We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Overall, a pretty nice place. The room, besides the bathroom, was very nice. Free Starbucks coffee and bottle of water in the room - replaced the next day by the cleaning staff. The bathroom was in urgent need of an upgrade. The corners were peeling and had some moldy looking stuff on it. The toilets were pretty gross in some parts. I meant to take a picture of this, but I forgot. The general hotel area is very nice. A pretty impressive business area with a bunch of computers. The front desk employees were great - very nice and accommodating. The pool was great, what with the whole indoor/outdoor thing going on, but also needed an update. The floor by the indoor part of the pool was peeling in several places. The inside of the pool could use a new layer and the hot tub was lukewarm at best. We got a ridiculous rate from Priceline though, so that helps. We stayed here for a trip to Hersheypark and Dutch Wonderland and it was overall a good place to stay. If I did it again I would probably try somewhere else but if I ended up here I would still be happy.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank your for your comments and feedback. We appreciate any and all comments. It is how we get better! We in the early stages of a renovation to our property. We are all so very excited about this! We hope that you do decide to return to our hotel and see what improvements have been made.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    243
    177
    72
    63
See reviews for
304
76
32
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Purchased two rooms last minute for $85 on Priceline on our way through to Pittsburgh! Great deal so I can't complain to much. Rooms were clean . It could use a little maintenance , one of the elevators was out of service so it took a while to get to the room. In the morning both were out, but they were undergoing repair. The breakfast was very good and very reasonably price. The service was very good, and prompt. The pastries were very yummy, all baked fresh on premises and they even packed us coffee to go when we were done eating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
We are glad the "last minute deal" worked out for you and for us! We are so glad you stayed with us. Our restaurant serves all meals; breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's not just our pastries in the morning that are yummy, our evening desserts are a treat as well. We also offer drinks and food poolside on the weekends during the summer months. Our goal is to keep everyone full and happy! We are happy to report that our elevator upgrade is almost complete. Our elevators weren't broken, we were just having them upgraded. This is part of our constant efforts to improve our property. Upgrades are essential.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

The Hotel was a little dated and the elevators did not work - at first it was 1 and then it was all 3 by the time we left. The rooms were ok also with wall paper coming off. However the service staff at the restaurant were decent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. We are sorry for the elevators being down during your stay. During the summer months we were undergoing an elevator upgrade. Our hotel provides 4 elevators for guest and employee use. We had to take one down at a time do perform the necessary upgrades. Of course, there is never a good time for a project like this, but nevertheless, it had to be done. Our property continuously strives to perform upgrades as often as we can to keep our facility the best it can be. We hope you decide to visit us again, and give us another chance to show you what a beautiful hotel we are.

Thank you again for your comments, and of course, for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk County, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Five years ago we visited this hotel and WOW what a difference 5 years makes! It all began when we pushed the button for the elevator and noticed it was being held to the wall with tape. The elevators closest to our room had an elevator out of order, and the wait was ridiculous. Luckily we were one flight up so we used the stairs, however they were jam packed with materials that the elevator mechanics stored in there. In our room, the bathroom door had a hole in it filled with putty, the door did not open or close easily, and was impossible to lock. The Dog and Pony restaurant had an average buffet but the omelette makers would not add tomato to my omelette when asked, that was rude. One of our maids, who was a young gentleman, only fixed the top comforter and left the sheets balled up at the front of the bed! Come on! At $200 a night I truly expect more than this. Sadly, we will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGMSheraton, AGM at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback, which I have shared with the hotel staff. You will be happy to know since your visit the elevators have been upgraded. This is part one of the renovations that the hotel will be under in the upcoming months. If you are ever in the are again, please reach out to me directly, so that I can personally handly your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
collegeville, pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Really? Please move on to another hotel- the room had the worst odor! I will not use the Sheraton again! But the staff try their best- they were extremely professional in tough working conditions! Don' t sell out the hotel if you can't handle the volume of guests. We would have left if we weren't with family for a wedding. Really any of the Hampton Inns in the area are better and cheaper! And cleaner!

Room Tip: Make certain you aren't in basement near pools! Terrible smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are sorry for your bad experience. We do appreciate your comments, we can't do better unless we know what to work on. We are currently working on many upgrades to our property and we hope you choose to return and give us another chance.

Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay. The staff was friendly & helpful. The hotel itself was average in appearance. Our two year old enjoyed the indoor & outdoor pool. We ordered room service for dinner & the food was average. Nice comfortable king bed. Walls are pretty thin though. Screaming child next door was no fun to listen to off & on all evening. Overall this was a nice enough place to stay but we wouldn't feel the need to stay here again when we're in town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahsMommy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback, which I have shared with our staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. If you do decide to return to our hotel please reach out to me directly, I will personally make sure that you are in a quite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is my first review of a hotel. My experience was so bad that I felt I needed to warn any would-be travellers before staying here. My family and I were returning from a conference in D.C. and passing through Harrisburg late at night when we arrived at the Sheraton for an overnight stay before traveling home (the kids wanted to do the Hershey factory tour). I had booked the hotel online with Priceline sight unseen and couldn't cancel for a refund as it was a "name your own price" deal. This was by far the worst hotel experience I have had (I travel quite a bit so that's really saying something). To begin with, the bathroom had black mold on the ceiling. The paint was chipping and bubbled up. The carpets were stained and dirty. It had a strong, heavy smell of an old ashtray in the hallway and the rooms (the hallway much worse than the rooms). The drapes were dirty and broken (hanging off their track). The TV was new and worked fine (flatscreen). The pool was very dirty and we had to ask twice for towels to be sent down. The elevator was broken and we had to use a dirty service elevator. This is NOT a 3 star hotel. Honestly, the building felt as though it should be condemned. Do yourself a favor and stay someplace else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards, but you will be happy to know as a result of your feedback we have implemented many changes. If you do decide to return to the area again, please reach out to me. I will personally handle your reservation and make your guest experience a positive one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
#18 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey

Property: Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Address: 4650 Lindle Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel's central location is just minutes away from downtown, the airport, and Hersheypark with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing