We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Nearby Hotels
US$208
US$190
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$199
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey(Harrisburg)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey(Harrisburg)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$57
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,139)
Filter reviews
2,139 results
Traveller rating
1,487
371
157
81
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,487
371
157
81
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe holiday innrandy stuartping pongfront deskthe general manageroutdoor poolhershey parkhot tubthe entire staffhome away from homehotel staffbusiness tripplaygrounddawnterranceamberconference
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,427 - 1,432 of 2,139 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were sent here after we were overbooked at another hotel... not sure how this hotel has been rated #4 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg... by the pictures on this site, some of the rooms may have been renovated, but ours certainly was NOT. The ceilings are very low with lots of water damage... couldn't wait to check out. Thankfully our stay did not cost us anything as the hotel that bumped us picked up the tab. I wouldn't have been willing to stay otherwise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Terry,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me off line regarding the recent experience you and your daughter had with us. Your time and courtesies were greatly appreciated, as it gave me more details about your unanticipated arrival to our hotel, specifically the location of your room and where we need to improve. We are disappointed to learn that we failed to meet your expectations as a first time guest – my sincere apologies. We take your feedback very seriously and will certainly address the room condition items noted in your review. It’s my responsibility to ensure our rooms are prepared inviting ready, so I need to do what we call – “a promise check” on how our room inspections are handled going forward.

Again, my apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment we caused as a result of your guaranteed reservation at another local hotel, which was not honored. We learned a valuable lesson that will clearly help us achieve better results in the future.

We wish your daughter all the best at Dickinson College.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My family and I have been staying at this hotel for 6 years and it just gets better and better. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure that your stay is the best one possible. The rooms are always clean and the pool is kept in excellent condition. The indoor pool is also a great option and the arcade keeps the kids happy. We look forward to visiting this hotel every year and can't wait for our next trip to Hershey!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0nr0y1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family had a great experience at this property. The hotel has many things for kids to do, 2 pools, tennis, basketball, ping pong, arcades and more.

But I especially wanted to talk about the staff. Every where we turned we encountered friendly and very helpful staff, especially Tammy, our server in the restaurant. We had the pleasure of dining with her twice for breakfast. She went above and beyond our expectations to take care of our large family. She continually checked on us, made sure the children had exactly what they needed and always made sure we had enough food. She is a real treasure on their staff.

Room Tip: rooms were very clean, hallway carpet does need to be replaced.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsn703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Jsn703,

We are pleased to read of your overall satisfaction with the service and accommodations we provided you and your family. Thank you for expressing your feedback on TripAdvisor – much appreciated. We feel the same way you do about all the amenities we offer, all of which are unmatched in the Harrisburg/Hershey market – nothing but fun for the entire family.

I’m very proud of the entire team and their commitment to service excellence. This is clearly a passion of ours, and something we take tremendous pride in delivering to all our guests. Tammy plays a major role in our success and we’re fortunate to have such a wonderful team member. I will be sure to pass along your kind words.

Thank you for selecting us as your lodging choice. We hope to have you back with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We wanted to stay somewhere a little nicer than the Days Inn where we usually stay for our yearly Hershey excursion, so we booked a room here. The public areas are great - very nicely done, very clean - the pool/hot tub/playground area is a lot of fun, and the game rooms are a great downtime activity area for the kids.

While the public areas look good, the wing where our room was located did show significant signs of wear. The carpet was pretty worn, the paint on the doors and trim was patchy, and the bathroom shower enclosure had enough caulk around it to make me think that a replacement was probably warranted. Also, the dining room features a breakfast buffet - the good news is that kids under 12 eat free, and we had a good meal the first morning we had breakfast there. However, the second morning (a Saturday) was much more crowded, which may have accounted for the watery eggs and under cooked bacon we discovered.

To the staffs credit, when we needed more shampoo, or towels, or needed the coffee-to-go dispenser refilled, they were right on it. The staff responds immediately to any issue and does their best to bring it to your level of satisfaction - if management can be as pro-active about the issues I've mentioned above, we will definitely try them out again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Ken,

Thank you for taking the time to express feedback of your recent experience with us. We appreciate when a new customer offers feedback in an effort to help us improve, as we’re always striving to deliver the type of service and accommodations our guests expect and deserve. My apologies for some of the condition items noted in your review, and the breakfast experience day two – we will address accordingly in an effort to mitigate any future concerns.

I’m always excited when our guests acknowledge the sense of urgency we have to ensure they have everything they need, whenever they need it 24/7. It’s this type of commitment that keeps us very busy, and allows us to create great long lasting relationships with our valued guests.

Please feel free to contact me directly at rstuart@hiharrisburg.com regarding your next visit – I definitely guarantee we’ll strive to get two additional stars (excellent).

Thank you very much for your business.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our experience was fantastic from the very begining with the front desk was very awesome. The gentleman at the desk " Mick " did a terrific job in accomodating me and my family. We will return shortly with great pleasure. Thank you to Mick and the holiday inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajeh j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy S, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Rajah,

“Fantastic” – that’s what we want to hear when guests speak of the service and accommodations we provide – goal accomplished. Your time and courtesies in writing a review is much appreciated. We are happy to know Mick took special care of you and your family throughout your stay. He’s passionate about customer service and I know he will be happy your experience was fantastic.

We appreciate your business and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews