We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights this past weekend as part of a group for a baseball tournament. As I observed the hotel lobby, hallways, elevators, and ultimately my suite, I wondered how Best Western defined "Premier". According to the Best Western website, only if one of their hotels achieves a minimum AAA 3-diamond rating can BW tack on the "Premier" label.

The AAA website states "<3-diamond rated hotels> appeal to the traveler with comprehensive needs. Properties are multifaceted with a distinguished style, including marked upgrades in the quality of physical attributes, amenities, and level of comfort provided."

Now armed with the ratings scale and requirements, I can say that the Best Western Premier - The Central Hotel & Conference Center might actually meet the 3-diamond/Premier rating, but not by much.

Upgrades in quality of physical attributes? The hotel was worn, the windows in our suite provided no barrier from the indoor pool noise or chlorine smell, and the "upgraded" bathroom did not include quality workmanship or finishings. The thermostat was in our bedroom, but the other area of the family suite was much colder than our bedroom. I can't even imagine how expensive it is to furnish a hotel as large as this one, but the furniture/headboard, etc... all appeared to be a wood veneer that had seen better days.

I won't say don't stay at this location, just don't expect a huge improvement over a traditional Best Western, except in terms of price and a few additional computers, candy bar, conference rooms, and expensive on-site restaurant. All external to your hotel room.

Room Tip: If you want to fall asleep before 10 p.m., please ask for a room that does NOT have a window facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redheadmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Senior TripAdvisor Contributor,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your most recent experiences with us while participating in a local baseball tournament. We value our guests’ feedback, and appreciate your constructive observations regarding your experiences. Our team is committed to providing each guest with Premier accommodations, and although we did not exceed your expectations, I am confident we will utilize your remarks for the betterment of the Central Hotel.

I also appreciate the time you have taken to personally, and privately review your experiences in more detail. It was a pleasure speaking with you, and as I mentioned during our conversation, we are diligently working with the appropriate professionals to address the thermostat, and window concerns which you have mentioned.

We thank you for your loyalty to the Best Western Brand. As discussed, we have provided you with added Best Western Rewards points in appreciation of your suggestions for continued improvement at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. We certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back during future visits to the Harrisburg, Hershey Region.

Kind Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

My daughter's soccer team stayed here for a tournament. They gave us a very reasonable rate and the team was able to stay in the same area of the hotel. The hotel was very nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the staff was great. The restaurant/lounge was very yummy and reasonably priced. Overall it was a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location and the hotel had everything to make my stay comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable! I had dinner at the Pub and was very happy with the meal. Room Service breakfast was not as impressive as the food was overcooked/soggy. I will stay there again for my next business trip but will skip room service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Klaryce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Premier Experiences with us at the Central Hotel! Our team is committed to providing well maintained, comfortable accommodations to all who choose to stay with us at the Central. We thank you for your comments concerning the less than perfect room service experience, and will be certain to work towards improvement in that area. We look forward to continuing to provide you, and your colleagues, with Premier Experiences. Thank you again for sharing your observations, and for choosing to Stay with People Who Care!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine, CHA
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We came for the Foord Nationals 2014 - had a great suite and friendly staff
Loved the place - absolutely the best value - felt like royalty.
The parking lot was spacious and we felt safe in leaving our mustang. Would definitely
book for next year.

Room Tip: rooms facing the lobby are quieter - or the front parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed out stay at the Best Western in Harrisburg, PA. Clean comfortable rooms. The lobby areas and restaurant nice relaxing atmosphere. Location perfect for traveling about. Will definitely stay here again in the future. Thanks again Pete

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Group rate, worth the extra drive to avoid the traffic by going in the back way via Rt 81 to 944 to 34. Restaurants are less crowded plus has a pub attached to hotel. Plenty of room for safe parking. About 25 minute drive, compared to bumper to bumper traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank AmherstKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was by far, the cleanest and friendly hotel we have been to so far. We would definitely go again! Our kids enjoyed the comfortable bed as well as the warm indoor pool. We were visiting Hershey Park Chocolate Factory and stayed here. The price also was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Valued Central Guest,

It is a pleasure to read of your most recent experiences with us while visiting nearby Hershey Park and the chocolate factory! We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the heated indoor pool following your day in Hershey! Our family friendly, full service amenities paired with personalized service and ultra clean accommodations undoubtedly provide our guests with an exceptional value while visiting the area. We thank you for sharing your comments, and wish you and your family an enjoyable summer!

Kind Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine, CHA
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#13 of 50 in Harrisburg
434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
7.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 800 E Park Dr, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range: £71 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel you are sure to experience ultra clean, comfortable guest room accommodations certain to exceed your expectations. We are confident we will provide a memorable overnight experience through friendly, personalized service paired with a distinct style, and plush guest room amenities sure to please. O’Reilly’s Tap Room & Kitchen, our on-site full service restaurant, offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily, and features fresh local favorites, as well as classic Irish specialties. All of our guest room accommodations include: 42-inch flat-screen television complete with HD service, Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, and Microwave, IHome clock radio and docking station, Iron/Ironing Board, In room Safe, Complimentary Bottled Water, and full use of all hotel amenities including Heated Indoor Pool, Fitness Center, Guest Laundry, Dry Cleaning Service, Extensive Business Center, and Sundries Shop.Our location is convenient to both I-81, and I-83, just east of Harrisburg, and west of Hershey. Our proximity to the Harrisburg International Airport, and Harrisburg’s Train and Bus Station, paired with complimentary shuttle service to each, make The Central Hotel a perfect venue for overnight guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Four Points
Harrisburg Sheraton
Four Points Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing