We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK -- nothing special, book only if you get a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Reviewed 31 October 2010

This is a pretty cookie-cutter mid-priced hotel experience. There was nothing objectionable, nor memorable, about our stay. About 15 minutes to Hershey Park, if that's your destination. The rooms seemed a bit on the small side; this was obviously a "rebranded" motel, so perhaps Holiday Inn's room-size standards were slightly compromised. I have top status in priorityclub which would normally get me a room upgrade, but every room is the same size (small). Breakfast is OK; the typical you-only-eat-it-because-it's-free "deluxe continental" that is so common among American hotels in this category. Their "signature" cinnamon rolls are the tastiest option. The coffee is drinkable (the orange juice is not). Bottomline: stay here if you get a deal, but otherwise consider the many other motel options in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stopped here for a night while on a family road trip. We found it to be not quite as good overall as other Holiday Inn Express's we've stayed at--and we've been to a lot. First of all, it was supposed to be a non-smoking room. Or so we were told. I woke up at 3 a.m. bothered by a mild tobacco smoke smell in the bed (mattress?). It bothered me so much that I got up and started looked for my bottle of perfume to spray on the sheets to try and mask the odor. It didn't really work. The next morning we complained to the front desk and there was some hedging about the issue. We later noticed that our door didn't have the non-smoking sign on it. Perhaps the room had been a smoking one? Or the mattress had been taken from smoking room. There was no ash tray. It was unclear. Also, there is one elevator and it was JAMMED. We could barely get down to breakfast, and it was nearly impossible to leave with our luggage. This hotel seems really busy, and needs at least 2 elevators. Wouldn't waste our time and $$ going back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohnojackdied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Quick 2 night stay here....NOT GOOD
major pros/cons
1-unfortunately booked on hotwire ...paid 95$ and was stuck in a smoking room. Room stank and really ruined our trip for us as we had no desire to ever be in the room. Our clothes stank too....I spoke with the staff at check-in who said there was nothing they could do..it was booked directly thru hotwire and they were full for the weekend.They let us check the room out first which was nice but i couldnt start dealing with an argument and no hotel room after traveling hours with the kids. HI advice was to call hotwire as they (the hotel itself)couldnt do anything. Anyway , we resigned ourselves to sleep only at HI Expressand get out of room except for sleep hours. I should say the staff up front was good. The woman who checked us in was very sweet (vanesssa??) and checked out room with us . She also said that altho priceline did this to someone else too this weekend , she would call if any room came up (no call came ..but she apologized the next day that there were no other rooms). The gentleman at the desk who seemed like the manager basically blamed it on hotwire and never even said sorry about the situation..more or less implying hotwire guests dont matter and were stuck wherever. We asked for something to help with room smell (ionizer etc) and a clerk sprayed 3 squirts of fabreze!
2-other room issues...
2 dead bugs in bathtub ..silverfish?? ..upon arrival .front desk lady came in to verify and sent clerk to clean
nonworking refrigerator..
clerk tried to fix twice then eventually replaced
horrible tv--
blurry to the extent that scroll on bottom (for tv menu or mlb scores) couldnt be read....all images horribly tainted orange with non working ability to change color, contrast etc
Didnt even bother to tell front desk about tv, as believe it or not we never complain(bugs , smoking are conditions i have to say something!), plus tried to be out of room as much as possible.
3-as a plus ...front desk guy Scott on overnight is very professional and friendly and greets everyone with a big hello in the lobby. Also included breakfast was okay...cereal, store muffins /store bagels/, cereal, bananas/apples, some mediocre hot food , fine coffee.
coffee/tea free 24/d in lobby along with cookies
free wifi throughout hotel was good
4 -some restaurants nearby...outback, texas roadhouse, mcd, if needed
5- outdoor pool was okay. used it upon arrival to get out of room b4 hershey preview.
Water fine , there was however a case of finished beer which looked to have been there for some time upon full table. Workout room small, looked clean
6-about 15 minutes from hershey without traffic on highways. Harrisburg can get traffic especially when leaving hershey can be bad and add significantly to drive time...As luck would have it for us, we were never in a rush to get back to the hotel!
A MISS

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My friend and I were traveling with both young children and teens to Hershey Park. We did not want to stay in the Hershey hotels since they are ridiculously expensive. Being a Priority Club Card member came in handy, considering I had forgotten I was a member and had never used the membership before. We paid $134 in total for a room with (2) queen beds. The service was great. When we arrived and went to our room to settle in our room key card was not activated. So I walked down the steps to avoide the long elevator wait- we were on the 2nd floor anyway. The cards were reset within a matter of seconds. We called for extra towels and they were brought to us promptly. The complimentary breakfast was decent. No waffle machine but the basics served its purpose: milk/skim milk, OJ, apple juice, a variety of cereal, cinnamon rolls, biscuits, sausage, eggs, oatmeal, muffins/bagels/bread. There is a McDonalds literally next door that you can walk to in addition to other eateries in the area. The pool is small but what kid would complain. Everyone enjoyed the water, kids and adults alike. The pool is surrounded by greenery and trees that hang over the pool so there were a few things floating but nothing serious. The business center is right in the middle of the lobby- which I thought was odd but it came in handy when using Mapquest and looking for things in the area. The pictures are accurate (Expedia) in showing the recent renovations. On chech out day we did not recieve the annoying calls like some hotels where they are constantly reminding you of check out time. We WILL back since we did not get to experience Hershey to its fullest in the (2) days we were there. The hotel is a short drive to Hershey.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quick2think
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We arrived at the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel on Tuesday night and stayed there for two days. Breakfast was very good and in general the hotel facilities were in good shape. My intention of weitting this review was also to share my personal experience after finding out I left my purse (with personal stuff) in the room. I called the hotel very late that night and talked to the front desk, a gentleman kindly advised me to call next day in the morning and address my request to housekeeping. I called Friday morning, received prompt answer about the whereabouts of my purse, it was found and left with Vanessa at the front desk of the hotel. After an hour I went to the hotel, picked up my purse, it was in perfect conditions, and more important of all nothing was missing. Again, thank you very much for your customer service and follow-up.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel, although a bit more pricey than would normally be expected at a hotel off the highway, was much more reasonably priced than those in Hershey.

Pros - fairly reasonable price, decent free breakfast, clean lobby and rooms, good sized pool, comfortable beds, quiet, close to Hershey and attractions (only about a 15 minute drive), easy check in and out, recently updated room including bathroom, great shower and water pressure
Cons - very busy elevator at check out time (cleaning staff using same elevator at same time), small eating area (but they did open up the adjacent hall for eating so not really a problem)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onedegree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. We appreciate your positive comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express East. Yes, if you don't mond driving a short distance, we do offer more affordable accommodations than downtown Harrisburg or Hershey, with easy access to Insterstate 83. We always look for better ways to accommodate our guests during the busy demand time periods. Opening the meeting room for breakfast overflow allows for a much better traffic flow. Also, thank you for your comments regarding the elevator. I have already addressed the staff usage to more off peak time periods with more storage points on every floor. Again, thank you for being our guest!

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way to Hershey. The young woman at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. The room was very clean and a nice size. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was very clean! The room was also nicely decorated. Free wifi was a bonus! Would definitely stay here again. I should mention we got a great deal on this hotel through Hotwire.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skier67, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Hershey. We greatly appreciate your kind words. Our staff takes great pride in servicing our guests and your comments will be posted for their review. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay in "our house" during your next visit to the Harrisburg/Heshey area.

Regards,

James Gordon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Harrisburg at Union Deposit Road, PA
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#18 of 51 in Harrisburg
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Address: 4021 Union Deposit Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109-5925
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: £86 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing