We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greshams Lake View Motel

Greshams Lake View Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greshams Lake View Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed at Greshams and had an amazing stay!
The view of the lake is breathtaking!
The rooms are cozy and spotless:)
Had the best night sleep...
Also, they right next to Gresham's Chophouse.
The food was delicious and the hospitality impeccable!
I def recommend staying at Greshams:)
Happy Holidays!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great! The view of the lake is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
14
19
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We like this hotel a lot! Everytime my husband and I come to PA, we stay at this hotel only!! Its run by very nice people who welcome us at any time we arrive - day or night! We will be back again during the holidays...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This motel is unsafe for children with scalding hot water and uncovered outlets with exposed wiring.

Towels were unusable ---thin, old and small.. The ragged white ones with the blue stripe from the YMCA of your youth. There were no hand towels. Just washcloths and the small body towels.

The shower was missing a normal shower head with just minimal spray of water alternating scalding water into stall. We did not let our kids shower here for fear of being burned.

Cleaning cart outside rooms did not have clean blankets on it so I assume only the sheets are being changed. Can't even think about the germs and such that were on the blankets. No bed spreads are used here.

I'm a fit healthy person who can rough it with the best of them. But the bed was so uncomfortable that I am in pain today. We woke throughout the nite. Felt the springs in the bed. The chiropractor appt. should be covered in the hotel fee.

Bathroom door doesn't close while you are using the facilties. Must enter and squeeze in and then close the door. We are thin people and can imagine it would be an even greater hardship for heaver people. My kids thought it was a riot to sit on the toilet and not be able to close the door.

It is rundown and not safe with regular keys used on locks that could be copied by last tenant. This is a huge safety issue.

The only positive? It's just a walk across the street to the lake. So the location is great. Sadly that's all that is positive.

Manager on duty looked like she was working hard, doing check in and cleaning rooms. But I wouldn't stay anywhere like this to be close to a lake or to anything. Ruined the experience since we were not at all comfortable.

I give it one star only because the actual room was not dirty. The older carpet looked like it had been vacuumed and sink had been wiped down.

Stay somewhere else. Trust me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Docdarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gresham4621, Owner at Greshams Lake View Motel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
This is the first and probably the last review i will respond to. I have hundreds and hundreds of people stay at my motel over the years and only a few have made the comment ssimilar to Sept 29, 2013. I can usually pick them out. They are mad because there isd a two night minimum.....they had to pay extra for an additional person they never mentioned, or they got charged for a late departure. The story can go on and on. My Motel is not the Waldorf but then again you are not paying for the Walforf. My rooms are clean, with a view of the lake though somewhat blocked by overgrowth at times, but nonetheless, clean. I just purchased new mattresses in June for all 21 rooms and we do the best for the price you pay. I urge anyone who looks at these reviews to look at the pictures of my rooms on our website....if what you see is "yuk".......then its yuk. If you see otherwise, come and visit us....if you dislike what you see, you will not be held to your reservation. As an owner, I am sick and tired of the very few affecting the lives of many, not only from a business standpoint, but on a national level as well. Remove the nastyness whoever you are... Sincerely, Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hawley hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great place, great people. We spent the night in the Lake View Motel with my boyfriend this spring, we were looking for a place 2 stay 4 a couple of hours and we couldn`t find anything better. Very nice people which have welcomed us in the middle of the night, large, clean room for a very good price and a great bar close by owned by the same family. We truly recommend it :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We ended up at Greshams after a bad house rental experience. We were surprised that we were able to get a room on a holiday weekend. The staff was helpful and courteous. The rooms are VERY clean and very affordable. The beds were very comfortable. There is a nice place to sit outside your room facing the lake. They also provide a small fridge and there is either a gas bbq or charcoal bbq and picnic tables out the back for guests to use as well. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Luvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We spent an amazing 4th of July week at the lake. The hotel is very clean, no mold or mildew, it just needs a little updating. It is a great location the view was great, fireworks right from my balcony, no hassles with traffic or the crowd of people. Your not going to find the ritz here but people were friendly and room was clean. More important than modern. We are annual visitors to the lake and Greshams is a standard.

Room Tip: Call early for prime weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hancaviz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

With the location of this hotel you kind of get your hopes up that you'll have wonderful experience. This is not the case AT ALL!! Where do I begin? When you walk in everything seems nice but upon further review it is clear you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. The beds are an OLD mattress that isn't even on a box spring or bed frame, the mattress is set on top of a piece of plywood, very hard and extremely uncomfortable! The "table" that the refrigerator is sitting on is a piece of cheap summer furniture that they attempt to dress up by throwing a piece of cloth over. The bathroom floor tiles were loose and came apart when you walked on them and the shower head was nothing more then the pipe coming out of the wall! For $85 a night in a small town like this I expect more from a family owned business!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randomtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
12.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
4.4 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
5.7 mi away
Lake Mocatek Inn
Lake Mocatek Inn
#2 of 2 in Lakeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
6.8 mi away
Woodloch Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greshams Lake View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greshams Lake View Motel

Property: Greshams Lake View Motel
Address: 2499 Route 6, Hawley, PA 18428-7005
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Greshams Lake View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1952, all rooms have a lake view featuring A/C, cable TV, free phones anywhere in the country, free WI-FI. We have our own restaurant and lounge on site with live entertainment every Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Greshams Lake View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing