We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old-world Candy store”

Penny Lane Candies and Snack Shack
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Hawley
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hot dog stand is open seasonally from the beginning of May thru Labor Day weekend. Please call for hours of operation after Labor day.
Valley Cottage, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old-world Candy store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Reminds me of what old-time candy stores would have looked like. We've been here multiple times and always have a fun time filling our candy bags and checking out the funny greeting cards they have. A pretty wide selection of candy for a small shop. The owner is always sweet and genuinely cares about her business. The only down side is the multiple times that we've been unable to have our favorite candies! There are a few that seem to sell out faster than can be put on the shelf, wish they would order extra so the bins can be kept full! We would buy even more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbananna89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
301 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Candy Shop with hard to find favorites and decorative gift items!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Penny Lane Candies is a step back in time with some favorites of the past and a nostalgic feel. Many nice decorative items and gifts for the home. Tin Signs and other collectibles like music boxes. Friendly and helpful staff. Great selection on candy and some really charming gift items.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We love visiting this candy shop when we are in town. There is a great selection of candy to chose from. We are able to find candy that we enjoyed in our youth as well as delicious treats from today. The shop owner always greets us with a friendly hello and is more than willing to help. There are also cute things to purchase to decorate your home or to purchase as souvenir

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Neat little candy shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We didn't eat here but we went twice to buy candy. They have alot of candy you can't get anywhere else or didn't even know it still existed. It was really cool to look around in all the bins to see what was there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum all that candy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I did not eat at Penny Lane snack shack but the menu look very good and had a lost of choices that I had never heard of. I went for the candy and it did not disappoint, There were bins of all kinds of candy from jellies of every flavor, lots of chocolate, jelly belly beans, I mostly got the jellies so they would not melt on way home. I love chocolate but I knew it would melt since it was 99 degrees outside. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindiloo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penny Lane Candies and Snack Shack also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Penny Lane Candies and Snack Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing