We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price, even better view - if you have the right rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hazleton
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hazleton
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent price, even better view - if you have the right rooms”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is well worth the price regardless of what room you have. Very clean, great staff and good location. However, if you can get a room facing the valley, you will be even more pleased. We stayed on the top floor facing a majestic valley with mountains surrounding it. Beautiful view.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassTravel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hazleton, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in offering the best stay at a great rate! We do have a beautiful view of the valley and are very happy to hear you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    78
    28
    10
    4
See reviews for
66
83
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We used this property just for an overnight stopover on the weekend of the Pocono 500 and even with the hotels being full for miles around we were still able to get a great value on a very pleasant room. Each room is a full efficiency perfect for longer stays with a full kitchen. The hotel is very clean and tidy and staff are pleasant and helpful. We also noticed the quiet even with every room being filled. Not much to do around there unless you're going to the cost region for sine real Italian food but still a nice little stopover.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tubaman77-CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hazleton, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We want to offer our guests a great stay and the best rate possible. We strive to give the best customer service and want all of guests to enjoy their home away home. We hope to see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I do believe that this is a new hotel. Everything was clean and the room was very big with all the amenities of a suite. The reception was kind and efficient. I do believe the guy was on all night by himself as he was there at check in and when I checked out in the morning, more than 8 hours. They do allow pets which was the number one reason for the stop; however, the breakfast which is usually a big draw for travelers was not impressive, at least for me. Vending machine and a freezer full of lunches and dinners, i.e. like TV dinners. I guess I am spoiled and like a good breakfast before getting on the road w/o having to find a McDonald's type place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotfudge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hazleton, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton! We are an all suite hotel with full kitchens in all of our rooms. We will be 5 years old in September, so we are a newer hotel. We are pet friendly and want all of our guests to enjoy the comforts of home. Candlewood Suites does not offer a breakfast. We offer a full kitchen in all of our suites for our guests to enjoy a home cooked breakfast or easy grab and go items for purchase in our lobby for our guests in a hurry. We do have a full lobby store with snacks, drinks, frozen meals and much more for your convenience. We know sometimes when traveling you don't have cash on you or exact change and we also don't want to limit our customers to only soda and chips, so we offer a variety of items and the option to pay at the front desk. We hope we can accommodate you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
593 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Enjoyable stay at this reasonably priced, extended-stay property. Check-in was seamless and the staff friendly. Nice little work-out room is available. The room was very clean, plumbing fixtures work very well. Shower head and water pressure and temperature were wonderful. The room was quiet. The thermostat worked very well. Our kitchenette was a plus. In-room coffee maker was a nice touch. Internet worked easily and consistently.
Housekeeping is done weekly. Though we stayed only a couple nights, we were able to exchange used face cloths and towels for fresh ones at the desk without difficulty.
Highly recommend Candlewood Suites in Hazleton.

Room Tip: Be advised that these suites accommodate cigarette smokers within the building. The lobby elevator w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaporK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hazleton, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in being your home away from home. We want all of our guests to enjoy the comforts of home whether they are staying 1 night or 1 year. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed one night here and found it to be a clean, comfortable room. We travel with our small dog so a dog-friendly hotel is a must for us. Pet fee was reasonable. Several restaurants nearby to choose from. Our room had a great view since the hotel is located on a hill overlooking a valley. Free coffee but no free breakfast. The only complaint we had was the refrigerator made a lot of noise during the night. Otherwise, a clean room, easy on/off I-81, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hazleton, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton to accommodate you! At Candlewood Suites we know pets are part of many of our guest's family and we absolutely welcome them to stay here with you. We are the perfect location for travelers, being that if you want a home cooked meal you can have it or we are located close to many restaurants. We apologize that refrigerator was noisy. We have experienced in the past with other guests that they don't notice the noise some appliances make because they are not close to where they sleep at home. We will absolutely look into it to see if there is an issue with it, thank you so much for bringing it to our attention. We hope we can accommodate you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Good: The hotel room was clean; the fixtures were surprisingly higher than 2 star - the showerhead and water pressure was awesome; access to a kitchenette is great, particularly for longer stays; the lending libraries and honor system for the snacks is a nice touch.

The Bad: If you are sensitive to smoke, this might not be the best accommodation for you. The elevator you have to take to your non-smoking room absolutely wreaks of smoke from the smoking floors below. In the room, the refrigerator was making an absolutely awful noise that at first sounded like someone knocking on a neighboring door. By the morning, every time the fridge ran, it got louder and sounded like someone knocking on our door. It, along with the small bed, kept me up all night.

The Ugly: We typically stay in 3 and 4 stars, but are on an extended road trip and didn't want to drop a grand on hotels, so we went with this 2 star hotel through "Express Deals" on PL.

BIG MISTAKE - exhausted from our trip, we entered the room and were shocked to see ONE queen-sized bed. I've never stayed in a hotel with only one bed that isn't a king. Most often, there are either two beds or a king. Too tired to try to change things, I didn't bother complaining.

PL's express deals policy is that the accommodations will accommodate two people. The only circumstance most people wish to a share a bed with someone is when you are with your partner. However, what if you don't want to share a queen bed with your fellow traveler, as when you travel with a co-worker or any other person who isn't your partner? I didn't think much of it until we checked into our next PL deal in Williamsport. My heart sunk to the floor when I pressed "book" and Candlewood Suites Williamsport popped up.

I'm not sure who to be more disappointed in - Candlewood Suites for offering what feels like deceptive practices of offering one queen bed to accommodate two people or Priceline for allowing them to do that? I've never run into that issue at any other hotel until these two Candlewood Suites. We got the manager involved in Williamsport and called PL. After speaking with PL, Candlewood said they'd charge us an extra $65 for a two bed room, since it's an "upgrade". So, we'd end up paying double for a $90 hotel room, with taxes. I'm thoroughly disappointed with Candlewood Suites.

Room Tip: Confirm bed choice - our room only had one queen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vagabond_Yogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hazleton, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very proud to have our 3 star rating and we are very happy to hear that you were pleased with the water pressure, full kitchen within all of our suites and other amenities. When our guests book through a third party site, such as Priceline we do not control how they setup their websites. Our queen studio suite is meant for two people. When booking online guests are able to pick the bed type/quantity required to best accommodate who will be staying in the room. I do apologize for any confusion,
had we have known we absolutely would have tried our best to accommodate you and your co-worker. The queen studio suite and two double bed studio suite, do have a price difference being that the double studio is a larger room and can accommodate more people. Our two double bed studio suites are a lower percentage of our occupancy and we may not have had that room type available on the date of your stay, but we do have rollaway beds available when needed. Candlewood Suites are individually owned and operated, but we absolutely want our guests to enjoy staying at Candlewood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice clean room and comfortable bed, pet friendly and very reasonable pet fee unlike some of the other chains. Unbelievable view from room.
The staff was very friendly. No breakfast but free coffee was available. We prefer to get our own breakfast anyway and get a good clean room at a fair price.
Only criticism is that the lobby could use an update. Cold and dated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWS H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hazleton, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites Hazleton. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want our guests to have a wonderful stay at an affordable price. We feel your pets are part of your family and we only charge a nominal fee that is required for cleaning the room after. We have recently added a new feature, which is the Lending Locker and it is located in our lobby. The locker has games, kitchen appliances and much more for our guests to rent for free while staying with us. So we have moved our TV and chairs to a more cozy location that allows guests to comfortably watch TV and relax. We hope that you can come again soon and see our new lobby setup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazleton
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hazleton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hazleton
Hampton Inn Hazleton
#1 of 8 in Hazleton
646 reviews
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Hazleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Hazleton
Residence Inn Hazleton
#3 of 8 in Hazleton
219 reviews
22.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wilkes Barre
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hazleton
Ramada Hazleton
#6 of 8 in Hazleton
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hazleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hazleton

Property: Candlewood Suites Hazleton
Address: 9 Bowmans Mill Rd, Hazleton, PA 18202-4813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > Hazleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hazleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hazleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider Yourself Home at the Candlewood Suites Hazleton. The Candlewood Suites in Hazleton, PA is perfectly located off the intersection of I-81 and PA-93 and conveniently by West Hazleton and many of the city s corporate parks. Our hotel is close to all that Hazleton and the Pocono Mountains have to offer, including golfing, fishing, hunting, biking, camping and a little city life. Our location couldn t be better, but what will really impress you are our spacious all-suite accommodations. Prepare and enjoy a home-cooked meal whenever you like in your fully-equipped kitchen. Choose a movie from our free library, and kick back in your over-stuffed recliner. Work comfortably at your spacious executive desk. Take advantage of free high-speed Internet access and two phone lines to accomplish everything on your list. Visit our business center for all of your printing, copying, and faxing needs. During your stay at the Candlewood Suites Hazleton hotel, enjoy the convenience of free on-site laundry services. Stop at the fitness center regularly to keep up with your exercise regimen. Enjoy a sweet treat or pick up a light meal to go at the Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites truly is your home away from home with our brand new feature, the Lending Locker. You are welcome to borrow during your stay a board game, blender, office supplies, crockpot, and much more and the best part is, it's complimentary. Whether you plan to visit the Candlewood Suites Hazleton area for a single night or a few weeks, let us be the first to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hazleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Hazleton Hotel Hazleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing