We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good only if you get free tickets” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hershey Story

The Hershey Story
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hershey starts here! How did Milton Hershey go from bankruptcy to brilliance, transforming chocolate from a luxury to an everyday treat? How did he invent a community? Why did he give away his fortune? That's the Hershey story. Enjoy a 45-minute, hands on class in the Chocolate Lab and sample warm drinking chocolate from around the world at Tastings. Grab a delicious treat from the Pantry Café and find a unique assortment of keepsakes and chocolate at Museum Shop.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
650 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good only if you get free tickets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Once again the simple concept of not robbing customers is lost in this place. While it was interesting to see how things evolved lower the ticket price and you will gain more visitors.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wkrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    383
    148
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
199 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

At the Hershey Museum, it's a circular flow from room to room exhibiting Milton Hershey's life and philanthrophy. Very informative and educational. Beautiful displays, testimonials and videos. Gift shop.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jocar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatsail
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Edition to Hershey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I grew up nearby so I knew more than most about Milton Hershey but both my mother and I found a lot to learn about and liked the historical artifacts. It is also really nice to have something downtown- I hope it helps bring more shops and restaurants in which will be good for locals and tourist alike. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was that I felt like the $10 price was a little pricy. $6-8 would have been better.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boatsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I was quite surprised: the best thing at Hershey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Hershey Park? Take it or leave it. (Go to Knoebel's where they even have grass!) But this place is great! We took our grandsons there, both under 10 years old, and even THEY enjoyed it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank babybowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun and interactive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Even the gift shop was fun. Very informative on Milton Hershey and his legacy. If you complete all the interactive and read everyting it will take a good hour and half.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cynthia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hershey Story also viewed

 

Been to The Hershey Story? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing