We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 April 2012

my mom was one of first guests in 1958-a lot of our family has moved to colorado, about 5hr. planeride away, when asked if she could spend her 100th birthday anywhere, she picked woodloch pines.-still fabulous food, amazing bonding family time, making friends with other families, something for all ages-our kids would pick going to woodloch over a cruise- they keep making improvements and all staff caters to everyone with amazing detail- not many resorts can keep 100 yr. olds happy and teens and 2 yr olds!! you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: houses in the springs are great for families- if you want best value timberline and gateway are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

ellen p – Wow, congratulations are due to your mother! 100 is an amazing milestone, and we are delighted to see she chose Woodloch out of all the places she could have to spend this memorable occasion. We are happy that we were able to provide a great experience for the whole family. On behalf of the entire Woodloch Family, please wish your mother yet another HAPPY BIRTHDAY! We look forward to seeing you next year for number 101!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our family of 7 (2 adults and 5 children ages 9 and under) traveled to Woodloch in early March 2012. We stayed in one of the Southwoods homes (#100). The house was fabulous and in pristine condition. All the amenities a big family needs were included.

We also had special dietary requirements (gluten-free) and each and every request was met. We planned the gluten-free menus prior to our arrival - there was a huge gluten-free selection for our meals. And they were tasty too! Jaime (the person that helped us out with the menus) is a real asset to the Woodloch organization. Our server was superb as well.

There were lots of activities to satisfy all age groups but it seemed that my kids preferred the indoor pool the most! We had such a nice, relaxing vacation - we will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Tosca3 – The Southwoods homes are an excellent option for families looking to stay in a full-size home while retaining the all-inclusive aspect of the resort, and we are glad to see your family took advantage of that. We appreciate your kind feedback on Jamie and your experience with dietary restrictions; Jamie and the rest of Dining Room team do their absolute best to make sure every guest is accommodated and that we have many options available, no matter what the dietary restriction might be. We hope that you will return the next time you need some time to relax!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

At Woodloch there are lots of activities and shows that are all family-friendly. The facilities are top of the line. Maybe not so good for older kids, food is fairly good considering the fact that they are serving hundreds of people. When we arrived my family had lots of issues, the manages and the owners (The Kisendahl Family) were helpful and compensated us well.

Room Tip: Choose a Suite in Springbrook or Mount Laurel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationsusaworld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

vacationsusaworld123 – Thank you very much for your review. We're glad everything was sorted out satisfactorily with whatever issues you may have had. You bring up a great point, for any guests staying at Woodloch, if something is not to you liking, please tell us, it is out goal to make sure everyone's vacation experience is pleasant and memorable!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The things that stand out for me about Woodloch are the amazing service and staff, the range of activity options, how easy they make it all feel, and how much my kids want to go back (preferably with their grandparents, cousins, etc.). Oh and the pretty location. This was our first trip. It was just me and my 2 daughters this time during their spring break -- 2 nights/3 days. Let's start with the service -- These people, each and every one of them, completely professional, helpful, friendly, considerate, respectful -- amazing. It did not matter who you saw or what you were doing -- they all hands down get 5 stars for their level of service. The restaurant staff, boat guys (so nice and helpful!), rock wall guy (joe), the folks who run the show (always seemed available, friendly), front desk, shuttle drivers, cleaning ladies, you get it. (and my daughters kept gushing about "samantha who was so sweet and pretty" -- i think that's the lady that brought the special drinks in the restaurant.) And they seem to know how to run large activities with hundreds of strangers better than you'd imagine (how on earth they ran a fun cupcake wars with about 275 people is beyond me -- but it was fun and didn't feel overwhelming even with that size group ... and we got to know some other nice people in our group). Now onto the activities -- I do think that saying that this is like a cruise on land is a good way to put it. We did a TON of activities in just three days -- nothing felt overdone, nothing was a long wait (longest wait was at the go karts which was about 30 minutes. otherwise, pretty much zero waiting). We only participated in a few of the organized group actitvities. Those all seemed extremely well managed and fun. When we saw other people doing other things they seemed to have a blast (Amazing race, in it to win it, golf for the little ones). We also went to the indoor pool (was nice, pool temperature was just right, very pretty at twilight b/c there are huge windows/view). I won't bother listing out everything we tried, but it's a big list because everything is pretty manageable -- close by, many shorter activities (mini-golf, bocce, their boat tour, petting zoo, things like that). And then there are some that you could take your time with (paddle boat, bike ride, pool, indoor forest, etc.). It's all pretty easy to do -- family friendly. They offer so much. Anything that was on their web site list was available to try. I wish I could have done more but time ran out. Also, as other people have said this place is more kitchy campy fun. This is not an uptight resort. And while they do offer babysitting, it's not a drop the kids off at the kids club for a week while you do your own thing. This is a great place to reconnect with your family. One thing that amazed me is that it really was meant for all ages. There were also a number of large families. That was cute too. Here were my negatives -- agree with others about the food being a hit or miss. I did the 'american plan' and stayed in the greenbriar section wanting to keep things easy. It was fine, but yes there were some things that I would have skipped. And yes, they have set times to go. That was fine with me because they manage things very well. I never felt rushed. And frankly, if you don't want to eat at that time then there are other options (where you'd pay then, but the prices were reasonable -- you will not starve). Smaller glitches -- wifi in room went out a bit (i was doing work emails that i needed to get out and while i could then run down to the lobby to get the connection, it was inconvenient and i left the kids in the room.), some games in the game room didn't work (i didn't bother complaining at the front desk but ran into the ladies that fix the games on the last day and they were working on it) -- and that was about it for the negatives. In general the last place I want to go is on a cruise. Or to a crowded resort. But I felt that Woodloch had ways to let you choose if you want to be with the crowds or give you the space to do your own things. For example, there were show options at night. Not my thing, though there were a lot of people who seemed into it. So my girls and I would go to the pool -- no crowds, got out that last bit of energy at the end of the day, and for some reason my kids loved taking the shuttle back (not a far walk if you prefer to). Our room was fine/nice. I had a good deal and wondered how good the "lake view" would be -- ended up being really nice with a good size balcony. This place is NOT the Ritz. They aren't trying to be. They are a fun, campy, family friendly place. From the people I spoke with who rented a house/cabin, they all sounded happy with those too. I think you could choose which you prefer -- the convenience of being on their main campus or the space of a cabin. Our final words from my 8 year old daughter who just said, "It's a fun and awesome place and you should definitely go."

Room Tip: Tips -- if you stay in the hotel, bring some drinks for when you are back at your room. Read the web...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TJ_travels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

TJ_travels24 – Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an in-depth review! As it was your first time with us, we hope we met and exceeded any expectations you had. It sounds like you were able to reconnect with your two daughters and have a lot of fun in the process. Our staff is our number one asset and they always strive to treat each and every guest as if they were in their own home. Also, if anything is ever amiss with your stay, please do not hesitate to let us know as soon as possible – we want your experience to be perfect in every way and the sooner we can correct something the better. We hope to see you again in the very near future, and the more the merrier!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Everyone who heard we were going to Woodloch told us how much we would love it. I was worried about being disappointed after hearing so much hype from family & friends, but it was not long after we arrived that we felt quite at home. You realize pretty quickly that the owners and the staff understand that the guests happiness/enjoyment is their top priority. When we first arrived, we were a little lost, and one of the staff who was walking by us, recognized this & without our asking, came over to talk to us and get us oriented. The comparison I heard of Woodloch being similiar to a cruise vacation but remain on land for most of the time is pretty good. There was so much to do, I am sorry we were there for only three days, wish I had booked for 4-5 days instead. But because this was our first visit, and I was traveling alone with three kids( ages 5-13), I wanted to play it safe. After a unanimous group vote, the four of us agreed we would definitely come back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

tarajoan – We appreciate the opportunity to share our hospitality with you! We are happy to see you “believed the hype” and decided to try us out. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We recently returned from Woodlock Pines with great memories. We had fun. And didn't expect to. We thought it would be a place to relax and not worry about where to go to get a good meal on a gluten free, dairy free diet. They surprised us! You can relax if you choose. There's a beautiful lake and lounge chairs for taking in the view and fresh air. But there are: paddleboats, rowboats, pontoons, walking paths, shuffleboard, olympics, whistle ball, zombie bowling (the 60 + group won that one), go karts, of course, swimming and so so much more! The only time we spent in our room (which was immaculate) was to change and sleep. Oh, and the staff in the dining room were great. They took went to great lengths to ensure our meals were safe and even prepared specialty dishes, just for the asking!

Room Tip: All rooms have great access to the dining hall and actiivities, if you prefer you can take the jitne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanGP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

SusanGP_10 – Just as you stated, Woodloch offers something for everyone, no matter what the age! We are pleased to see that your dietary restrictions were satisfied and that you were able to enjoy all aspects of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Yes, yes. Lots to do for the kids. Great activities all the time. Very family oriented. If I were a kid, this place gets a 5. But it loses a bit for adults because the food is hit or miss. Also, the grounds are very spread out and you have to walk a lot to get from one activity to the next...good luck if it's raining or if you are a senior. Another example, if you are not staying in the building with the pool, you are walking outside. I would think winter stays make for a tough swim.

All that being said, the kids had fun and that's why we came. Our wait-staff (Leandra, Cindy, Cindy) were more than great. For that matter, the entire staff was welcoming and friendly. Thanks to all.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank 2kils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Manager at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us, 2kils. While we are glad to hear that your children had a great time, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not as fulfilling. We strive to provide many activities and dining options for guests of all ages. Although our grounds are spread out, we do offer buses that run throughout the property at very frequent intervals.

Additionally, if you would like to speak to a member of our management team, please do not hesitate to email woodmark at woodloch dot com. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Woodloch another time.

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Sincerely,

The Woodloch Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
6.9 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
682 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,225 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,642 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hawley
#1 Green Hotel in Hawley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
Price Range: £270 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing