We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a good decision to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“This was a good decision to stay here”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My stay was great and Brittany was a huge help. The staff provided the best customer service and emulated a high degree of professionalism that I found refreshing. It was clear they knew what they were doing.

Room Tip: My stay was great and Brittany was a huge help
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    121
    45
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
45
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

While driving to Florida, booked a room in Harrisburg on Hotwire and got this hotel. We got there late. Easy check-in. Friendly staff.

The next morning, the (free) breakfast was good.

Only spent 6-7 hours there but we liked the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbadbruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here with our softball team for 3 days and 2 nights during a major 18u softball tournament. The appearance inside and out of this property is very well maintained. The parking lot is well lit at night, and it is close by to restaurants, supermarkets, convenience stores, and a major hardware store. The rooms are very comfortable and large enough for a family of 4 to manuever around without feeling cramped. The beds were large, and may have had the most comfortable mattresses that we've slept on in a hotel. The bathroom is typical size, not too big but not too small either. Good water pressure in the shower, and a heat lamp to try to diminish the steam. The only complaint we had about the shower is that the shower curtain was too short and allowed the floor to get flooded repeatedly because the curtain would push out of the tub with the flow of water hitting it. Also, the most unusual thing about the bathroom is that the towel rack was located on the back wall of the shower, so the dry towels tended to become damp from the shower spray and steam. The hotel has serves a continental breakfast with many different options. This was a big hit with the team, and greatly appreciated. The pool is outdoors, and although it was late June, the water was pretty chilly. The only negative with the property we experienced is that there was only 1 outdoor table poolside, and no other outside tables to sit at and enjoy an adult beverage or 2 with the other team parents and coaches following a long day of softball. The front desk asked that we didn't drink in the hotel lobby, and directed us to the backside of the hotel were there was very little lighting and not exactly a pleasant place just to sit back and enjoy the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150thBucktailPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

First I will say several people there really enhance the accommodations by making you feel welcome. Shanell at the front desk is very sweet, personable and an asset to the company. Yiomara (hope I spelled her name right) seems very diligent and hard working as she coordinates the housekeepers (she's adorable too lol) but the thing I loved the most was after my first week's stay both Shanell and Yiomara always referred to me by my name for the next 5 weeks I visited. It makes a guest feel more at home knowing they take the time to remember my name over 6 weeks and whenever I had a question or issue they were always quick to resolve it (I try not to be too high maintenance)... I will say they certainly put a smile on my face every time I check in or exit/enter the building...

On a separate note, breakfast needs to improve... Those egg omelettes are not good, too much sausage (where's the bacon) and the pancake machine didn't work (kept saying please close the lid) and the 'attendant' seemed disinterested... Was relegated to juice, bagel and cream cheese...

Overall I enjoyed the 6 weeks I was there and if I choose to return in August to the hotel I'll remember the friendly staff and accommodations.

Room Tip: Do not under any circumstances let Tracy handle your reservation. I don't know if she can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We got a great deal through Hotwire, and booked two rooms on one reservation. This caused a bit of confusion at checkout, but it was quickly resolved. The rooms are a decent size, although the bathroom is a bit small. The bed and pillows were comfortable, and the rooms and public spaces were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was your typical free breakfast, nothing to write home about. But there is a McDonalds next door and a Panera about 0.5 mile away, so there are other, quick options. It's not far from Hershey Park, and a better option than some of the hotels closer to Hershey. There is only one elevator (that we saw) in the hotel, so there were some longer waits in the morning when people were coming down for/returning from breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgd721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I were traveling back from NYC to Ohio. It was getting late at night and had a late start traveling back. We were exhausted from the previous days and looking for a clean and safe place to stay. We were unfamiliar with the Harrisburg area. We saw signs for the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East and decided to give it a shot. Once we got there we were extremely pleased with the friendly staff and the clean, comfortable room. The complementary hot breakfast had a lot to choose from, and it was just what we needed before we got back on the road. My wife and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Nicely appointed hotel. Details such as hard boiled eggs at breakfast were not missed. However, hot water heater being unable to keep up with the guests on a holiday weekend in my opinion is inexcusable. Also our room smelled like smoke, yuck.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happydaddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Happydaddy123,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate utility issues prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing