semi-par, but for free I can't complain.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goakhurst68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

From the moment of our arrival, Brandy demonstrated extraordinary skills in accomplishing her job; she clearly enjoys her position. Although she was alone at the reception desk, she greeted each guest with a smile and enthusiasm and assited them with efficiency. In addition, when I asked if the property had fax capability, Brandy readily responded in the affirmative; in fact, there were 12 pages to fax. Even though it was during the peak check-in time, Brandy sent the fax material quickly and with her usual smile and enthusiasm.

Also, Justin assisted us with two different tasks and he performed them with kindness and graciousness! Justin fully understands how to make the guests feel welcome and very important. He is a great asset to this property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are more desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Small room. Cramped bathroom with nonworking heat light. Dog odor in hallway. Average breakfast. However, it was quiet and location was good.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your recent visit to our area. Our staff members take great pride to ensure that our guests receive quality, clean and comfortable accommodations during their stay. For this reason, I was greatly disappointed to learn of your experience with us. Please be assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of our Maintenance Engineer and Executive Housekeeping Manager, and additional staff training is being conducted to eliminate future occurrences.

I was pleased that you found our location quiet and convenient and I hope that will stop back, during your next visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area, to give another try to redeem ourselves. Please feel free to contact me personally at (717)-561-8100 if you would like to discuss this further.

Sincerely,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calhoun, GA, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stopped here on our way from NYC to GA. The location is great right of the interstate. Plenty of resturants close by to eat dinner at. The rooms were clean, hotel had nice decor. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolores193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your quick trip passing thru our area. I am very pleased that your stay was a very positive experience and that you would definitely stay with us again in the future. Our team members take great pride in providing clean accommodations and superior service, and they will be most pleased to learn of your experience with us! We hope that will visit us again in the future.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

There are many good points for this hotel:
- good location with several stores and restaurants nearby
- nice large lobby area
- large room with comfy beds, nice work area
- everything worked properly (fridge, LCD tv, heating unit, WiFi)
- fair size breakfast area with good breakfast items
However there were two points that lowered my rating.
The check in took a long time. There was one staff person behind the counter and 2 people ahead of me with many questions to ask checking in. After dealing with the people and a phone call I did not find the staff very friendly. I should have been acknowledged earlier or another person should have been present. Also no mention of my priority club membership. This may have been a rare occasion but it happened this time.
I found the room especially the bathroom (eg blackened grout) needed a sprucing up (eg paint job).
If and when in the area again I will try this hotel once more and hopefully I'll be able to rate it higher.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagger_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,

I truly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was very pleased that, overall, you found our hotel to be very appealing and our location convenient. I would like to apologize for the lengthy process at check-in time and also not being greeted appropriately. Being in the hospitality industry, this is of great concern to me and will be addresses immediately with all team members. Also, please be assured that your comments regarding the condition of your room have been forwarded to our engineering department and they have begun a maintenance program to address these concerns. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope that you will return and visit us again during your next visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing