We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With exception to it's massive size- it's nothing extraordinary”
Review of Hershey Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hershey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just got back from a 4 night stay at Hershey Lodge. We opted for the "kids stay, eat, and play free" promo. It was $385/night and included breakfast for the kids each morning and passes to Hershey Park for every day for everyone. We did quite a bit if research into price comparison and after everything was said and done the price was comparable to other nearby hotels if you add in the cost if breakfast and park tickets. The resort itself is HUGE. There are 6 different eateries in the lodge and each one is different with a reasonable range of prices for all budgets. Libby lebkichers has a pretty simple yet really yummy buffet for breakfast. The Cocoa Beanery is perfect for a quick cup of coffee and bagel. Our personal favorite was the Bears Den for dinner. It had a great variety of food choices, excellent quality and very reasonable prices. The lodge has 3 pools. They are nice, but the 10 minute hike to get to them puts a damper on any fun. The resort is just spread out over so much footage that it really takes forever to walk to anything, even just the lobby. They have a small arcade and gym also. Again, nothing extraordinary. The rooms were clean, basic rooms. We had a 2 queen bed room. This is the same super basic room you would find at any hotel. The staff were nice, friendly, but not overly helpful. In my mind I would think that a resort under the Hershey name would go above and beyond any other regular hotel experience, and I didn't really see that here. The shuttle to and from the park and other hershey attractions was very convenient. One of our nights there we had a severe thunderstorm. The whole area ended up losing power. The entire place got very hot very fast. The storm passed quickly but it was hours before the power came back on. The staff seemed to have no interest in trying to provide any kind of entertainment for the many many guests that were just wandering around aimlessly. They didn't even do the scheduled activities for the evening that they could have done (they were supposed to do s'mores at the campfire from 8-9). Overall, I don't have much to complain about, but I also wasn't really too impressed either. Staying at the lodge means paying the big ticket for the Hershey name. There were some conveniences but overall I don't think we would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank amberleigh723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi amberleigh723!

Thank you for taking the time to convey your experience during your stay with us at the Hershey Lodge.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our different restaurant options on property and our complimentary shuttle service to the Hershey attractions.

We strive daily to provide outstanding hospitality to each of our guests and I regret that we failed to do so for you. Our guests’ feedback I significant in assessing where we have met or exceeded our guests’ expectations as well as areas where we may make additional improvements.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,329 - 1,335 of 2,811 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just came back from a family vacay trip to Hershey Park and we stayed at the Lodge. I was so glad we decided to stay! We were thinking of staying at Hotel Hershey but the price just wasn't in the budget.
Reviews I had heard and read were mixed but of course, you always have to judge for yourself.
The lodge is huge! We were supposed to be able to check in early but, when we arrived, we were told our rooms would not be ready until around 4. That was a little disappointing but, since the children were ready to hit the park, we didn't sweat it.
They called us to let us know the rooms were ready at 4. We were very pleased with the rooms. We reserved two with king beds. The rooms were clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The Hershey kisses embroidered onto the sheets and printed on the wallpaper were nice touches.
We ordered room service and it was prompt and of course a complimentary Hershey bar came with each order....another nice touch.
We also appreciated the free shuttle service available!

If you are on the fence about staying here, take the leap. It is a bit pricey also but, worth it! Its a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TTJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just finished a 2 night stay, our room was super clean, seemed fairly recently renovated, no problems at all with humidity. We had a room with both a outer and inner door, which was nice to load the suitcases to and from the car but was not like a motel. Pools were fine, did not eat here. Had a resort feel to the place, exactly what we wanted and cheap than hershey hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had confirmed package reservations for a family trip to Hershey Lodge. Due to illness, our trip needed to be rescheduled for the following week. The rate difference was ridiculous and they refused to honor our previous rate. They said nothing could be done and were very willing to allow us to cancel our trip entirely. Apparently they have enough business.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Deb_Cpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Hershey Lodge is a great alternative for families not looking to spend a lot on Hotel Hershey. I will say that we went during July 4th weekend and I'm sure with it being a holiday it didnt help with the crowd but we had a good time with just a few exceptions.

The Good:

We were able to check in at 11am. This is probably due to the fact that we had gotten a room with one king bed and because so many families were there, all the queen rooms were booked.

The shuttle service is amazing and very reliable to the park.

Our room was ok, a bit dated, but you're not spending a lot of time there.

The bad:

The parking was a nightmare after 8pm. If you leave to go to dinner and want to park near your room, you cant. The only option is to park near the lobby but then its a hike to your room.

The pool area was chaos, and there were no available chairs. Also, there is no "break" so kids are in the water non stop leaving really no room for adults to enjoy the water.

Next time, we will probably go to Hershey Hotel instead. It seemed to be more adult friendly.

Room Tip: Try not to stay near the pool area, it was really busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SunSun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hershey Lodge will be one of your pricier options in Hershey, PA but the amenities make it worth it in my opinion. The lodge is huge and has potential to be busy during summer months as it hosts conferences, but it will offer everything your family needs! The rooms are very nice sized, there are several restaurants on the property to choose from. They have a full fledged children's program with daily activities. There are several pools and mini golf. There is a free shuttle to HersheyPark and Hershey World. We stayed for 4 days and loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Spazymunky!

As our goal is always to provide guests with a happy and memorable visit, it pleases me to know that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feelings and offer such positive feedback about all the amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge in the near future.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

You pay more to stay here for the resort style, the free shuttle to the park and early access to the park. But be aware- this extra $$ does not buy you a bathroom with a fan, or a room without excess humidity ( sheets and rug were damp). Beyond the lodge ' s control most families staying here have kids under five with no idea or upbringing about staying quiet in the halls. Also at peak times the lobby and cafe are mad houses. We asked for a room near the pool and we're given exactly th at, although the closest pool was never open. I also would
December expect an expensive hotel to employ people with experience not ones seemingly in a summer job: nice enough but never knew the answer off the cuff and very unsure of themselves. To end on a positive, the beds, though damp, we're VERY comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near pool or shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
522 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: £38 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing