We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Harrisburg - "Filthy"”
Review of Hilton Harrisburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Harrisburg
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Although the hotel's location is good that is it! I arrived on 11-11-13 for a housing conference. Upon checking in and going to my room located on the 6th floor I noticed entering the room something was not right. One look around the room and I found the following; finger nails, hair, bugs, maggots, stains on bed sheets/pillows, and a lot of dust. I was then moved to another room on the same floor only to find a lot of similar filth. Need less to say from about 2 pm to after 4 pm and talking with 5 different hotel staff managers/workers I was offered a bottle of champagne, a third room, and possible one night reimbursement. Are you kidding me! Due to the filth, two hours of bad service I was not about to try a third room, spend tax payer money, let alone stay until Wednesday and eat there. I would highly recommend choosing a different location to stay! What ever happened to customer service and just simply doing the right thing?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Good afternoon Richard,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the room you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Phillip Neiswender
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is in a great location if you need to be in the heart of Harrisburg. Other than that, there isn't much else to say about the place. The rooms are a bit outdated (1970s thermostats?) and could use some sprucing. It's odd, the sink in my bathroom seemed to be renovated but everything else in the bathroom and room itself was old and screaming for a renovation. The parking situation is a bit messy so be prepared to spend a good 15 minutes unloading, finding the garage, waiting for the valet to give you your keys back while you check in, etc...

I do give them credit for a very nice gym, that was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LessWork M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Good morning,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. As you have pointed out, we too are excited about the changes that have been made with the renovation and appreciate the specific feedback about how we are improving. We look forward to unveiling the new room furnishings over the next few months. We thank you for your candid feedback, and hope that you have a chance to join us again soon.
Sincerely,
Phillip Neiswender
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Harrisburg Hilton is the nicest hotel in downtown Harrisburg but is not an A quality property. Very slow elevators, mediocre food, slow front desk, valet and bell service all hurt the experience. The hotel itself is also cheaply built with relatively poor noise insulation, low tiny toilets and adequate but not special furnishings. Valet service for you can can be slow. On recent stay front desk assigned us to a room right next to ice machine, did not answer when we called to ask for another room and when we went backed to the desk to change our room delivered our luggage to wrong room despite assurances to the contrary. Will look for another alternative for next stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jdocBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

J Doc,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We pride ourselves on providing impeccable service and rely on your feedback to continue improving. Please know that we are in the process of undergoing a guest room refresh and look forward to unveiling a new experience soon. We will be using your experience as a training opportunity for our team and hope that you will consider joining us again. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Please contact me if you have any additional feedback.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Hilton Harrisburg
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I really hate to give a low rating to a well know hotel name, but I feel my low score is warranted due to a very scary, unsettling experience I had while staying here. I have never encountered a similar situation and hope to never suffer this experience again, Thinking about it a week later makes my heart race. I met a group of cousins at the Hilton for our annual women’s get-a-way. We take turns picking areas in Pennsylvania, meet for lunch, spend a wonderful day together and depart after breakfast the following morning. We pack as much as we can into those 24 hours, have been doing this for years, and have always had a wonderful time.
Perhaps it is our advancing ages, or perhaps just the way things happen, but a few of us have had recent health issues which limited how much activity we could do at one time. We didn’t let this stop us, we just went until one of us got tired, that person went back to the hotel to rest, and the rest of the group continued to enjoy all the wonderful sites Harrisburg has to offer.
I returned to the hotel after lunch, and was sound asleep in bed when a knock on the door woke me at 2:20pm. I had removed my slacks and bra and only had on a top. I was slightly disoriented at first; waking from a sound sleep in an unfamiliar hotel room threw me for a moment. That coupled with my health issue may have delayed my response in getting to the door. I was assuming one of the other cousins was coming for a rest. As I rounded the foot of the bed, in view of the door, the door opened and a well-dressed gentleman was standing there saying something like “water inspector”. I was dizzy from getting out of bed so quickly, and given a huge shock with the door to my room opening while I was standing there not fully dressed. I tried to duck below the foot of the bed and must admit I was frightened, a state that is uncommon to me.
The gentleman did not enter the room, but he did keep the door opened enough that I could see him, so I know he could see me. My mind was racing, thinking, “water inspector”, what the heck is that, does my room have a leak? He then asked me if my room had 2 bottles of water! I quickly said “yes”, honestly I would have quipped “yes” had he asked if I had a case of water in my room, I just wanted the door shut and the man gone.
As soon as the gentleman left, I called guest services to tell them what happened. I told them I didn’t want them to be surprised when they saw this on Trip Advisor and I told them I wanted to file a complaint. I admitted that I did not have the ‘Do Not Disturb” sign on the door, I purposely did not put it there in case one of the other cousin’s, who recently had major surgery, needed to rest. I didn’t want her to come to the room tired and hesitate entering so as not to disturb my rest. For the same reason I did not have the extra locks on the door, I take responsibility for that, but I didn’t want to have to get up to let a cousin into the room. In the middle of the afternoon I really didn’t expect anyone else to come into the room.
The woman I spoke to at guest services assured me that the man was from their “water service” and was checking to make certain I had 2 bottle of water available to purchase if I wanted. WHAT?!? Why not just call the room, or better yet, check when the room is cleaned before it is rented out to a new guest? I never heard of such a thing, and would not have even imagined such an odd occurrence, especially at a major hotel chain. I felt embarrassed and violated, the episode upset me so deeply, especially when I think of other rooms he may have entered. What if the parent’s of a young teen girl left her showering while they ran downstairs to grab a bite? What if I hadn’t woken up with the knock and woke when the gentleman had entered the dark room and went to the water bottles? The frightening scenarios just keep popping into my head. Plus, for the reputation of the “water inspector”, why put the gentleman at risk of unfounded accusations by letting him open doors to occupied rooms alone? I feel this is a policy that needs to be stopped immediately.
I did receive a verbal “I’m sorry” from guest services. It is a shame that an otherwise wonderful weekend was spoiled by this incident. The Hilton was a nice hotel, with well-appointed rooms. Parking was a bit of a problem. They could use better directions from the parking garage attached to the hotel to the hotel. The floor the elevator opened to for the hotel looked like a subway entrance, I didn’t see any directions to the hotel, but fortunately another person on the elevator had been there before and guided me to the hotel. That took me to a second floor, so I just had to find my way downstairs to the lobby.
Even after the frightening experience, I would probably stay here again, only I’d post “Do Not Disturb” and lock all locks no matter what time of day or what extra hassle it would involve. The location of the Hilton is ideal for walking to the many wonderful sites. The shuttle service was nice. If you plan to arrive by car, using a GPS, verify the address you have for the Hilton is the one your GPS will be able to use. Also, the parking garage is down an alley directly behind the hotel, and up a block. We missed multiple turns due to the GPS difficulty and obscure entrance for the parking garage and needed to navigate multiple one-way streets to reach our destination.

Room Tip: I recommend using the "Do Not Disturb" sign and all the locks even if you are expecting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Joyce,
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.com. We have the greatest concern and respect for every guest’s experience. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were so rattled by your interruption during your afternoon rest, it is certainly never our intention to intrude upon your day or make you feel in anyway unsafe.

We do recommend that all of our guests follow the Hilton Safety& Security tips while they travel at any hotel in addition to the manual lock and a do-not-disturb sign you mentioned.

Our team will be reaching out to you directly to follow up about your experience. I am so pleased that many of the other aspects of your visit were to the high standards that we expect and regret that this overshadowed them so gravely. We look forward to speaking with you and hope to have a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Hilton Harrisburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Hilton Harrisburg provides a good full-service hotel experience for the business traveler. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious. Some of the furnishings seems a bit used, but others (like the vessel sink in my room) seemed as though gradual updates were taking place. I'm allergic to down so I wasn't a fan of the pillows and bedding, but when I explained my allergy, housekeeping cheerfully came and provided foam pillows and cotton blankets. Parking is convenient, but be prepared to pay $10 a day for it. If you're a fan of eggs benedict, get it from room service. They were absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mscott0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

M Scott,
Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. As you have pointed out, we too are excited about the changes that have been made with the renovation and appreciate the specific feedback about how we are improving. We look forward to unveiling the new room furnishings soon. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. We love the eggs benedict too, it is a great way to start the morning. We thank you for your candid feedback, and hope that you have a chance to join us again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Hilton Harrisburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

When we checked in, we were checked into a room that was not cleaned. Since I used to work as a hotel housekeeper, I understood why the room likely was not cleaned in time (for one, we were early, and another the "do not disturb" tag was on the door). The front desk exceeded our expectations by moving us to not just another room, but one that was bigger and had an even better view of the Susquehanna River! The room and everything about it were terrific. We wished we could have stayed another night! There was one issue however with the toilet. It decided to break during the middle of the night. Even though we were checking out the next day and spending the day at various seminars, it wasn't much of an issue for us. We reported it anyway so that the next guests weren't disappointed with a broken toilet. If I had an opportunity to come back to this hotel, I would in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Jonathan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us, and we rely on you to continue improving. I regret that we missed some opportunities to provide a seamless stay for you, but am unsurprised that we were able to exceed you expectations. We very much look forward to having you join us again and hope that you get ti indulge in that extra night during your next visit.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Hilton Harrisburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is fine - it's clean, the beds are comfortable, and we really needed and appreciated the in-room fridge and connecting room option. However, it's looking a little dumpy and outdated these days. Then again, Harrisburg has fallen on hard times, and it's probably not worth doing an upgrade right now. That said, the location is excellent for Harrisburg tourism or business. We were there to visit family, but if I were visiting Harrisburg for business or to see the "sights," it would make a lot of sense to stay here. They charge to much for what it is at this point.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case we failed to meet that criteria. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated.
We are excited to begin our guest bedroom portion of our guest room renovation. We expect to start in the beginning of December and finish up in the early Spring. We will then move on to our lobby and restaurants. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again to see the new look and feel of our property!
Sincerely,
Phillip Neiswender
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
2.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 51 in Harrisburg
436 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Harrisburg

Address: 1 N 2nd St, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#10 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: £125 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Harrisburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfort at the Hilton Harrisburg hotel, located in the heart of downtown Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and minutes from Hershey, Pennsylvania and Hershey Park. This Harrisburg hotel, just two blocks from the State Capitol Complex, is connected by an enclosed walkway to the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and Strawberry Square, a retail and office complex. Make Hilton your choice among Harrisburg, Pennsylvania hotels and enjoy many practical amenities. Work productively in the business center, fully equipped with all the latest technology. Maintain your work-out schedule in our fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular and strength training equipment, or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool. Relax in a contemporary guest room, suite, or executive room with complimentary WiFi and all the modern amenities. Upgrade to an executive room for incredible views of the Harrisburg skyline and the Susquehanna River, and enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Club with complimentary breakfast and evening snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing