We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy, but clean”
Review of Hershey Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hershey Lodge is a great alternative for families not looking to spend a lot on Hotel Hershey. I will say that we went during July 4th weekend and I'm sure with it being a holiday it didnt help with the crowd but we had a good time with just a few exceptions.

The Good:

We were able to check in at 11am. This is probably due to the fact that we had gotten a room with one king bed and because so many families were there, all the queen rooms were booked.

The shuttle service is amazing and very reliable to the park.

Our room was ok, a bit dated, but you're not spending a lot of time there.

The bad:

The parking was a nightmare after 8pm. If you leave to go to dinner and want to park near your room, you cant. The only option is to park near the lobby but then its a hike to your room.

The pool area was chaos, and there were no available chairs. Also, there is no "break" so kids are in the water non stop leaving really no room for adults to enjoy the water.

Next time, we will probably go to Hershey Hotel instead. It seemed to be more adult friendly.

Room Tip: Try not to stay near the pool area, it was really busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SunSun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,335 - 1,341 of 2,813 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hershey Lodge will be one of your pricier options in Hershey, PA but the amenities make it worth it in my opinion. The lodge is huge and has potential to be busy during summer months as it hosts conferences, but it will offer everything your family needs! The rooms are very nice sized, there are several restaurants on the property to choose from. They have a full fledged children's program with daily activities. There are several pools and mini golf. There is a free shuttle to HersheyPark and Hershey World. We stayed for 4 days and loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Spazymunky!

As our goal is always to provide guests with a happy and memorable visit, it pleases me to know that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feelings and offer such positive feedback about all the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge in the near future.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

You pay more to stay here for the resort style, the free shuttle to the park and early access to the park. But be aware- this extra $$ does not buy you a bathroom with a fan, or a room without excess humidity ( sheets and rug were damp). Beyond the lodge ' s control most families staying here have kids under five with no idea or upbringing about staying quiet in the halls. Also at peak times the lobby and cafe are mad houses. We asked for a room near the pool and we're given exactly th at, although the closest pool was never open. I also would
December expect an expensive hotel to employ people with experience not ones seemingly in a summer job: nice enough but never knew the answer off the cuff and very unsure of themselves. To end on a positive, the beds, though damp, we're VERY comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near pool or shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Hershey Lodge is a nice well kept property ,The pools were great lifeguards and not over crowded for a hotel that seemed full. 10 min. ride to park on free shuttle. Was here for a convention so the hotel feed us while in session. Those meals were average. Ate at Bears Den mostly bar food but very good, Hershey Grill was very good but I will not say great as some have. Lebbie's for breakfast best meal on property very good. The staff now they were great they went far out of there way to help if they could. For a family place more rooms should have microwave. In all I would go back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fromtheburgh710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

First let me start by saying we stayed on the Fourth of July which could have been an up charge. We also had a suite (basically two connected rooms but one with a couch instead of beds). for which I expect to pay more money. There were chocolates in the room and I had prearranged for cookies and milk to be delivered. They even called us early when our room was available because I needed to nap our toddler.

Areas for improvement:
1. Curtains - I don't even usually notice such things but you could not pull the drapes closed so only a half curtain was in the middle of the window which let in a lot of light. This is not a good thing for trying to sleep a toddler.
2. Check out is at 11 but they closed out our account before breakfast. Not a huge deal but we didn't take money down to get breakfast and couldn't charge it to the room as we intended.

Overall a nice place with lots to do for kids.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank CoachBCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Attended an FBLA conference in early April as a student. Great hotel and was extremely clean. Beds were comfortable. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was spotless. The indoor pool was great. Convention center was large and never felt too crowded. The staff were polite and treated us great. Housekeeping does an excellent job cleaning and leaves a surprise for you when you return! Great hotel and great staff!

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower are central, other buildings can be a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beno318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The Hershey Lodge is very nice in several ways. It's very close to the park and provides shuttle service and early entrance privileges. The Hershey Grill on-site restaurant has great food. There are two small outdoor pools and one indoor pool plus a small miniature golf area and tennis courts. The rooms are nice, but there's no soundproofing, so hall traffic and conversations are noisy, especially in rooms around the pools. Staff are very courteous, but don't always get it right when responding to requests. The bathrooms do not have fans, and our room was so humid that the carpet and bedlinens felt very damp for two of the three nights of our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank jcl0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
523 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: £38 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing