We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Feel at Home"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From the staff at the front desk to Jamie B. our restaurant server we felt at home. Jamie was very friendly like talking to an old friend and a great server. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Beautiful indoor and outdoor pools. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Eileen411,

The feeling of home while you stayed with us is awesome and inspiring – thank you. We are thrilled to read all areas of your lodging experience with us were great – goal accomplished. Our guests continue to be happy with our spaciously appointed guest rooms, amenities and wonderful service.

Thank you for your business and acknowledging the efforts of Jamie and our front desk team.

Kind regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,003 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is a poor property. The lobby is unattractive, signage is poor, and place is confusing. The hallway carpet was threadbare, dirty and stained. It should be replaced. Guest room carpet was old, faded, and lumpy in places. The pillows were lumpy and filled with dust. Before I went to breakfast, I had to find a map of the hotel in the room to be able to find the restaurant. When I arrived at breakfast, all the deuces had dirty dished on them so I had to sit at a four top as a single diner. I ordered a Danish for $3 that was a cheap packaged Danish. This hotel also doesn't have public wifi in the lobby, an amenity that I expect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Recmanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at the Holiday Inn Harrisburg East, I would like to apologize for not delivering on the type of service and experience our guests expect and deserve when the stay with us. We strive to meet and exceed every expectation for our guests, but unfortunately we failed to do so with your visit, and for that I again apologize. I take full responsibility for the inconvenience we caused and left you a message via TripAdvisor to discuss my passion and desire to improve where possible in the areas you noted, and learn the location of your guest room. I reviewed your feedback with the appropriate departments - outlining action items to ensure a sense of urgency on cleanliness and directional signage is on full display moving forward. Carpets must continue to be deep cleaned until capital funding is approved for replacement. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire building, so I’m not sure what occurred when you tried to connect.

Again, we regret your expectations were not met as a valued guest, and hope for another opportunity to accommodate you should your travels bring you back to the Harrisburg/Hershey area.

P.S. Should any future travelers have concerns about our accommodations and service, please contact me directly at 717-704-0783.

Sincerely,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Your staff is amazing... Kelsey (front desk), Mary & Missy in the restaurant/bar could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. Two different managers stopped several times by our group to ask how things were going and if we needed anything.

ALWAYS the best place to stay for the Hershey Invitational soccer tourney. THANK YOU...ds

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Dana,

I completely agree with your comment of – “Your staff is amazing”. Our culture of drive, determination, commitment and passion resonates throughout the entire team. We simply love serving our valued guests and always do it with the biggest smile 24/7.

Thank you for telling future guests how much we care. We appreciate your business and loyalty – see you next year!

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for soccer tournament with team. Excellent. Friendly staff, large rooms. Clean great value. Close to hershey park!great for kids. Poo outdoor and indoor. Play set volleyball. Basketball great outdoor space

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Antonio,

We appreciate your feedback and kind words of the recent experience you had with us – thank you. Our friendly service and fantastic amenities makes us the perfect choice for anyone traveling to the Harrisburg/Hershey area. You simply will not find a better value and service commitment anywhere in the area – guaranteed.

Thank you for selecting us as your lodging choice. We hope your team had a successful tournament.

Best regards,

Randall J Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was in a nice location with respect to Hershey Park. We stayed here two nights around Memorial day. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was good also. It would be nice if there were exhaust fans in the bathrooms and coffee pots in the rooms, though. During our stay, one of the hot water boilers went down, we were told. We did not have hot water that night or the next morning, which was a bummer when showering. But what can you do when it's a holiday weekend? The front desk did comp us one night, which was appreciated. Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVTravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear WVTravelers4,

As a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor, thanks for sharing such valuable feedback with us – much appreciated. We regret to learn of your hot water issue, and the inconvenience it caused with your stay on the second night – my apologies. We did address it and are confident the issue has been resolved. Regarding the exhaust fans in the bathrooms – we have vents that draw out the air, which should have assisted with the moisture in your bathroom – I will double check with the engineering department to ensure the roof top vents are open and working property. We don’t have coffee makers with pots in our guest rooms, but we do have two cup coffee makers in each room. If your travels bring you back to the area, contact me directly and I will put a coffee maker with a pot in your room.

Again, thanks for bringing the noted opportunities to our attention and for allowing us to introduce our Hospitality Promise – Satisfaction Guaranteed 24/7.

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager #WIT24/7
717-704-0783

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 4th anniversary by getting a babysitter (overnight) and checking into the Holiday Inn Harrisburg East which is right up to road from our house. We've always heard great things, and decided to try it out for ourselves...we were not let down.

We were greeted at the door by a nice gentleman named Mick, and he was the perfect intro to a very relaxing, kid-free night! We lounged by the pool, patronized the in-house bar and did it all over again the next day:)

Top to bottom, this stay was great and customer service was second to none (and I've trained 1,000's of employees on customer service). We're now looking at making this a monthly event this summer...THANKS MICK!!!!!!! I'll gladly spread the word of how great you and the entire staff was/is!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Gary,

We appreciate your time and courtesies in sharing your overall stay experience with us and future travelers looking for a wonderful place to stay – thank you. We value the feedback from every guest. Your comments will be used as inspiration for our team – Mick outstanding job once again buddy! We’re passionate about our “Friendliest Hotel in the Entire Country” label and enjoy maintaining it 24/7.

Thank you for selecting us to celebrate your 4th anniversary. We wish you many more!

See you next month – call me and I will get you a patio courtyard poolside room.

Best regards,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME

General Manager #WIT24/7
717-704-0783

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Double room was comfortable (though one spends little time in during these trips). Has all the basic amenities incl. wi-fi. Bathroom a bit small tho. The toiletries are a bit sparse - they provide the basics but they are more 1 or 2 time use bottles - we asked for more & got a bag full! Only coffee no tea in room. Troy & his supervisor were quite friendly & helpful. Because of how the hotel is situated on a hill, one had to get use to going "down" to our rooms from the reception area! We missed out on requesting a walk out/balcony room to the pool area but we survived! Indoor/outdoor pool, vball court, play yard set, pool & ping pong tables, Wii and game rooms, lotsa flat screens, pretty good restaurant - all in all a very nice stay. Only 15-20 min. to our game sites & to Hershey Park. Would choose this next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Request a walk out room to the pool area, also pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sushiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sushiray,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us – much appreciated. As a Senior Contributor within the TripAdvisor community, we value your feedback, as we know you are serious about expressing your opinion of the accommodations and service you received. We treat all feedback as a gift, always finding ways to improve for the next guest, and inspired when our goal of complete guest satisfaction is accomplished.

I’m happy to read we responded quickly with the additional amenities items needed for guest room. I will be sure to let Troy and housekeeping leadership know how pleased you were with their service. Our resort type amenities are unmatched in the Harrisburg/Hershey market, and offer outstanding value for anyone looking to stay with us (business or pleasure).

Your room tip is definitely a crowd pleaser! Contact me the next time you plan on visiting the area and I will make sure you get a patio room. I can be reached directly at 717-704-0783.

Thank you for staying with us.

All the best,

Randall J. Stuart, CHA, CHME
General Manager / #WIT24/7

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
#26 of 51 in Harrisburg
794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 51 in Harrisburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 4751 Lindle Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2400
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: £76 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing