We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good place for family while visiting Hershey Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place for family while visiting Hershey Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This Marriott hotel is a good place to stay while a family is visiting Hershey Park. We had a small kitchen, two queen size beds, and a foldout couch which made a queen size bed. The room was large and easily accessed. There is a large lobby and in the lobby there is a buffet for breakfast and supper. Breakfast was huge, including hot and cold items. There is a swimming pool and a tennis court/basketball court. Everything was very clean and well-kept. This hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes away from the park. Nearby are many family-friendly restaurants also.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dallas61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We couldn't agree with you more! Thank you for your wonderful review,we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the wonderful amenities our hotel has to offer. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    124
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
194
31
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

You will enjoy the people in the kitchen at breakfast and that's about it.
From the Sales manager to the desk clerks to the cleaning staff you would
rather be with your dog (which are not allowed by the way) because these
people do not have a clue about how to respectfully treat people.
I will never stay at this hotel again, and would recommend to anyone to
find somewhere else to stay in the Harrisburg area.

Room Tip: A tip to choosing a good room would be to find a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticBlowNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
CriticBlowNe,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn Harrisburg/Hershey hotel. I am dissapointed to learn of your dissatisfaction with the staff at the hotel during your stay. I would like to discusss your stay with you. You can contact me directly at the hotel at 717-561-1900.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Got to room and had a small blood spot on bath towel. Very visible. Not sure it could have been missed. Unless hey didn't really care. Also opened sofa bed to see that the contents of the previous sleepers bed were still on it and just folded back into it. Housekeeping never cared to check. I stripped the sofa bed and made it with fresh linens from closet. All within 5 mins of beginning stay. Bad start for a platinum rewards member with Marriott. Front desk was polite enough. Just seemed very frazzled and pressed for time. I think shift change was occuring too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BizTravel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I was disappointed to learn that your experience was less then satisfactory .Our staff typically receives very positive reviews regarding there level of service and I truly apologize that was not your experience. We hope you will give us a second chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
361 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Our GPS was telling to turn into what appeared to be an industrial park (at night). They need a sign off the local road.

The room was nicely appointed and the staff friendly, but breakfast ends at 9am during the week, way too early, not only for us, but the many families who were also rushing to get there and finish before 9am. It's summertime and people are on vacation. Breakfast should go later.

The fitness room is small and needs a mat, disinfectant wipes for the machines and maybe an exercise ball.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for feedback .I am sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the immediate surrounding area. Also thank you for the great compliments on our front desk staff. We did recently upgrade our fitness center so we do thank you for the helpful hints to improve for future guests. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed last week using a free night I earned with my Marriott points. After an extremely hot and humid day at Hershey Park, this hotel was a great place to relax. We checked in around 4:30, got right in our room, a king in the back with a sofa bed. The room was clean and perfect for our needs. It was my husband and I with our teenage daughter, and our 2 year old grandson. The staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. They explained the dinner "social" and gave me a packet of information about the area. We unloaded and stretched out to cool off and watch TV. About a 1/2 hour after checking in, the front desk called to see if everything was ok! I have never had this happen before, and it was a great touch. The social that night was a BBQ theme....hamburgers, hotdogs, baked beans, potato salad, chips, and salad bar. There was a keg of beer, sodas and coffee, tea. The food was plentiful and since it was included, was a great way to end the night. My husband especially appreciated the beer, after a long day with a 2 year old! I did use the Market Store, to get macaroni and cheese for my grandson who is a picky eater. I bought a small Stouffer's mac and cheese, and a Rice Krispie treat and spent $9!! I felt this was extremely overpriced for what I got. The free breakfast was plentiful, also. They offered pancakes, scrambled eggs with several toppings, sausage patties, potatoes, oatmeal with different toppings, several cereals, a bread bar with breads, muffins near the toaster, juices, coffee, fresh fruit, and yogurt. What I liked best was the trays to bring your meal back to your room. This worked well with a toddler. The property offered a basketball court, which was being used, and both an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool had been closed due to storms, but I took my grandson to the indoor pool. It was very hard to breath in there due to the warmth of the room, but the pool water was cool. Great for kids, but I took the last towel. I have stayed in Residence Inns before, but this particular one was above what I was used to. Good sized rooms, location good for many things. I would return to this property again. In the morning, staff was again very pleasant, and thanked me again for choosing this property. I was told they appreciated my business, even though I was using points, because points don't come cheap. Well done, Residence Inn!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
An amazing review would be an understatement! We thank you for taking the time and effort to give prospective guest such detailed account of your stay with us. We are so glad to hear our social and breakfast met all your needs and more. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed in many Residence Inns with family & this is one of the best. The hotel is in a very convenient but odd location. The new building in back is very nice with good pool, workout room and bed was great. This was a great stop on our way to Maine, Summer 2014! The staff was great had a good recommendation for Pizza. I think we may have to come back and check out Hershey park next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed our newly renovated premium suite. It will be my pleasure to pass along the great complements to our housekeeping and front desk staff. Hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing our facility!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The family has been coming to this hotel for the last few years, it is a reasonable alternative the the local Hershey hotels and only 15 min away from the park. This year they have remodeled the lobby with expanded seating for breakfast (see photos). What I love is the youthful energetic staff that keeps the property in great condition. Emily W. was so friendly at check-in an gave me a sincere welcome back.

The breakfast they put out is exceptional, the staff that preps it is so friendly, even the pickiest eater will be able to find something.

The only thing that needs improvement is some landscaping. We had a brutally cold Winter 2014 and some of the shrubs did not make it through, they need to be replaced.

Looking forward to our next stay latter this summer!

Room Tip: We were in room 423 it was a King bed and sofa with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cruiser1260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review on our Residence Inn. We are so happy that your return visit was just as accommodating and wonderful as your last. Our staff does work hard to provide our guest with the best service and it will be my pleasure to inform them of the great compliments. Recently we finished renovations to our gatehouse, and we are so happy that you notice the extra seating. On that note I do want to apologize on our landscaping, which is the last phase of our renovations to be completed. Thank you again we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Harrisburg Hershey
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Property: Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
Address: 4480 Lewis Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey hotel offers guests spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, free wireless Internet access, pool, heated spa and Sport Court-all the comforts of home. Attractions near the hotel are Hershey Park & Stadium, Indian Echo Caverns, Whitaker Center, Zoo America, AACA Museum, National Civil War Museum, RiverSide Stadium, State Museum of Pennsylvania and the State Capitol. Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey shopping is plentiful at Harrisburg Mall, Colonial Park Mall, Outlets at Hershey and Strawberry Square. Guests to the hotel enjoy complimentary breakfast buffet daily and light dinners Mon-Thurs. Visitors to University of Harrisburg and Temple University are within 5 miles of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. Come stay with us at the Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel allowing pets in studio and Penthouse suites only for a $100 non refundable fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing