We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Shore Lodging

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hawley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
East Shore Lodging
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Lafayette. NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I was looking for a place to get some rest for a few days and do some hiking after a busy few months. The owner gave me Room #1, with a beautiful view of the lake. Some traffic noise but it died down at night.

Room was very clean and nicely decorated. Fridge, microwave, and wifi were nice to have. Breakfast area was cozy and friendly. Many local restaurants offered discounts if you showed your room key.

This is a great place at a very reasonable price. It will take you back to a time when people were more friendly and life moved a little slower. I highly recommend and will be going back when I need another break!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RF1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastShoreLodging, Owner at East Shore Lodging, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Thank you for staying with us at East Shore Lodging! We are happy to hear that we were an "excellent choice" and you liked Room 1, the view, amenities in the room and breakfast. The Room Key Program with the restaurant discounts is always a guest favorite and glad you were able to use it. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here in the Fall and were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations. The room was so spacious and extremely clean! It was a great thing to have breakfast on site. The owner was very nice and very helpful with any questions we had. We will be back this Spring. Great value!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank july
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastShoreLodging, Owner at East Shore Lodging, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to hear you liked the spacious/clean room and breakfast. We were happy to help with questions and look forward to seeing you on a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and our two kids stayed in Room 10 (Hemingway suite with two Queen beds). We were pleasantly surprised to find a rather spacious room! There was plenty of space between the two queen beds, a small sofa, a small sitting area when you first walk in the door, along with a table with two dining chairs). We only paid $99 per night for this room so, to be perfectly honest, we didn't expect much.

The room was very clean when we arrived, with no problems to report. There are two thermostats (one in the general room and one in the bathroom), allowing us to control the temperature in the suite. This was a great feature for me. I truly dislike stepping out into a cold bathroom after a shower. The simple option of adjusting the the temperature for sleeping was a nice bonus too.

The cable TV was great for the kids. There is also a small refrigerator and a microwave. This is a great touch for a family with children. Although we only stayed two nights, we were able to store our snacks and drinks to avoid going back and forth to the store.

While not ultra-modern, the room appeared to be recently renovated or redecorated. The carpet seemed relatively new (or recently cleaned...not just vacuumed); the paint is a soothing color and appeared to be painted within the last year or so. I believe the bathroom was redone within the last couple of years and the decor was very nice - from the tile to the wood finishing of the cabinets and mirror. Keep in mind, though, that there is no bathtub...but the shower is spacious with seating for those who require that feature.

There is a small gift shop with some nice looking items. We did not shop there, though. Also, breakfast is offered daily from 7:30-10:30. I peeked in and saw muffins and bagels, and I smelled coffee. We decided to eat elsewhere since our children wanted pancakes but it is nice to have the option of grabbing a muffin and a cup of coffee on your way out.

The only feature of this place that I rate less than a 5 is "location". This should not discourage potential travelers from checking out East Shore Lodging. The trouble is that there is not a wide variety of shops, restaurants and activities in the area (or Hawley, for that matter). If you are willing to drive 20-30 minutes, however, you can find movies, bowling and restaurants. I suspect this may be different if you stay in the summer or fall seasons.

Should we ever return to Hawley, we will definitely stay at East Shore Lodging.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastShoreLodging, Owner at East Shore Lodging, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Thank you for the thorough and excellent review! We enjoy hearing how guests interact with the room and what they like about the amenities. We hope you are able to visit the area in the Summer too. There are many outdoor activities to keep the entire family active. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

What a nice place! The staff was so friendly! We had the room #1(closest to the road) so you could hear the few cars going by at night/early morning, but it was no big deal. The room was very spacious. Fridge & microwave was included..also cable & wifi. Cute little breakfast area to eat in. Lake Wallenpaupack is right across the street from the lodge. We had a ski package for Ski Big Bear and it worked out great! About a 25 min drive to the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyce72487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastShoreLodging, Owner at East Shore Lodging, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and skiing at Ski Big Bear! It is a wonderful mountain and not too far away. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit to the Pocono Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We enjoyed an overnight stay at East Shore Lodging on Jan.16,2012, while visiting relatives in the area. Room was clean and spacious. Very nicely decorated. It was exactly as pictured which is a rarity in and of itself in the hotel/motel industry. Staff at check-in was very nice. Room comes with a continental breakfast but we were unable to partake of it, as we had to be back on the road at 7 am. Only downside is that there is no one in office after 9pm. All in all a wonderful time though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastShoreLodging, Owner at East Shore Lodging, responded to this review, 30 December 2015
Thank you for staying with us and glad we could be the hotel of choice when visiting family. Happy to hear you enjoyed the room and it was what was pictured on our website when you booked your stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed in the King Suite for two nights. It was huge! It has it's own entrance around the back of the building with a deck has a table and chairs. The main windows look out over the lake which was beautiful at sunset. The couches were comfortable and they even had books and magazines to read in the room. There is a flat screen tv in the living room area and a very large tv the bedroom too. The bed was a little firm for my taste but that's just my personal opinion. The bathroom has a large stall shower but the bathroom was a little on the small side. Everything was clean and tidy when we got there and the room was cleaned while we were out for a walk on Saturday. The toiletries were nice and I love how they donate the used soap. All the paper goods are made from recycled paper and they also have solar panes that help to power the building. The breakfast in the morning was your typical continental breakfast with pastries, english muffins, bagels, cereal and coffee and juice. We went to the Hawley diner for a more substantial breakfast which was great. We got the "Relax and Recharge" package which was a nice treat. The massage at Utopia was fantastic and we chose to go to Ehrhart's for dinner with our gift certificate. Greshams' next door was also delicious. The walkway by the lake was really nice. You can just cross the road and it's right there. You can walk quite far and it's not strenuous at all. All in all this was a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petitefleur816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastShoreLodging, Owner at East Shore Lodging, responded to this review, 3 January 2016
Thank you for staying with us in Room 11! So glad you liked the Relax & Recharge package. It is a popular choice for our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the restaurants and walking trail. We hope you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We just spent a beautiful weekend at East Shore Lodging. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked into our room. The room was huge! Most important the room was very clean and spotless.

We had room #9. It had a queen bed, mini fridge, microwave and roomy bath. The room was decorated like a bedroom would be. It had two full size dresses and one of them with a mirror. There also was a comfy chair with a small table with a lamp on it in the far corner of the room. They had some magazines out on the table. The room also had a table and chairs. The bath had a nice shower only no tub. There is a nice "red" heat lamp in the shower area. The toilet and sink area is in a separate area across from the shower that once looks like it had a door to it. It would have been nice if they kept the door on to the toilet and sink area as the mirror fogged when shower was on and there was no exhaust fan.

The shower started off well until I lost water pressure to a trinkle and had a difficult time getting the shampoo out of my hair. However, the water temperature was good. The queen bed was not that comfortable. It made a creaking noise every time you moved on it. The pillows were good though. The bed also had a nice comfort set on it. It also had a nice velour blanket and your sheet.

It would also be nice if they could doing something with the blinds in the room. We like to sleep in a "dark" room at night. The lighting from outside made this impossible. It was also so nice to have a ceiling fan in the room. That was a great addition to the room.

The continental breakfast was nice. Nothing major, just some bagels, muffins, cakes, and cereal. They also had juice and coffee.

The Lodge was a great place to stay. Clean and quite! We would definitely stay here again if were in the area again. We would also highly recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastshorelodging, Owner at East Shore Lodging, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you liked the size of the room and cleanliness of our establishment! We've recently remodeled the room you stayed in and referenced. In addition, we now have a second well system so the lost water pressure shouldn't be too much of an issue. The bed has also been replaced. We would love to see you again during a future stay to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
0.1 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
1.8 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Settlers Inn
Settlers Inn
#1 of 4 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lake Mocatek Inn
Lake Mocatek Inn
#2 of 2 in Lakeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Shore Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Shore Lodging

Property: East Shore Lodging
Address: 2487 Route 6, Hawley, PA 18428-6078
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hawley
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Shore Lodging is a family run lodge style motel that offers guests spacious rooms in a relaxing atmosphere. Set across the street from Lake Wallenpaupack, East Shore Lodging is steps away from the Lake and a 1.5 mile walking trail, beach, visitors center, boat slips and Observation Dike. The guest rooms and suites are spacious and different than your average "hotel" room. They all are uniquely decorated, have microwaves, refrigerators, private bathrooms, iron/ironing boards, hairdryers, cable television and continental breakfast. After years of working and living in and around NYC, Bridget & Steve came home and took over the business from Bridget's parents, Skip & Marlene. You will find all four running the business throughout your stay. The property includes an on-site tour boat, gift shop and boat retnals. Wallenpaupack Scenic Boat Tour leaves from across the street and operates May through mid-October. During your stay visit the onsite gift shop that has wonderful gifts and souvenirs, take a boat ride or rent a boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Shore Lodging Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing