We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel Experience.”
Review of The Hotel Hershey

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hotel Hershey
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This Hotel is wonderful. All Staff members were warm and responsive to needs: Valet, Doormen, Bellmen, Hostesses, Desk and Wait Staff. We loved the Circular Dining Room. Fabulous food. Magnificent Grounds. Great Shops. Wonderful history. The Room was smallish but luxurious. Complimentary Garden Tour was very nice. The town is delightful. Can't wait to return with more family members because they cater to all ages..and there were certainly more activities to enjoy..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarmaTo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! This beautiful grand historic hotel built by Milton Hershey during the Great Depression. It overlooks Hersheypark and the town. The lobby is beautiful, and try to go in the Castilian Room if you can, The Circular is an awesome restaurant, and the room service food is very good too. Go on one of the balconies at night, and it is very cool to see the lights of Hersheypark, and the gardens are incredible. Of course you get a bunch of free chocolate when you get there, and some everyday you stay. It is not very crowded, unlike the Hershey Lodge probably is, likely has little kids running and screaming all over the place. Our suite was awesome! Had three rooms and 2 bathrooms, with marble walls, really made me feel rich wealthy. It was super expensive though, about $1,000 per night, but is worth what you get. Also some advantages: free bus transportation to Hersheypark starting at 9:00am, so you to go there 1 hour before the general public, special packages on Hersheypark admission, and free admission to the Hershey Gardens, across the parking lot and The Hershey Story, both worth visiting. If in Hershey and wanting the best hotel, this is no doubt it, MUST STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite on the fourth floor, THE BEST
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Jacob M,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Hotel Hershey.

I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your accommodations. It is always nice to hear that our guests have had a great visit with us. I am glad that you took the time to visit the Hershey Gardens and the Hershey Story in addition to Hersheypark. They are both definitely worth visiting.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Hershey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The grounds of the hotel are stunningly gorgeous. We arrived on Friday morning and immediately checked into our room. We were greeted with free valet parking and chocolate bars! I was there to use the spa for a day with my sister. We spent the first 2 hours sitting by the pool. There was ample space and good food with poolside service. The pool was mostly being used by families with children and the pool was set up with slides and sprinklers. At 3:30pm we had our massages. The spa was a wonderful retreat. It was quiet, and had muffins, coffee, tea, fruit infused water and hot chocolate for you both before and after your service. Of course there were chocolates as well. At night, we ate in the Circular. The food was AMAZING. After dinner we went to the fire pit to roast marshmallows. The room was beautiful and spacious with great bathroom soaps and lotions. We also got free passes to the gardens but did not have time to spend there. This was a perfect hotel for a girls weekend getaway. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Never been to Hershey Park... Fourteen people, Eight Adults, Two teens, Two Preteens, Two Toddlers. Awesome !!!!! Two night stay, My family of three stayed in a King Premium Room. Awesome space. Enough room to spread out.Our travel companions were all on the same floor and hallway, very nice. House keeping was amazing. Extremely clean and well equipped rooms. Outdoor pool is further from the hotel than you might expect, with that being said it is a lovely stroll, the gardens and grounds are gorgeous. We enjoyed an amazing breakfast buffet at The Circular both mornings, awesome. We dined at Trevi 5 on our first evening, they sat us at two tables.......ok. Our dinner hour was 5:00pm, the restaurant was nearly empty. The food was mediocre. The second night at 5:00pm we with reservations dined at The Circular, the restaurant was nearly empty shy of perhaps two tables. Again, they wanted to sit us at two tables.........NO, When we complained and politely requested for us to dine as a family at one table we were not accepted with grace. We were informed that ok, we could sit together but it was against the chefs wishes and our food would NEVER come out at the same time. OK. We stood while they put a large table with a small table (5 seconds). Our waiter and waitress were great. The problem came when the "manager" and hostess glared and were nasty for our entire dinner ? Really, we are a loving family happy to be together wanting to make the best of every experience......We tried making small talk, polite conversation, evening picking on each other and they both acted as if we had ran over their dog !!!! Soooo, happy to be there will go again, they need to take a class in DISNEY hospitality and remember whom there customer base is.... ps $600.00 plus gratuity spent at that table on Monday, 7/21/2014 and we were gone within 90 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRIS2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear CHRIS2842,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to Hersheypark and The Hotel Hershey, and that you were happy with housekeeping services and the outdoor pool.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience during dinner at The Circular. We certainly did not meet your or our expectations. I will be sure to share your feedback with our food and beverage management team.

Thank you again for your comments. I hope that you decide to stay with us again on your next visit to Hershey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just returned from a three night stay. Stunning grounds and wonderful restaurants. The only negative is that we stayed in a two bedroom suite on the lower level of the cottages and the noise is deafening. Our upstairs neighbors stomped around night and day. We asked to move and the hotel refused. Avoid the lower level of the cottages if you value tranquility.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank endlesswinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Hotel Hershey is a first class hotel with all of the amenities that you would expect to come with one - several restaurants, both indoor and outdoor pools, a spa, trails, and several stores and many family friendly activities. The service during our stay was invariably excellent and we ran into nothing of any concern. The hotel seemed to be mostly hosting people visiting Hershey Park. The grounds were quite beautiful and you can walk to the Hershey Gardens quite easily (you get free tickets if you stay at the hotel). Neither my wife and I were sold on the cocoa bean soap, it's odd taking a shower and smelling like chocolate. There is free wifi although if you need higher bandwidth (like streaming movies) then you have to pay extra.
The only real drawback is the price. To say there is a premium for staying here compared to other area hotels is an understatement. I'm not entirely convinced it was worth the extra money although it is very nice. We really liked the Fountain Room just outside the Circular restaurant. Please also be aware that the rooms are not large, not a surprise given that the hotel was built in 1933.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the high point sweet and were very pleased. The Iberian Lounge was wonderful with the live Saturday night Jazz. I would highly recommend the putting coarse and Albert's hotel tour. Overall, the Hotel Hershey is a very classy place to enjoy a vacation and some great food.

Room Tip: Room 231 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at The Hotel Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Pete C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Hotel Hershey.

I am glad that you enjoyed the jazz in the Iberian Lounge, as well as Albert's historical tour.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
527 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hershey

Address: 100 Hotel Road, Hershey, PA 17033-9507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hershey
#1 Business Hotel in Hershey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#1 Green Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: £171 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Hershey 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hershey is situated high atop the town of Hershey and has 276 guest rooms, including 48 cottages, as well as 25,000 square feet of meeting and function space. The 1930's hotel is a recipient of both the Forbes Four-Star Award and the AAA Four-Diamond Award. The Hotel Hershey is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside Hershey Lodge and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests at each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Resort Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing