We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, coffee, & sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I was a little perturbed that I couldn't check in at noon, when I asked ahead for early check in. I also asked for double beds & got a Queen.
The day concierge directed me to "insider" parking, which was $8 more than the regular parking. The night concierge gave my kids candy to welcome them. :)
The coffee was fantastic, as was the Belgian waffle maker.
We had a great night sleep.
The pool was small & not so great.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank VHowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked a non-smoking king suite on Hampton Inn's website. Upon checking into the room, the first thing that hit us was the smell of smoke. We went back to the Front Desk and they were able to give us another king suite right outside the breakfast area. Luckily it wasn't too noisy. Overall, the property looks very dated. The staff is nice and did what they could to accomodate us, but wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Suites seem to be on the first floor. Room 122 smelled of smoke even though it is listed as non-smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TLMatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2015

Thanks for your patronage. We are working hard to update our services and facility.
We regret someone did not honor our no smoking property policy. We have since purchased specialized equipment that can neutralize and eliminate smoke smell such as you experienced. We are just finishing our room renovation this May which will dramatically improve the new look, feel and smell of the hotel.

Please come back and stay with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Room was great. clean, nice décor, AC perfect. no complaints. 2 minute drive to Hershey. Hot tub great. Only comment would be to check-in people a little before 3 so 50 people don't all get up at the same time and are cranky because they have been wtg. If the rooms are ready, see no reason why some people esp with little kids had to wait. overall great time, would def go back again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Salome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've been to hershey dozens of times as a kid. This was my first time as an adult and a parent and so I wanted to be easy on myself by choosing a hotel as close to the park as possible with as many conveniences as I could work into the mix.

Advantages:

Proximity - if you take longer than five minutes to get to the parking lot for Chocolate world and HersheyPark you've likely taken a wrong turn. In between the park and the hotel you will find a Turkey Hill (convenience store) as well as a Wendy's and a Red Robin. Outlets are just around the corner. There is really no other way to cut it, it's conveniently located.

Kitchen - refrigerator/freezer, range, dishes, dishwasher, utensils and a full assortment of cookware. Don't want to spend serious cash on in-park ice cream? Pick up a gallon of Turkey Hill ice cream and save yourself the cash.

Breakfast - simple but comprehensive enough to fill yourself up before embarking on a day of park walking.

Pool - it isn't going to win any pool awards, but it is plenty of fun for the family (unless you're that family that uses too many pool toys and does endless cannonballs while people are trying to quietly enjoy the space, in which case my reviews likely won't help you as they are intended for reasonable individuals).

Now the cons:

Price - Hersheypark isn't cheap. And staying near Hersheypark isn't cheap either. At $270 per night I can safely say I've seldom paid more than that for rooms in NYC at other Hilton hotels. The alternative is to stay further away from Hershey and drive in, but after a day at that park, that seems an unreasonable ask.

Wear: the laminate on the kitchen island was missing a chunk leaving exposed plywood. This didn't diminish our visit, but still, it was below what I expect at this price point. Additionally, there was a red (smelling of artificial cherry) stain on our carpet that was wet on arrival and remained wet after we departed two days later. Ew. We put a small towel over it and didn't let it bother us, but again, at this price point I expect a non-dirty carpet. The wear is what cost this hotel a star in this review.

Noise: I'm not going to hold the abhorrent behavior of guests against a hotel. However, the place somehow attracted some just plain rude individuals and families. Kids running in the hallway making screeching sounds was bad. The dog barking in the next room for a good chunk of the night was worse. In any case, this sort of thing is likely more commonplace closer to the park and at any hotel less expensive than the Hotel Hershey.

All in all, we had a very pleasant experience and the staff was very friendly. The good definitely outweighed the bad. If you want to be near the park and don't desire the amenities (or price tag!) of Hotel hershey! this is definitely a good spot.

Room Tip: First flow rooms permit pets. If you don't have a pet, this means you are more likely to encount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great family hotel! Stay here every year when we go to Hershey Park. Breakfast was great too! It is all you can eat. You can bring a pet on the first floor only. We stayed on the second floor and heard NO pets at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am sorry to say that I do not remember her name, but the front desk lady with the British accent was very.helpful. We booked our original hotel with an EXpedia. com rep over the phone and upon our arrival we realized were assigned a terrible hotel. We had to act quickly and had to find an alternative location to accommodate for our oversized family. At this Hampton INN within minutes of our arrival we were assigned a 6 adult room at the standard discounted rate. Thanks to the lady who booked our room we were able to take full advantage of our 2 days stay in Hershey, PA. Their hospitality was great. The hotel offers a very good continental breakfast, free parking, 24 hour a day free coffee, a snack bag to go and their dining section is available to the guests at all times. The hotel is literally located less than 10 minutes away from all the Hershey attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingRep1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Generally, a decent stay, but for the price that we paid, I've stayed in MUCH better hotels.
Pros:
1. Many options for breakfast, abundant seating, and it will be fully stocked until breakfast hours are over.
2. Location - very close to "downtown" Hershey, and everything we wanted to go see and do.
3. Can't forget the Otis Spunkmeyer cookies at the desk!
4. The Hershey Pantry restaurant next door - don't waste your time driving anywhere else for dinner - it was the best we had by far.

Cons:
1. Parking in general is haphazard and random.
2. Add to that the fact that their "Elite Parking" actually allows access to the entrance steps to be blocked, and it feels like the "Elite" will be catered to, while us "Normal" customers don't really matter that much. Why else would you design the parking so that the "Elite" space closest to the road forces everybody to walk AROUND the car to access the entrance steps?
3. Elevators - slow as molasses - many times I took the stairs and beat my family either to our floor or to the lobby w/o breaking a sweat.
4. As has been mentioned before, a dreary dated look with a musty smell in the rooms and the hotel itself - overall poor ventilation in general.
5. Our trip started with finding that there were 6 busloads of children in the hotel. I can tell you that they were definitely on our floor, with doors banging and loud voices, jumping on the bed all night long. Follow that up with a circus at breakfast time (that made us go explore the Hershey Pantry next door rather than eat there), and I'm glad they were only around for 1 night. Yes, not the hotel's fault, but expectations should've been made clear to the chaperones.

So, all things considered, we'll visit the Hershey Pantry on our next trip to Hershey, but it likely won't be from the hotel next door - we'll find a better value next time than this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank diamondback1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hershey
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
623 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey

Address: 749 East Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033-1212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hershey
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#9 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: £97 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hampton Inn And Suites Hershey
Hampton Inn Hotel Hershey
Hampton Inn Hershey
Hershey Hampton Inn
Suites Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing