We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative service”
Review of The Hotel Hershey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our recent trip to the Hotel Hershey immensely - exceptional service throughout from the time we pulled up until the time we left. The food at the onsite restaurants is excellent as are the waitstaff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lsimonetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My kids, ages 11 and 13 and I enjoyed our first visit to Hotel Hershey so much that we did not want to leave. Not only is the hotel beautiful the staff was so accommodating.

I purchased a 4 day package. This included Hershey park, Hershey museum, and Hershey garden tickets and breakfast for my kids. We ate breakfast at the Circular every morning. The buffet had so much food; even fresh eggs/omelets. I asked for the same waitress as she was so personable and warm. Her name is Stephanie. Being that I work in a customer service related field I appreciated her very much. With that said, actually all the staff was great!

The shuttle service is a wonderful perk! They also have free valet service. The hotel even offered to have a driver drive us to the museum!(the shuttle only takes you to Hershey Park and Chocolate World). Hershey park was very clean. My kids and I have been to many amusement parks on all of the East coast and obviously you are going to do a lot of walking however Hershey park has a lot of hills and bridges so be prepared to do some extra walking work. Consequently we slept very well due to all the walking and activities :)

The outdoor pool was so fabulous!! The entrance to the pool is beach style and only goes up to 3.5ft. It has 2 nice size slides. The food at poolside is pretty good and their Reese peanut butter cup martini is sooooo good.

The beds were very comfortable. The room was very clean. And the view from my room was breathtaking.

As we were packing up to leave I called guest services to ask them if there was a gas station near by that would pump my gas as I have never pumped my own gas. She let me know that they are all self-serve and then offered to have one of the Hotel drivers to help me fill my tank! I graciously declined and figured it out myself.

We plan to visit again in December.

I could actually go on and on about our stay as we enjoyed it very much!
Thanks for he wonderful experience Hotel Hershey!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chrise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Chrise A,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Hotel Hershey. I am very happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide excellent customer service, and it is nice to hear from our guests that we have succeeded in providing them with a great experience.

I hope that you have the opportunity to return for another visit in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hotel Hershey, in one of their ridiculously large and luxurious King Cottage rooms. All amenities were there, including a small flatscreen mounted in the bathroom above the soaking tub, and an electric fireplace. The housekeeping service was meticulously detail oriented, going so far as to leave us two york peppermint patties on our pillow at night, and putting a nice relaxing jazz music station on the clock radio for when we returned!

The front desk was perfect in accommodating any requests, and made our 'babymoon' trip relaxing, enjoyable and memorable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Matt L,

I am glad to hear that you and your wife had an enjoyable "babymoon" trip to The Hotel Hershey.
It sounds like a relaxing weekend is just what you needed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My bff and I stayed here as part of her bachelorette weekend, and had a wonderful time. Everything about this hotel is fun, opulent and exciting.

We were taken with how helpful the staff were -- especially the concierge, who was amazing. We also loved the drivers, who helped us amazinging in navigating our busy weekend schedule and were always there to drop us off or pick us up. It was truly decadent to be waited on hand and foot. I could get used to that!

This was not my first time at this hotel, although it's been years. I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We wanted a hotel that would give us parents a deserved break while still being good for the kids.

My family of 4 stayed 4 nights in a room w 2 queen beds with a great view of the fountain/garden area. It was the week of Memorial Day and I felt like we had the place to ourselves. We asked for a pack and play for our 1 year old and they brought it right up. The room was very big and we had plenty of room. The valet and bellhops were quick and helpful. Our room package included admission to Hershey Park, Hershey Gardens, and The Hershey Story. Anything purchase on the hotel grounds could be charged to your room.

We ate at all 3 restaurants. We went to The Circular each morning for the breakfast buffet. There was an omelet bar, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, toast, fruit, yogurt, etc. There was plenty to choose from and it was all very good with a clean presentation. The Circular we were told is a little more formal in the evenings. We did not go there in the evenings.

The Harvest restaurant was our favorite. All the meals included at least one local ingredient. I got the Yuengling fish and chips one day, and the fish was perfect. It was the right color, tender, delicious. It went well with my beer. The next time, for an app, I got the chocolate bbq wings. They were an intriguing flavor. They weren't super chocolaty, but there was a hint of it there that really added something.

We also went to Trevi 5, which was the Italian restaurant. This one was not on par with Harvest. My wife couldn't even eat her meal (which they did take off the bill), and mine was fine, but we expected more.

The pool was great. There is no real deep part, so having the 5 year old all over it wasn't a problem. There are also 2 water slides, a kiddie splash area, and an adult pool area with a whirlpool. There is poolside service for food and drinks.

Near the pool in the evening was a plaza where they had games for kids to play. We also found ourselves after dinner one night roasting smores and playing mini golf. This is also near where the Cocoa Clubhouse was. We left the kids here one day and they had a blast. They played games, they drew pictures, they fed the fish, they played on the playground, they provided lunch... my 5 ear old wanted to go back the next day. The one year old needed a babysitter, which was arranged by the concierge.

This allowed us to have a spa day. Despite the hotel not being very busy that week, there was very little available while trying to schedule 2 days early... so plan ahead. I got a massage, and my wife got a scrub and a manicure. There is a restaurant for spa customers where everyone just goes down and hangs out in their robes. It was fun.

We caught some rain one night, and on our way back to our room, a girl was announcing Chocolate Bingo down the hall. This was fun for everyone, and there was plenty of chocolate being won and handed out left and right.

To get to the parks, there is a shuttle you can catch every 20-30 minutes depending on traffic.

If you plan on a trip to Hershey, there is no reason to stay elsewhere other than price. The rooms here were between $250-$400 depending on the day. We felt like we were taken care of, getting to and from everywhere was easy, and we plan on returning in a few years.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank forktie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Despite being a very old hotel, it is extremely well maintained. I wonder if the rooms were renovated recently, as mine was in tip-top condition. The only give-away was the ancient air conditioning/heating unit. It was rather nostalgic to be able to turn knobs and not have to figure out remote controls.

This hotel was full of good old charm. I can't wait for my daughter to grow up and bring her here (and to the Hershey amusement park). She already loves Kisses and Reese's, and I am sure she will be tickled pink at the sight of a Kiss-shaped lamp-post and a street called chocolate avenue....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Rokugatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family loved the experience . Grandkids had an amazing time . The shuttle to the park was the only down side it took a while to get the shuttle fro the hotel to the park in the morning . But after that everything was top shelf. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: £173 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Hershey 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing