We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2008

We stay at this Holiday Inn every year that we visit Hershey Park. They have indoor pool/ game room that the kids will love. Bar/lounge that the adults will love. They also have a HUGE outdoor pool, and play area. The kids can spend a day just enjoying the hotel in addition to going to hershey park. Next door to a Waffle House, and Eatn Park. Building new shops across the street.

The rooms are nice ans spacious, what you would expect at your typical Holiday Inn. Every year we go back, and they have done more renovations to make the place nicer. If you are looking to save a couple bucks on your next Hershey Park trip, stay here. They have the best rates, trust me I've checked around.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bignar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,985 - 1,991 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2008

We went to the Holiday Inn as exhibitors for the Eastern Sports and Outdoor show, Feb 2008. When we checked into the hotel, the woman behind the counter was very efficient and very nice. She fixed the problem with our rate, we were being charged $150/night and the exhibitor rate was supposed to be $69/night. I had double-checked this with the sales manager prior to our arrival.
With that fixed we were satisfied with our room accomodations. It would have been nice to have a fridge in our room, but otherwise the room seemed in good order and working condition.

We felt that the breakfast was over-priced, we turned down the buffet at 11.99/pp because that seemed steep to us. But had we known we'd be paying 3.99/glass of OJ we may have reconsidered. Once breakfast was over, my fiance went back to the room to collect our things before heading to the show. Only when he got to the room, his key card didn't work. He went down to the front desk and they re-programmed him a new key card...which also didn't work. They re-programmed his key 6 times. We missed the shuttle to the show and we had to drive ourselves. In the meantime they broke into our room so that we could get the stuff we'd need throughout the day. The engineer(fancy word for maintenance man) told us the door lock must have a dead battery and it would be fixed by the time we got home.

We arrived back at the hotel at 730pm that night, and couldn't get back into our room. We went back to the front desk and the man behind the counter knew nothing of our situation and insisted we would be able to get in if he re-programmed our keys AGAIN! Well my fiance convinced him to look at our record to see if there were any comments. Then the desk clerk noticed a note on our account that said they'd put us in a different room. He gave us our new keys and then disappeared behind the office door...never to be seen again, until we saw him 15 minutes later getting into his car to go home. In the meantime we had to track down a different engineer to break into our room AGAIN! So that we could get all our stuff and transfer it into our new room.

When we got back from dinner we decided to ask for a manager and see if there was anything he could do for us. We told him about the situation. He told us it should have been handled better and we should have never had such a bad experience. He apologized and he refunded us one nights stay. We were more than happy with his resolution of the situation. Overall, the rooms are nice, and beds comfortable. Outside of some housekeeping within the workforce, this place isn't bad. However, my fiance would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jannica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

We stayed at the Holiday Inn East for one night while attending an awards ceremony for the American Lung Association. The hotel was freshly renovated and the service was fantastic.

Our room was squeaky clean and beautifully decorated. It contained two (very comfortable) queen size beds, an arm chair, a large work desk, a dresser with TV, and a mirrored closet. It also had a coffee maker, an iron with ironing board, and a hairdryer in the bathroom. There was no refrigerator or microwave, but there are some rooms available with them.

The hotel offers a nice indoor pool with ping pong and pool tables. They also offer an enormous outdoor pool and huge jacuzzi to go with it. Right behind that is a tennis court and a brand new playground. There is a fitness room and arcade as well as a business center and gift shop in the lobby.

You won't have trouble finding something to eat. Seasons Restaurant and Off Seasons Lounge is located on premises. Room service is also available. Right in front of the hotel is a Waffle House and an Eat 'n Park, and there are even more restaurants along Lindle Road.

As awesome as the hotel was, it did have a very weird layout. The hotel appears to be three floors from the front, but it is actually six floors. It probably had something to do with the fact that the hotel was perched on a hill. It was definately unique!

This is a wonderful hotel and we highly recommend it! If there was ever a need for us to return to the Harrisburg area, we will definately stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank OceanCityFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Stayed late November 2007.

Placed the reservation on priorityclub.com, one room each for two people. When the rooms were reserved, the only choice was rooms with two beds. Upon arrival, the desk staff was quite busy but they tended to us very quickly. Immediately, in response to our request for only one bed each, and because I am Priority Club Platinum, they changed the accommodations into king-bed two-room suites for each of us. Very large and with balconies. Also as Platinum we received $10-off coupons for dinner or lounge or breakfast.

The last (and only) time I'd stayed at this property, they were in the midst of an upgrade. You could tell that the property was aging and that the surrounding area was seeing new development. The lobby was all torn up, the rooms were hit-or-miss, there was lots of noise during the days, etc. Now that the upgrade is complete, the property is freshened and quite nice.

I ate dinner in the restaurant. They had a delicious seasonal pumpkin bisque, served in a small roasted pumpkin as a bowl! It was very tasty. As a vegetarian, I ordered for my main course the vegetable pasta. It was average. Nothing special but certainly satisfied my hunger. The breads brought to the table were fresh, well presented, and the sides (herbed butter, pesto, thick fine salsa) were delicious. Note that you will have to walk through a potentially smoky bar/lounge area in order to enter the restaurant. If you can handle the smoke, the menu is also available in the lounge area with a more relaxed atmosphere.

The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel, and it was just a little about the average Holiday Inn breakfast buffet, offering a few more pastries than usual, as well as fresh oatmeal (not instant). The breakfast was quite pricey, but, using our coupons it was only a couple of dollars.

I cannot speak for the pool, fitness facilities, or other facilities as I've not used them. The main pool is outdoors and in the middle of the hotel property, surrounded by half of the rooms. The rooms facing the pool have balconies. I believe there is also an indoor pool.

The location is very good for most things in the Harrisburg & Hershey area as it's easy on-and-off for the freeways and very close to the airport. Some jet noise but not too bad at all.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KYknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

After having our room given away at another hotel, we had to drive around looking for a hotel with a two room suite (we had young children). Holiday Inn had the room we needed available at a reasonable price. The clerk/asst manager? Tiffany was AWESOME. We booked the room immediately and got another similar room for our friends who were meeting us. The hotel was very nice and clean. They had an indoor and outdoor pool w/ jacuzzi. There was a game room and in house restaurant w/ bar. It was a full service hotel. Although it took some time and multiple phone calls to get a crib, Tiffany once again saved the day. We needed a two room suite separated by a door and they had just that. It was huge with one and 1/2 baths. They gave us a AAA and military discount which was great. They saved our vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hrw2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

The Hotel is ok. Room is big, but carpet had stains. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom is very small without a fan. We liked the location, close to Hershey Park and a good price..A big plus is having a restaurant and pool. Just need to pay more attention to the
cleaness of the carpets and have fans in baths. Otherwise, nice stay for the price. Close to I-83.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShilFramingham_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
#26 of 51 in Harrisburg
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 51 in Harrisburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 4751 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2400
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: £76 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing