We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miles to the pool”
Review of Hershey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hershey Lodge
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Miles to the pool”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at the Hershey Lodge for two nights. It (and the whole area) are rather Disney-esque except the theme is (of course) chocolate. We stayed in the Kisses towers. The room was good; shampoo and lotion smelled like chocolate. Everything is milk chocolate brown. I'm sensing a theme here!
The layout of the lodge is a bit complicated. In order to get to the swimming pool we were instructed to go down a very long hallway, and then turn and go down yet another long hallway. When we surveyed the area, we realized that we had made a virtual triangle and it would be much quicker and closer to walk across a parking lot. I'm not sure why we and others were directed to walk so far out of the way.
The gift store is very cute with all kinds of Kisses, Hershey and York items. I particularly loved the oversized Peppermint Patties - not seen before or since that trip. Hershey is a good family destination and the Lodge has a limited shuttle service to some of the feature points of the town. All that said, once is probably enough.

Room Tip: Upgrading to a junior suite is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roqzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    801
    460
    171
    126
See reviews for
1,546
231
25
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (676)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

To be fair, this is a family resort, but they still charge high prices and allow bad service....I would recommend seeing where else you could stay.

It is very important you ask to stay in an updated part of the Lodge and not near an exterior door.

On our first night they put us in a room on the first floor right across from a door leading to the parking lot. Huge mistake! It was so loud all night and morning. (In the H section or Reece's peanut buttercup section.) And when you try to call the front desk, be ready for them not to answer, or let the phone ring for 5-10 min. The lobby is always packed and the front desk ppl are obviously not instructed to answer the phone. So good luck getting anyone to help. Once we finally left a message with the hotel operator, someone called back and were not accommodating at all until I explained I was pregnant and needed to sleep!

The next day at 2pm, they finally moved us to a much nicer room....with updates, 4th floor, close to lobby and all around better.
We are here now and it's very nice and quiet. (Hershey kiss section on 4).

This took 3 phone calls, multiple people and a lot of complaining.

To be clear, this is not an accommodating hotel and with it being nearly 300 a night, I would suggest you find a cheaper hotel whose service will surely be the same or better.

I was sadly disappointed, especially after reading the biography of MS Hershey. He would have never have allowed the shoddy service at his namesake lodge.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyCanino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hi JillyCanino!

Thank you for bringing to our attention your concerns as it relates to your most recent stay. It is most disheartening to learn that we did not meet your expectations, as we take customer satisfaction quite seriously. Based on the information shared, I must agree that there is absolutely no excuse for poor customer service. And for this, I am sincerely sorry.

Know that I have shared your concerns with our Front Office Team.

We hope that when your travels bring you back to Hershey, you will give us another opportunity to serve you and your family.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Excellent package price for this upscale hotel.Great service as well,Im so glad I chose to stay here.The lobby is very attractive and spotless clean as well as all the restrooms.I requested a room in the tower area near the lobby and the pools and that was exactly what we got.The room had a nice modern decor with crisp white linens (with a hershey kiss print) very cute touch,my daughter loved it as well as myself.Breakfast at Lebbys was excellent,very large portion for the price.We loved the little gift shop,and the shuttle bus transportation was amazing.Catch the shuttle right outside the lobby and get dropped off right in front of Chocolate World.The hotel also let's you keep your vehicle parked in there lot after checkout.We got to preview the park for 3 hours the night before which turned out to be great,my kids loved it.Hardly any lines for all the rides including the big roller coasters.My son must have gone on all of them more then twice.We would not have been able to do do that without the Hershey lodge package.It was a great expierence and I would highly recommend you stay here if planning a trip to Hershey.I know we will again.Some people have commented on the hotel being to pricey,but for this kind of Hotel you cannot beat this price.If you don't have a package then I could see it being way to pricey at over $300 a night.

Room Tip: Tower rooms,they are centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camelot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to look for a vacation package when coming to Hershey for the first time and in that respect the Lodge doesn't disappoint. The rooms were fine for a family of four and the shuttle bus service made it convenient to get to the park. There is an indoor/outdoor pool and tennis courts and various dining options. They allow you to leave your car at the hotel on the day that you check out so you can take the shuttle bus to the park and avoid the hassle and cost of the parking lot. You can also get into the park an hour earlier because you are a guest at a Hershey property. The service is sort of slow (as regards check in, restaurants), but everyone was friendly and polite. Overall we had a good experience and would recommend it if it is your first time visiting. If you have been to the park before and know the area, you might find it a little overpriced.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Too far away from the park to walk but has a free shuttle service. Indoor pool with a hot tub is good. The rooms are very good and clean everything was fine. The price was very expensive. There was free wifi in the rooms

Room Tip: H or I section is very close to the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miksa223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This place is for thirty somethings and for those in extreme good physical condition. Ideal for power walkers. As you drive up to the entrance, you're greeted by valet service---red flag! The parking lot is as big as a football field. The rooms are far-flung in different buildings; much like a college campus.
The lobby is dimly lit, not inviting. At check-in, you are told $200.00 will be billed to your room for "damages". What they don't tell you is that they're billing $200. PER NIGHT, PER ROOM. They will issue a credit "eventually" should they decide you haven't left any damage.
This place is so huge you have to drive everywhere on the property. You can't drive in a straight line; the lot is like a maze---lefts & rights everywhere. At night it's perilous. We didn't go to their restaurants because of the distance from our rooms. The lowest priced item is yogurt & granola for $9.50. Take it from there.
Now, to the nitty gritty. The front desk person encourages you to spend down the $200. and charge to your room. At 9pm, there were children left unattended and unsupervised all around the pool. The bar was full; were these people going to drive to their rooms? Security was either invisible or non- existent. So much danger, so little oversight.
If you want to avoid all the driving, stay in the main building where the babies cry and the children play in the halls---at all hours. Customer relations person excelled at rudeness & nastiness---in my opinion, her preference is for the drinking crowd. They charge more.

Room Tip: Unless you are a power walker or like driving in a maze,there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LONGISLANDER21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey Enterta... R, General Manager at Hershey Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
HI Longislander21!

It is most disheartening to learn that we did not meet your expectations, as we take guest satisfaction quite seriously.

It is not our policy to take a Damage Deposit. What we do take at the point of check - in is a deposit for Incidentals, which affords our guests the ease of charging meals and other services back to their room account. Our apologies for this misunderstanding.

While we cannot change what has past, I do hope that you give Hershey Entertainment and Resorts the opportunity to serve you again in the near future, at which time you can experience the hospitality we pride ourselves in providing.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great family vacation! The lodge was clean well run with lots of eating options on site, even the lobby smelled like chocolate. The property was well cared for along with the ammenities. Did I mention chocolate chocolate and more chocolate!? The shuttle buses from the lodge to Hershey park was convenient and ran on a regular bases. Did I mention how good the chocolate Martinis are? There was even chocolate butter at breakfast! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogielise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
535 reviews
2.2 mi away
Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Lodge

Property: Hershey Lodge
Address: 325 University Dr, Hershey, PA 17033-2800
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hershey
#2 Business Hotel in Hershey
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hershey
#6 Family Hotel in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hershey Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 665 guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of function space, Hershey Lodge provides convenience and comfort for families and guests of all ages. We hope you'll enjoy the sweet hospitality and iconic chocolate details around every corner. Hershey Lodge is also one of The Official Resorts of Hersheypark, alongside The Hotel Hershey and Hersheypark Camping Resort. Guests to each of our resorts enjoy the value, convenience, and special access of our FREE resort benefits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Hotel Hershey
Hershey Lodge Pennsylvania
Convention Center Hershey Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing