We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family resort - ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodloch Pines Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This year was our first time at Woodloch. I say that because about 75% of the guests are repeat guests. You would think that we (my wife and 9yr old daughter) would feel like outsiders but that was not the case. The great thing about a Woodloch vacation is the many activities available each day. Many of these are group competitive games (Amazing Race, Scavenger Hunt, Pool Olympics...), for which we had no problem finding teammates (usually teams are about 10 players). Bring your competitive spirit, because people are serious (but good-natured) about winning. We never had a dull moment. Every day there was something fun to do for any age group.

The lake is beautiful. Boats (canoes, kayaks, rowboats, paddle boats, sunfish, plus a ski boat) are available for use, and there is a nice (if a bit small) swimming beach with a good swimming platform out in the deeper water. I didn't bring my fishing gear (I will next time!) but I saw plenty fishing. Kids were catching sunfish off the dock and the Dads were not having too much trouble pulling in bass.

The staff is very friendly, courteous, and ubiquitous. The make a great effort to welcome their guests and make them feel part of the family.

The food here is included in your package, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The food was good if a little uneven. Some nights the dinners were truly special, while others were so-so. There were always enough choices to get something you liked, even the kids. Alcoholic drinks are not included in the package price. I usually have a glass of wine with dinner, but I found the coordination between the bar staff and food staff (which are different) lacking, so that when I ordered wine to go with my food, it often did not arrive in a timely fashion. I ended up foregoing wine with dinner for this reason. Drinks are also available at the lake-side bar. Another option would be to bring your own stocked cooler to the lake and save a few bucks.

We had a small 1 BR cabin on the grassy slope near the lake, perfect for our small family. The cabin was "historic", but clean and comfortable, with a perfect balcony overlooking the lake for a pre-dinner cocktail.

Overall, the activities, staff, and the lake (boating and swimming) made this vacation for our family. As soon as we left, our daughter asked if we could return next year. We haven't re-booked yet (many guests re-book at checkout), but we probably will soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cementboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,318 - 1,324 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

Four families (all related) went together in August/September with children raning from 4 years to 16 years old, plus grandparents. Three of the four families had been here before, at different times two -three years ago, and the only thing we hadn't liked in the past was the food (limited choices, not great quality). We all decided to give it another shot - and we're happy we did! The food is much improved - we had no complaints at all except for one family member who felt there weren't enough chocolate desserts! There were more choices to choose from and the quality was actually quite good! The facilities are fabulous - the lake looks like a beach with all the sand around it (and volleyball courts), the boating choices were good - rowing, kayaking, paddle boating, sailboats, etc, and the cruise/tour boat around the extensive lake is serene and gorgeous. The hiking trails were a lot of fun - with challenge courses along the way - although it took 20 minutes to find the entrance the first day (could have been marked better). The bumper boats were novel and fun, the new rock wall was challenging, the nighttime shows were well done - all in all all four families were happy! The accomodations were terrific - I recommend the edgewater suites - and we all rebooked for same time, next year. (one caveat - had the weather not been so perfect - it would have been a bit of a downer - there is a lot of walking on the beautiful grounds and we would have either been wet or waiting for the Woodloch buses to transport us from place to place. Also, we decided not to take the lunch plan - we enjoyed going to their deli and eating together in the Woodloch house that one of the families had rented.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ella21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed from Mon - Fri starting with Labor Day. It was a great experience. The staff indicated that it was actually an off week for the resort as they change menu's, shows, etc for the next season - well from our perspective you could not tell. Everything seem to be open and working, the pools and hot tubs were great.

Each day we were asked how things were, and it was at the end of the vacation that we realized it was one of the owners. The food is fabulous, the rooms were very clean, nice white towels and spacious. There was lots to do, the shows were fun, and we met a few interesting guests. The story of the resort as told by the various staff members was quite interesting. It seems the staff are treat well by the resort and there is a family like atmosphere.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArubaStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Very nice place for young families. Went with other friends we all have young children (8 and under). Lots for kids to do. It's like sending your kids to a very upscale camp and spending the time with them. Fun. Expensive though. Food at the Inn was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeMc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Just got back from our fourth trip to Woodloch today!! Stayed from 8/14-8/17. It is actually our third trip this year (Stayed two nights each on two occasions this January also) We found out about Woodloch in 2006 and made our first trip in 2007. We've been to many other places but nothing compares to the family atmosphere at Woodloch. The resort has been family owned and operated by the Kiesendahl's for four generations and still going strong. I can't think of a day gone by in Woodloch where I have not seen at least 3 of the main family around the resort.

Now on to the vacation - Great!! The vacation really is a "cruise on land" Everything (with the exception of 2-3 activities with a nominal extra charge and bar drinks) is included within your vacation package. That includes rooms, activities, meals, and entertainment! (Also including "Staff" in the review)

Rooms - As always, we stayed in a "Greenbriar" room, which are our favorite rooms and at a "midrange" price, Woodloch speaking. They are in the main building, which provides easy access to the dining room without walking outside, access to almost all of the indoor activities (the two exceptions being bumper cars and the gymnasium complex, which are a 30-second walk from the main building) and great views of lake Teedyuskung (with easy access in the summer). The design of the building means that all Greenbriar units face the lake, so there are no "bad" views anywhere!! I highly recommend rooms 401-404 (we had 403). They are special because besides a balcony/patio, they are directly on the ground floor so the patio allows direct access outside without having to go out the main room door (great in the summer when someone in the room wants to get outside!). Also, they are the only rooms with a window (w/ screen) that you can open without leaving the door open and letting bugs in. (Great on those cool summer nights in PA!) The rooms have ample space, with a full walk in closet and plenty of drawer space, comfy queen sized beds, and an in-room refrigerator/safe. The walk in closet also has a seperate sink and sliding door to close off, which is great for use as a seperate changing area or for getting ready in the morning if other people in the room are not awake yet. The air conditioner is a typical in-wall air conditioner, but was relatively quiet and did an excellent job at cooling the room quickly. All rooms now have a dehumidifier in them also, should you need it. The sound proofing was excellent. In the summer typically every room is booked, and we heard no noise coming from the surrounding rooms next to or above us. Housekeeping is efficient (Plenty of staff, and two work at a time in a room) yet unobtrusive (Room was always made up after coming back from a morning activity). All in all excellent! (Especially since this is primarily a hotel)

Activities - Varied and plentiful! There are two things you will never be at Woodloch: bored or hungry! Every morning you will receive an activity sheet on your table at breakfast listing all of the days activities. There are no less than at least 5 "featured" activities for each part of the day (Morning, Afternoon, Late Afternoon, Evening) along with several "general" activities. In the summer, the main attractions include the water slide into and paddle boats/rowboats/sailboats/kayaks around Lake Teedyuskung. In the winter, It is the Snow Tube run and Extreme snow tube run! Woodloch is well-staffed with plenty of activities going on at all times with friendly staff!

Meals - Delicious and plentiful! This is really where the "cruise on land" idea really comes to life! At check-in (Either lunch or dinner), a greeter at the entrance to the main dining room will show you to your table, which is your table for the entire length of your stay. Your package includes three meals daily (Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner) or two during the summer, if you choose that package (Breakfast and Dinner). Breakfast will include a signature baked cake item each morning, juices/hot drinks, fruit, hot and cold cereal, toast/bread, and a main dish. Lunch includes a beverage, appetizer, main dish, and dessert. Dinner includes a beverage, a signature bread (along with regular bread/rolls), appetizer, salad, main dish, a vegetable side dish, a potato side dish, and dessert. The meals are served family style, in that the breads/cake, salads, and most of the main dishes are brought on large plates, where everyone can decide what they want and how much of it. The meals are delicious, so feel free to ask for more!! The baked items are exceptional, and the day before you check out you will have an order form on your table at breakfast to order any of the breads/breakfast cakes you have already had (and others too) to take home with you, and they will be waiting for you in the dining room on the morning of your check-out. How convenient!! Like I said: You will never be hungry at Woodloch!

Entertaininment - Although mostly covered in the activities, there is one major part left out: The Heritage Nightclub. If you're thinking "I thought this was a family resort?" don't worry - It's not the type of "club" you are thinking of. During the day it is a large area great for kids activities and popular activities during the day (such as bingo), but at night that all changes. Every night there is a main feature in the nightclub. This year, the main stays you will see no matter what week you go are the "A Night on the Town" theme show and the brand new "80s vs. 2010" music show. Other shows take place throughout the week and will vary based on when you visit. (Our visit also included an 80s show and a talent show with a Ventriloquist/Juggler. The adults can also enjoy a drink during the show if they would like.

Staff - This might seem like an odd thing to specifically mention, but not at Woodloch! The staff are the best anywhere. They are dedicated, really enjoy their job, and really make you feel like part of the family. As I said before, the Kiesendahl's are always around, and make special occasions known to the entire dining room at dinner time as if we were all a big family! The activities staff are great, and there are some you will see everywhere and on every trip (Joey and Randy). Even some younger kids are part of it - During the Carnival (After the monday cookout lunch during the summer) some children of staff members are there working at the games! (Joey's son is also one of the main stars of the 80s vs. 2010 show) The dining staff are friendly and it gives you that "family" atmosphere when you see them every day at all your meals.

*** A special shout-out here to "Jana" (pronounced "Yana"), our waitress who is at Woodloch for the summer from Slovakia - She is the nicest waitress I have ever had and enjoyed all three days with her! For someone who is just coming to the US for the first time, I was amazed at her mastery of English already! She is quick, efficient, very friendly, and very polite. After the first day she knew all of our "usuals" for our meals and brought them without us even asking - talk about service!! She really enjoys her job and it shows when you see her! I'm sad to know that she probably won't be around during our future visits, but I wish her the best in whatever she chooses to do and I know she will be great at it! That being said - If you read this review and are visiting Woodloch within the next couple weeks (last week of August or first week of september 2010) then definitely ask to be in her area when you check in as she will make your Woodloch dining experience great.

As I'm sure you have seen if you listened through all my blabbing (hehe), our family LOVES Woodloch and will be coming back for years to come!

My only two regrets? Not finding out about this great destination earlier and not staying longer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinvit730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We just returned from our first visit to Woodloch Pines. We were there for a week, and loved it. We have three teenagers aged 13-19, and Woodloch had plenty of activities to keep everyone in the family busy all day long.

The service was excellent! The staff were friendly and genuinely helpful. Some resorts we've been to have excellent service, but there's a "stuffy" feel. At Woodloch it felt more like the staff really enjoyed their jobs, and cared about making sure all the guests had a good time. The people that led activities seemed to have boundless energy, all day, every day.

The grounds are beautiful, and perfectly maintained. We stayed in a 3 bedroom house at Woodloch Springs and it was spacious, clean and well maintained. The one time we had a problem (clogged toilet), we called and a maintenance man was there in less than 5 minutes.

Although the resort was fully booked it never felt overcrowded. We did have to wait in line for some activities such as waterskiing and go-karts, but it was fun chatting with the other people in line, and the longest wait we had all week was probably 20-30 minutes.

The only thing that I can't rave about is the food. It wasn't terrible, just uninteresting and bland. Also two of our teens are vegetarians and I was surprised at how few vegetarian choices there were on the dinner menu. We didn't think to mention it when we booked the vacation because these days every resort we go to seems to have several good meatless options at every meal. We ate dinner at the Woodloch Springs Clubhouse Grill one night and it was much better than the main dining room. The food was more interesting and better prepared.

I would have liked it if there were more fitness classes offered - especially early in the morning so they wouldn't conflict with other fun activities. They did have Zumba one day, but it was at the same time as a family activity that we wanted to do, so I can't judge the quality. My daughters and I attended a Pilates class offered at the Woodloch Springs Sportscenter but it was way overcrowded, and not as good a class as we get at home.

Overall, we all enjoyed ourselves and recommended to family members for an upcoming reunion.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We have been coming to Woodloch for over 14 years now and this past trip was the best one we ever had. One of the reasons is that we have been coming the same week so we have made so many friends that come at the same time. Even though we only see them once a year-the time we have together is great. As always the service is outstanding. While the food is not 4 star quality it is however good and plentiful-they are trying to give more options and it seems to have improved this year. We stayed in the Greenbriar units-which we like becuase it is close to dining area, nightclub and of course lake front. The activities are endless, although if you choose to just like in the sun by the lake you can do that too. We have put our deposit down for next year and so the countdown has begun.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOMGS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawley
9.6 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
138 reviews
6.9 mi away
Greshams Lake View Motel
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Matamoras
Hampton Inn Matamoras
#1 of 2 in Matamoras
692 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Woodloch
21.7 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodloch Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodloch Pines Resort

Address: 731 Welcome Lake Rd., Hawley, PA 18428-7840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hawley
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodloch Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exceptional Poconos resort, nestled in a pristine mountain lake setting, is regarded as one of America's "Best All-Inclusive Family Resorts". Their traditional warm hospitality has been nurturing and embracing the spirit of spending quality time with family and friends for over fifty years. This Pocono Mountains resort provides a four-season, fun-filled, lakeside escape for your entire family with endless activities and entertainment for all kids from 2 to 92. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Woodloch Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodloch Pines Hotel Hawley
Woodloch Pines Hawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing