We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Lynbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My fiancé and I recently stayed at this hotel for a short weekend trip to Hershey from
Thursday-Saturday. Room was ready before the assigned time which was good because after a long straight through drive from NY it was great to relax for a bit since we got to the area way ahead of schedule. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Room didn't really look exactly the way it did in the pictures so it was a bit deceiving, and the bathroom was a little small but other than that no complaints about the room. We were located on the second floor inside very close to the steps and front desk area, but encountered little to no noise. Bed was comfy and the offering of coffee and tea was great. However I wish there was a pool to relax by and a continental breakfast. Room had a king bed with a flat screen TV, a desk with a chair, coffee maker, and bathroom. Didn't spend too much time at the hotel other than to sleep and relax, but the room was always clean and restocked, and bed was made by the time we came back.
Hotel itself is sort of a motel style instead of one big building.
Very close to I-81 which was convenient and a short 20-30min drive to Hershey was not bad. Also close to a Cracker Barrel, a Macaroni Grill, and a Starbucks so there was a variety of places to eat at. Good for the price if you're looking for something budget wise that is still good quality wise.

Pros: Cheap, relatively close to Hershey and Harrisburg, bed, selection of coffee and tea, clean, close to highway, close to strip mall with food choices, relatively quiet.
Cons: Pictures of room on website, no food.

Room Tip: Ask to be located in a room in the same building as the front desk but on the second floor. It is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna Martin _, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. I am glad that we were able to get you checked into your room prior to check in time. I am thrilled that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. It sounds like you stayed in one of our Superior King rooms which do include a refrigerator and microwave, coffee makers, and iron/ironing boards. We are conveniently located off of I-81 on exit 69 (Progress Avenue) and we are a short 15 miles from Hershey Park. I am glad that you enjoyed the restaurants that are very close to our Inn. I would like to thank you again for writing a review of our Inn. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Harrisburg area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    84
    67
    34
    28
See reviews for
74
72
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Red Roof Inn at the Harrisburgh North location because we had spent the whole day at HersheyPark. The location is approximately 25 minutes away from HersheyPark. The room upon arrival seemed decent... however the bad part was in the bathroom. There was hair all over the bathtub and around the toilet. It didn't appear to be have been cleaned too well before we checked in. That pretty much grossed me out a bit. I know this is not a Hilton, but at least let it be clean. I chose this hotel because I didn't want to pay over $300/night to stay in Hershey due to a concert going on that weekend. This room wasn't particularly cheap either at $100/night. I don't think I will return next time around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MzHui21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna Martin _, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our property. I apologize that you found hair in the bathtub and around the toilet in your room. Please know that we take our customer service and cleanliness very seriously. I will be addressing my housekeeping staff regarding this incident. Thank you again for writing a review of our property. Please come back the next time you are in the Harrisburg area and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is not for families other guess in hotel sketchy, the few in room near lobby drinking beer on the room chairs with many empties about might be a give away, only to find more drinking going on outside in the second building. just didnt have safe felling for my family

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna Martin _, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our Inn. I am sorry that you did not have a safe feeling for your family during your stay with us. I can assure you that our Inn is very safe. We have a wide variety of guests that stay with us. We appeal to all type of travelers because we are pet friendly. During the summertime, we get several families visiting Hershey Park that stay with us. We have a very good relationship with the Susquehanna Police Department who drive through our property and the corporate offices surrounding our Inn. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. Next time you are in the area, please give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is in a good location when visiting Hershey as we did because its right off the highway. The rooms we stayed in was recently redone so it was pretty decent. There is no breakfast offered but there is coffee in the lobby. This seems to be a popular place for truckers. Some of the other guests looked a bit sketchy but were harmless. This place appears to be going through a positive transformation so its worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcool17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna Martin _, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. I am glad that you found our location to be good for your visit to Hershey. We are just 15 miles from Hershey and all the attractions there. I am happy that you liked our recent renovations. We do not offer a continental breakfast in order to keep our rates as low as we can, but do have our coffee bar available for our guests. We get a wide variety of travelers that stay with us, from truck drivers to families going to Hershey Park. We appeal to all types of travelers since we are pet friendly. Thank you again for writing a review of our property. We look forward on seeing you on your next visit to the Harrisburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights last weekend on a family trip to Hershey park. Everything was perfect. The rooms were very clean & the maid Sue was excellent. The coffee bar in the lobby was a nice touch. The beds were very comfortable & we all slept great. I also loved seeing all the doggies taking their morning walks. My family will definitely stay again on our next trip to Hershey.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna Martin _, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so happy that you found everything to be perfect during your stay! I am glad that you found your room to be very clean and that you found Sue to be excellent. She is definitely an asset to our Inn. I am glad that you found our beds to be very comfortable. We do have a lot of guests that like to bring their four legged family members with them when they travel. We are pet friendly and do not charge a fee to bring your pet with you during your travels. Thank you again for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Hershey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We like to stay at Red Roof since we have a dog but the hotel is nice.
Clean Rooms, fridge/microwave (no iron) and for the price it is wonderful!!!
The do charge for the safe so make sure when you check out the you say you did not use it.
They do have places that deliver in case you do not want to go out but many places to eat around.
Could have bigger pillows :) but always a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEKDES-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna Martin _, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our property. I am so happy that you find our hotel to be nice. We are pet friendly and do not charge you to bring your furry family member. I am glad that you found our rooms to be clean, and the price to be wonderful. We do have several restaurants that deliver as well as several restaurants in the area. I will pass the request for bigger pillows on to my corporate office. Thank you again for writing a review of our property. We look forward to seeing you next time you come to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nothing fancy, but I've stayed here a few times and have not been disappointed.
The beds are comfortable, the AC works well, and the rooms are clean.
Not exactly a memorable hotel experience, but that's totally fine for the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna Martin _, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad to hear that you have stayed with us a few times and that you have not been disappointed during any of your stays. I am happy to hear that you feel the beds are comfortable, the air conditioners work well, and that our rooms are clean. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to the Harrisburg area! Thank you again for writing a review of our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#31 of 50 in Harrisburg
122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg/Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
306 reviews
7.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
Econo Lodge Harrisburg
#32 of 50 in Harrisburg
91 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North

Property: Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Address: 400 Corporate Circle, Harrisburg, PA 17110-9782
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, Red Roof Inn, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing