We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The desk staff person was welcoming and nice. We arrived at the hotel a little before check-in. He checked us in and told us that he would call us when our room was ready. While waiting, we took a short trip to the Target that was a few blocks away. We received a call from the desk staff shortly after we left informing us that our room was ready.

The room had a great layout, lots of space, and was very comfortable. My son claimed and loved the loft. The negatives about the room were that the bed was really hard and uncomfortable, the TV pictures weren't sharp, the sofa looked like it needed to be cleaned and had short white hairs across the back where your head rests, and the wooden outside stairs that go up to the room were narrow, old, and scary. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 658JanetS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant check in experience. Our property also has a two bedroom suite, which has the same room accommodations on one level. This option may suit your family needs better. Thank you again for choosing our Residence Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    131
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
202
36
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently visited the Hershey area and needed space for lodging. We had 4 teen girls for a "Birthday" trip and one hotel room with one bathroom would not work for us.

The Hotel is located in more of an Industrial area, but it was quiet. We had a great room with a loft, 2 bathrooms, nice sized kitchen, and living area.

That was perfect for what we needed! The girls were thrilled and had a great time using the pools. Hershey is not far away at all. Under a 10 minute ride. Also, nearby is plenty of places to dine or shop.

We found our unit to be very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was also a great perk!

The free breakfast was good and everyone enjoyed their morning meals. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a place to stay with a family with older children needing their privacy and space.

Room Tip: This Hotel also takes dogs. I enjoyed walking around and seeing the friendly people with their pets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tappenfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy your family was able to take advantage of our wonderful amenities, our larger size suites, and our four legged friends. Also we would like to wish your daughter a belated birthday! We are looking forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Because of traffic, we were not sure where we would end up for the night, so didn't call for a room until we were only an hour away- and boy are we glad we picked this hotel!! The hotel staff were all so friendly and courteous, and the room was delightful. Our room was a studio style suite and was very comfortable, with a nice TV, kitchenette, and plenty of room. Our stay was quiet and comfortable. We used the internet with no problem and I used the fitness center, which had an eliptical and treadmill. The breakfast was good with plenty of choices - even fresh eggs. Overall, a very nice stay- we liked it so much, we are planning to stay there on our return trip!

Room Tip: Our room was on the side farthest from the highway- and was quiet and easy to access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LG12112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi LG12112, Thank you for providing such a glowing review of our hotel! We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback on your stay. I am happy to hear your accommodations were comfortable and relaxing and our amenities met all your needs.
We look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky mountains
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I think that to be perfectly transparent folks need to know that some of the units at this Residence Inn are located in such proximity to a busy highway that you can look out your window and see the trucks and cars passing by . You can certainly hear them at all hours . It is an unpleasant surprise as is the two story walk up to several units .

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is not next to the highway.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cusemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hello Cusemeister, Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear you were disturbed by local traffic during your stay. Our hotel is an apartment style Residence Inn with private entrances. We do offer suites in many locations on our property with first and second floor stair access. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This has been our seventh consecutive year staying at the Residence Inn for the CHAP Homeschool Convention in Harrisburg. The wonderful accomodations and proximity to major roadways is a why we return year after year. The breakfast is an added perk - freshly made scrambled eggs are just the begining. After a good nights sleep and a great breakfast we are ready to tackle the miles of walking the vendor stalls and sit attentively at the educational sessions.

Room Tip: Book early, this place is popular! There is not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review. We appreciate your loyalty and dedication to our facility. Hope to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were very pleased to stay at this hotel during cheer competition weekend! We had a king suite with sleeper sofa, and room were spacious, clean, and nice! Don't hesitate to stay here. : ) Location was good and close to many restaurants. The swimming pool was very well kept and clean. The fitness center was also very clean, and offered a lot for hotel. Outside our suite was a really nice sitting area with benches.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am please to know our extra amenities were able to fit your needs. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is beautiful, I love the fireplace. The whole suite is very nice and I feel right at home. I do have two complaints though, I worked in the hotel industry for a few years so I know the ropes. First of all on my second day housekeeping shampooed my carpet, this was very uncomfortable because all night I had to either wear shoes or get my feet soaked because it was so wet. I've never ever worked in a hotel before where they cleaned the carpets while a guest was in the room. The standard procedure is that the rooms be vacant and taken out of order until dry.

Then I checked my account and I was glad I did because it was close to being overdrawn. My company is paying for my hotel, so the front desk should have only authorized my debit card for $60, I get how that works. takes 3-10 business days to drop off and so forth. But I was missing hundred of dollars out of my checking account. I called the desk when I noticed (around midnight) and he wasn't able to locate the authorization, which is fine, he was very polite and helpful. The next morning I called my bank and they confirmed the hold on my money was coming from the hotel. No problem, that can happen easily when checking someone in. I knew it was a simple fix, all the hotel had to do was fax over the information authorizing the release of my money.

However when I called the hotel, Katelyn answered and was not helpful in the beginning. First she just tried telling me it was an authorization and not a charge (which I understood and made that clear when I called) then she proceeded to tell me it was normal. It wasn't normal. They authorized my card for hundreds more than it should have been. Then she told me there was nothing they could do. That is also not okay. I told her I worked in the hotel industry, had her exact same job before and told her exactly what she had to do. After that she immediately put me on hold. I could hold for too long because I was on break, when I called back later she seemed much more eager to help, I'm assuming she spoke to her manager. Bottom line is, she never apologized, then on top of that tried telling me there was nothing that could be done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
HI Kate,

Thank you for your comments on your guest room! The fireplace is a great amenity to have, especially when it is cold! I would llike to apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay with us. I am sorry that the front desk was not able to assist you as efficiently as they should have. I have confirmed that the bank issue was taken care of. Also, regarding the carpet, we do have all of the carpets professionally cleaned throughout the year, and I apologize that it had not thoroughly dried. We appreciate your business, and look forward to your return to the Residence Inn Harrisburg.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 4480 Lewis Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17111-2548
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey hotel offers guests spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, free wireless Internet access, pool, heated spa and Sport Court-all the comforts of home. Attractions near the hotel are Hershey Park & Stadium, Indian Echo Caverns, Whitaker Center, Zoo America, AACA Museum, National Civil War Museum, RiverSide Stadium, State Museum of Pennsylvania and the State Capitol. Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey shopping is plentiful at Harrisburg Mall, Colonial Park Mall, Outlets at Hershey and Strawberry Square. Guests to the hotel enjoy complimentary breakfast buffet daily and light dinners Mon-Thurs. Visitors to University of Harrisburg and Temple University are within 5 miles of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. Come stay with us at the Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel allowing pets in studio and Penthouse suites only for a $100 non refundable fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing