We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Newport News, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Generally, a decent stay, but for the price that we paid, I've stayed in MUCH better hotels.
Pros:
1. Many options for breakfast, abundant seating, and it will be fully stocked until breakfast hours are over.
2. Location - very close to "downtown" Hershey, and everything we wanted to go see and do.
3. Can't forget the Otis Spunkmeyer cookies at the desk!
4. The Hershey Pantry restaurant next door - don't waste your time driving anywhere else for dinner - it was the best we had by far.

Cons:
1. Parking in general is haphazard and random.
2. Add to that the fact that their "Elite Parking" actually allows access to the entrance steps to be blocked, and it feels like the "Elite" will be catered to, while us "Normal" customers don't really matter that much. Why else would you design the parking so that the "Elite" space closest to the road forces everybody to walk AROUND the car to access the entrance steps?
3. Elevators - slow as molasses - many times I took the stairs and beat my family either to our floor or to the lobby w/o breaking a sweat.
4. As has been mentioned before, a dreary dated look with a musty smell in the rooms and the hotel itself - overall poor ventilation in general.
5. Our trip started with finding that there were 6 busloads of children in the hotel. I can tell you that they were definitely on our floor, with doors banging and loud voices, jumping on the bed all night long. Follow that up with a circus at breakfast time (that made us go explore the Hershey Pantry next door rather than eat there), and I'm glad they were only around for 1 night. Yes, not the hotel's fault, but expectations should've been made clear to the chaperones.

So, all things considered, we'll visit the Hershey Pantry on our next trip to Hershey, but it likely won't be from the hotel next door - we'll find a better value next time than this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diamondback1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    324
    162
    85
    39
See reviews for
596
174
15
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of its closeness to Hershey Park, and it is very close and quite convenient. Additionally, the restaurant next door was very good. The rooms were clean but the hotel overall was just OK. The breakfast was fair, and the pool was awful. It had a terrible chlorine smell that burned our eyes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level 6 Contributor
631 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is older but well cared for at all times. The pool area is very good. Breakfast is ample and there are several choices each morning. The suites are tremendous as far as space and include a complete kitchen with range, dishwasher, refrigerator, dishes and cutlery. It is a shame that the atmosphere is marred by families who allow their children to run rampant. There was running in the halls until 11:00 PM. The pool was fun until a group started doing cannonballs and diving, both of which are not allowed. These same children opened the security door to allow someone they knew to enter. The parents were appalled that we were upset about the behavior. The children were allowed to serve themselves at breakfast making tremendous messes which were again left and nothing was done by the adults as to supervision. As we were traveling with three children that we don't allow to act in this manner this was shocking.

It is very hard for the hotel to manage these individuals. I stood in line for 10 minutes to return our room keys upon checking out only to discover that the two women and children in front of me were just talking and not even in the queue. They didn't apologize either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeymaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Township, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was such a quick trip to and from the park that we often came home for afternoon breaks. Rooms were clean; staff was friendly. The breakfast was what I'd expect, but they did a great job replenishing and having plenty of seating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed in this Hampton inn I will say that the staff was amazing!! They helped me and my family.. I will stay here again without a doubt. I will recommend this hotel to anyone..and it it's really close to hershey park...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Matriv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

we have had an amazing time here. pulled in and the staff is fantastic! they even came out to our car to let us know the restaurant they suggested happened to be closed on Sundays. They had another suggestion that was amazing. Even offered to loan us an umbrella during the crazy rainstorm. Fantastic service, clean and updated rooms, and amazing staff. what more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissareichert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:
close to park
Clean
Breakfast included
Get a two room suite for price of one room at Hershey Lodge
King sized beds

Cons:
Difficult layout
Elevator VERY slow and not centrally located (we just used stairs)
Pullout sofa uncomfortable (my little kids complained and they usually sleep anywhere)
There are little groups of chairs spread throughout hotel and the first night we were there a group of young women hung out drinking beers until late....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazziebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hershey
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Address: 749 East Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hershey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#9 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hampton Inn And Suites Hershey
Hampton Inn Hotel Hershey
Hampton Inn Hershey
Hershey Hampton Inn
Suites Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing