We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect Family Vacation”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Woodloch is the absolute perfect place for a family vacation. We spent 5 magical days there with our two children ages 5 and 7. We started planning our return trip before the end of the first day. The staff is incredible. Friendly, accommodating and professional. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous and everything is clean and in good condition. The food was plentiful and very good. Each meal starts with a character outside the dining room (Cinderella, Spider-Man, etc.) which the kids loved.

The multiple indoor/outdoor pools were great and the kids spent hours playing in them. We loved the go karts, bumper cars, batting cages, mini golf, indoor/outdoor playgrounds, arcades and all of the boating options on the lake. We had a great time participating in the Family Olympics, Name That Tune, the Wiffleball Contest, etc. The nightly entertainment and family movies were fantastic.

Our room at the Spring Brook was perfect. A bedroom with 2 Queen beds and a separate living room and patio. And most importantly, TWO bathrooms. We could put the kids to bed, close the accordion door and hang out in the living room. I cannot recommend Woodloch more highly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigapplemama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Bigapplemomma1,

Thank you so much your feedback of our stay with us. We so appreciate every kind word that you said.

We thank you and your family for choosing us as a vacation destination and it really humbles us knowing that you were planning your return trip before you even left. We want our guests to have a trip in which memories will be made and shared for years to come. Thank you for letting us be a part of that here at Woodloch.

Thanks again, we look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    193
    56
    29
    10
See reviews for
1,031
82
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have been going to Woodloch since 1969 and always had a great experience but this weekend exceeded our expectations. Our group of family and friends ranged in age from 13 to 83 and there were several first time visitors. Our accommodations included Timberline, Greebriar, Springbrook, and South Woods. Everyone was extremely happy with the entire weekend remarking on the beautiful property, delicious food, included activities and the quality of the theme night show. The 80s party after the always popular horse racing was a big hit too. The 9 teenagers in our group were always busy and took part in more activities than I thought possible. The staff was wonderful as always. A special thanks to Chris Bower who handled everyone's reservations and made us feel like guests at our own party. No stress...just fun. Looking forward to our next visit in October.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dee P.,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us about Woodloch Pines and we are so pleased to hear that we have remained your vacation destination for over 40 years. That’s truly amazing and we are so thankful to have been a part of your family’s lives for as long as we have been.
It is great to hear that everyone was extremely happy with the entire weekend! Like you said “No stress, just fun,” that is exactly what we strive for here at Woodloch.
We are looking forward to see you again in October.
Sincerely,
Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavallette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This family owned all inclusive resort is (insert a string of superlatives.)
The Kiesendahl family is genuinely happy to see you whether it is your first visit or your fortieth.
It is cliché to state that there is something for everyone at a vacation destination but, at Woodloch, this is definitely the case. There's good reason this resort is so popular as a family reunion venue. No one in your party will be disappointed. The Kiesendahls have checked all of the boxes to ensure your vacation will be PERFECT.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
BeachBumBev,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay and memories made at Woodloch Resort.
We instill in our staff that it is crucial to us that every guest of ours here at Woodloch be treated as if they were a guest walking into their own homes. It makes us happy to know that you feel like a member of our family and that’s the way that we intend it to be. We take great pride in being a place in which we offer a little bit of something for everyone.

Thanks again for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Sincerely,
Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just got back from one of our favorite vacation spots and we had a great time as usual. Tons of activities for all ages. The place is always super clean and staff is the best around. this was our second time going during spring/summer and it is now our favorite time of the year to go! we definitely enjoy all the lake activities and the go carts (hoping they put lights at the new track and open them at night! that would be awesome!)

There were a couple things that were kind of annoying this trip...the buses were taking ALOT longer to pick us up than in the past, we waited over 15 minutes once and even called the front desk...and that is no fun with 2 small kids. We noticed they are now picking up/dropping off at houses that are sort of off property which is what i think is adding time the bus routes. Whatever the reason i hope they fix it because it made us late to a couple things, and walking was not an option with the kids!

also, i never really understood why there are NO activities or anything open until 10am! (except the forest). i really wish they would at least open the pools earlier. my kids are up and ready to go for the day at 7am. we were not on a meal plan so we literally sat around till 10/1030 every day. i guess if you do the meal plan its not an issue, but if you are not on a meal plan there is not much of anything going on during meal times.

i recommend this place to families with kids 3 and over, not much to do for the under 3 age range

Room Tip: get a room attached to the pool complex so you dont have to walk around or take a bus in a wet bathi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments with us. Your feedback is the only way we’ll be able to improve our offerings. In regard to the issue you experienced with the shuttle service, the shuttle route heading to the Southwoods units on the Pines property has been in operation for four years. Your extended wait times are very uncharacteristic and we are looking into this further. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused your family.

Our activity schedule is designed to accommodate the American-plan meal times, breakfast time begins at 8:30 along with a character meet and greet. That being said, we understand many families are early risers and we have a need for more variety. This is something we are working on as we speak and the summer schedule will have several 8am activities.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we will work to refine the Woodloch experience.

On Behalf of the Woodloch Family,
Steve Kiesendahl,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I had such a wonderful time at Woodloch once again.

This time I was with a mentoring group and they were able to help and even make special arrangement for us.

The food never ends with every meal being of at least 3 courses of food that would make you very happy.

We stayed for 3 days and 2 night at a excellent group rate. I participated in the about 4 of the many activities that Woodloch has to offer. My group was so busy that I was not able to enjoy the pools but I was able to play Volleyball and ride one of therr bikes on the biking trail.

I hope to go back to Woodloch for the fall season. Remember there is always something new every season.

Feel free to ask any questions

Room Tip: Room closest to the main lobby is better. Woodloch does provide shuttles to an from every building...
See more room tips
Green Features: This company is nothing but the best hospitality that is still around. They really treat you like you are family.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Fee C.,
Thank you for your thoughts of times shared with us here at Woodloch. We are so pleased to hear that your group had a great time had by all.

We take great pride offering activities here at Woodloch that every one of all ages can participate in and each have the same amount of fun!

Thank you for continuing to make Woodloch a destination choice of yours. The fall is a great time to come up to visit us with our beautiful fall foliage and we look forward to possibly seeing you and your family then!
Sincerely,
Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I'll be honest when I say I sort of dreaded this destination when I first heard that it had been chosen for a family holiday to celebrate my sister's 50th anniversary. I was filled with thoughts of kids running everywhere, and nothing to do, etc.etc. Well I am very happy to report I couldn't have been more wrong about Woodloch Pines. We had a fantastic time there and I am very happy to eat my words.

We loved the physicality of the place, situated on a beautiful lake, as much as we appreciated the wholesome family atmosphere promoted by the Kiesendahl family. It was warm and fuzzy and nurturing and there were so many things for the kids to do we barely saw them. And as for me, I enjoyed the Zip Line, and just the relaxed pace of the place. For the adults in your party I can suggest stealing away to the cozy Sports Bar for your pre-dinner cocktail. We enjoyed all the bartenders there as well as all the employees who were all very genuine, and friendly, and helpful.

There's a great chance we'll be returning here for a future reunion. In short, we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lar347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Lar347,

Thank you for your much appreciated feedback. We are so happy to hear that your thoughts and opinions about Woodloch were quickly changed once you arrived. It is great knowing that we exceeding your expectation.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your family were able to unwind and take in the beautiful, majestic scenery of Lake Teedyuskung and everything that Woodloch has to offer you. We instill in our staff to treat every guest here at Woodloch as if they are a guest in their own homes. And it pleases us to hear that you were treated as just that.
We hope to see you back again real soon!
Sincerely,
Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited for our Penn Law LLM 2014 Camping Trip from 12th May - 13th May 2014 in a group of about 26 persons (about 5-6 children) and we had a blast. The place is located about 4 hours drive from Philadelphia and you should have a GPS with you lest you may not reach your destination because 20 minutes prior to reaching the resort involved winding forest country roads.

The place was quaint and quiet and nicely maintained and despite the mild weather in Philadelphia, the Poconos weather was great where it was chilly at night. Our group had a great time with some enjoying the lake pedals, the kayak, while I went for horseback riding somewhere 15 minutes downhill away from the resort. The group dinner later on was nice with plenty dessert options and the kids clearly had a great time tearing the place down. Later at night, we camped (not literally) at the bonfire place on the lawn till 3 am where the weather turned chilly but me and a small nocturnal group chatted and gossiped like no one's business. We brought snacks and drinks. Alcohol is still prohibited to be had outside the premises (probably to encourage people buying from the resort or just their way of enforcing Pennsylvania's laws).

The rooms were nice and nothing much to say about it and the wi-fi speed was decent. There were many ample spaces (for clothes) for long vacations in my room at least. I have to say though the resort needs to have better upkeep with regard to bedbugs because I was bitten on two places. I have no idea why bedbugs is such an issue in an advanced nation such as the US. Some of my friends also had problems with their room cards although this was solved rather smoothly.

We skipped breakfast the next day for lunch as per our agreed package, although the resort was nice enough to provide free lunch for those who actually did opt for the breakfast. Prior to that, some groups enjoyed the go-kart (which was somewhat pathetic) while me and the rest did the rock climbing.

To sum it up, we all had a great time here and for the price we paid, it's a definite place for me to come back if I ever consider dropping by Philadelphia sometime in the future.

Green Features: The hotel did have a water conservation policy on the rooms' towels just like many other hotels / resorts.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodloch, Owner at Woodloch Pines Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Muzzil,

One of Woodloch’s very unique features is that we go to great lengths to try our best and accommodate our groups of all sizes, whether it be a family, a couple, a reunion, and corporate events to name a select few. We provide our guests with a wide variety of activities to choose from so they can spend their getaway however they would like.

We are so happy to know that you and your group had a great time with us here at Woodloch. Thank you for considering us the next time you are back in the Poconos. We look forward to seeing you and your family again.
Sincerely,
Steve Kiesendahl
& The Entire Woodloch Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
6.8 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
21.6 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawley
335 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,568 reviews
17.8 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Property: Woodloch Pines Resort
Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hawley
#1 Family Hotel in Hawley
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing