We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the riverfront view & convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Riverfront
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Rio Grande NJ
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the riverfront view & convenient location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Front desk was very helpful at booking and check-in was quick. Bedding & towels are great, especially at this price point. Mattresses themselves were a bit sunken in - but not too bad. Location was so convenient to Riverfront Park & City Island Park, as well as walking to restaurants and the Capitol. Breakfast was good, but get there by 9 for best selection. Walls are a bit thin. Appreciated the easy access to free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: 2nd floor odd numbers, double Queen for view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof-Wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    98
    64
    27
    36
See reviews for
79
92
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucernemines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Carpets were very dirty, mattresses were very bad......dips everywhere. The ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate and nice to have. The pool area was very dirty and had the same coffee spots for two days until we cleaned them ourselves. The pool area was outside of the restaurant area and both the restaurant windows and the pool fence had more cobwebs and dirt than I have ever seen at any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaLucernemines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kris M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Riverfront, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. One of the lovely things about our hotel is the great team we have here dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations on all levels, but we will certainly use your constructive feed back to make sure we keep improving our hotel. The Comfort Inn Riverfront is in beautiful location along the Susquehanna River! We are with in walking distance of many wonderful attractions such as City Island where the Senators play baseball as well as the Whitaker Center! Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is an absolutely gorgeous choice for a stay in Harrisburg, it looks new, but I know it's not. But it was my first time there, and I was overly impressed. One big plus was the second floor hallway was carpeted wall to wall, and you could not hear people walking by--the corridor looked to be half a block long, this place is big, like 115 rooms, and they are busy, so reservations are needed. An added pleasure was a good view of the Susquehanna River going by. The swimming pool area looked very inviting but I didn't have time. The breakfast room was good size (it would have to be), and lots of selections, including 3 waffle irons, so no waiting. And CLEAN is an understatement for the whole place. I will return. It was also
just a great location for me for the activities I was in Harrisburg for. And Riverfront Park was right there, across the driveway. So convenient for a walk.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a river view (it's only on one side, and choose second floor) . There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Pros -
Nice location on the river with historic train bridge over river that is beautiful and not loud. It is in a historic city area. Those that expect (and prefer) suburban chain locations - this isn't for you. Those who prefer a unique and urban feel will be happy. If your room is facing the river you do have a beautiful view.
Staff very nice all around. Pool area clean. Rooms were clean and the A/C worked extremely well. Shower head very high - important for us tall people. Breakfast pretty good. It's included so don't expect Sunday brunch at the Ritz. 24 hour coffee which was better than most small hotel coffee. Two firm and two soft pillows on each Queen bed - nice touch.
Nice fridge and microwave were appreciated.
No problems with complimentary wifi.
We heard very good things about the associated restaurant.
Cons -
As seems to be the theme - hall carpets are noticeably soiled
Two floors - no elevator to second floor. You will be carrying your gear up steps.
Halls very warm in summer.
Seemed to be pretty thin walls. We could hear neighbors in the morning.
Rooms on the small side - but it is an older property.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you don't want to schlep your gear up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel one night, it was a pleasant stay. At arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant front desk manager. (Ehab) Our room was on the second floor as requested, side view of river. The room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The next morning was very busy in the breakfast area. It was well stocked at all times by breakfast manager Bev. This hotel is located on the riverfront, near to city centre. A short walking time (15 Mins) and you will arrive in city centre where you will find a busy vibrant area for dining or cocktails.

Room Tip: Second floor facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ORIORDANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice hotel and reasonable price.Me and my family stayed here.Our room faced parking lot but it was quiet as well as the hotel itself on the first floor. We walked around it everyday. Downtown and places to eat or drink in walking distance.Park behind the hotel good for kids also has a bbq grill.The swimming pool is right next by the hotel main entrance and the indian restaurant.Cookies in main lobby daily, the kids enjoyed.Also the river is right here and benches available in the river park for sitting enjoying the water, people also fish there.Hospital a minute away and mini malls about 6 mins away in lemoyne pa also super walmart 11 mins away.The staff are nice and friendly. House keeping cleans everyday and are friendly.Nice neighborhood and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

THE GOOD - Staff was very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good. Rooms were nice. Showers were awesome, almost like a massage.
THE BAD - The beds slanted to the middle - great for 1 person per bed , but not so good for 2.
Carpets need cleaned in a bad way. You have to go outside to get to the pool. It is across an alley from the check-in area. Parking was at a premium. With 2 or 3 busloads in the parking lot, there was almost no room for any cars.
THE UGLY - After dark there were people hanging out, drinking and breaking beer bottles near the hotel. Also, to get to the hotel you have to navigate 4-5 one way streets. One of these lets you out onto a heavily traveled road with speeding cars. Good Luck!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor near to the check-in. This puts you close to the work-out room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrisburg-Hershey
0.5 mi away
Hilton Harrisburg
Hilton Harrisburg
#7 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
2.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#14 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
#26 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#33 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Riverfront

Property: Comfort Inn Riverfront
Address: 525 S Front St, Harrisburg, PA 17104-1625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the beautiful Susquehanna River in downtown Harrisburg, the Comfort Inn Riverfront is easily accessible to I-81, I-83, PA Turnpike(76) and Routes 322, 581 and 11/15. The hotel is walking distance to Harrisburg's Restaurant Row, Capitol Complex, City Island and the Whitaker Center. The hotel is 10 minutes to Hershey, 15 minutes to Carlisle and 30 minutes to Lancaster and Gettysburg. Amenities include a full hot breakfast buffet, free parking, use of our business center, fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool. In addition all rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and free high speed internet access. The hotel is all interior corridor with a restaurant and guest laundry on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Riverfront Hotel Harrisburg
Riverfront Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing