We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cora's is a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cora's 1850 Bistro

Cora's 1850 Bistro
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Hawley
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Cora's is a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Located in Historic Hawley, Cora's is a relaxed Bistro with some great deal on exceptional food. My Dad had the Fried Oysters with French Fries and I had the Shrimp Cocktail, we ordered our traditional Virgin Marys which are spicy and delicious. The Bar is cozy and friendly, the owner was there speaking with neighbors and the bartender is gracious and helpful. Very accessible for the handicapped as they have a ramp, and the internet jukebox is available if you have a song in mind you've been wanting to hear. The food is always good, you can have fancy or down-home meals, the menu is expansive without being expensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    43
    16
    6
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best wings and cheesesteak in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

Best wings and cheesesteak on town daily specials never disappointing crave multiple dozens weekly friendly atmosphere dollar bungling drafts on Mondays all around my favorite place on town

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joedanbob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband, son and I wanted to try something this restaurant for sometime since there always seem to be a lot of cars in the area, so we tried it out on a Sat night. The restaurant has a connecting bar and a small room with about 10 tables. The atmosphere is casual, the room has just enough for 10 tables. It has a pretty extensive menu with a children's menu as well. We ordered French Onion Soup which was very good, but then the dinner was nothing to brag about. My husband ordered steak, which was very veiny, tender but not pleasant to eat. I ordered a burger with an abundance of fries, which were extremely salty that I was drinking water the entire night afterwards. My son order a cup of pumpkin bisque that he felt was watered down, not enough flavor and a Philly steak meal that was nothing compared to what you get when in Philly. We did not have dessert. The atmosphere was dark, mood lighting ? The service was fine, good value for what we ordered but the food was not what we had hoped for. Not so sure if we would give this place another chance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMPnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honesdale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner at the old Eddy Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

My wife and my birthday's are only two days apart but fell on a weekend this year, so we decided to eat dinner this past Monday evening. We booked a table at Cora's figuring it would not be crowded on Columbus Day, but we were mistaken - it was Wind night! The place was hopping and the food and atmosphere were great. We had a fine dinner with great, personable service and will certain continue to be regular (monthly) customers. This is a nice place to go in the Lake Wallenpaupack Area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Small older place, nothing fancy. Waitress was very friendly and attentive. Happened to be there on a wednesday night when they had all you can eat steak and alaskan king crab legs. Steak was ok but the crab legs were very good. We were surprised the waitress kept asking us if we wanted more since a lot of time places that offer all you can eat tend to wait for you to request more. overall a good meal and a nice time

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffNEPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cora's 1850 Bistro also viewed

Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
Hawley, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Cora's 1850 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing