We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS SICK!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THIS PLACE IS SICK!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

First of all, we stayed at the cocoa suite. It only took us about four hours to find it with no help from the staff. They failed to tell us that our room was up an outside stairway to hell. You open the first door and your in a little hall which by the way didnt have any lights in it the first night. We got in our room and were greeted by an awful smell like someone had died in it the night before. The place was disgusting! The beds were not what they said they were on the internet. There was bugs everywhere in our beds,bags. We pulled back our sheets to find they had never been changed! popcorn,hair,dirt,stains,cigarette holes. When you turned on the heater it smelled worse in there. The tv flickered bad it felt like you were having a seizure. The bathroom smelled like rotten cheese. The floors were never swept. we looked down at the bottom of our bed and there was so much dirt,food, also rose petals from someones flingy night before us! ewww. We made the front desk man come up and change our beds. When he took the sheets off the bed you could see so much nasty dirt on the mattress. I dont think theyve ever washed or changed the sheets. The second day we were there the two men that worked there just let themselves in our room. They asked if they could come in, we were getting ready to open the door but by then they both had opened the door themselves with the key they have. Talk about scary! We left for the day and came back to find that only ONE of the beds had been made. The garbage was not taken out and nothing was taken care of. When we confronted them about this they said that they wouldnt do it because one of our makeup bags was sitting on the bathroom counter! I dont know if they got to lazy after making one bed and decided not make the other. Not acceptable. We did not once sleep with the comforter. They look worse then the sheets! DO NOT stay here. It never felt so good to be back home when all we wanted was a nice vacation! We were almost convinced to sleep in our car! We did not get much sleep the three nights we stayed. We didnt come back to the motel until late because we did not want to stay there. Let me tell you about the continental breakfast. It consists of two rotten apples, a banana, a couple of coffee cakes sitting in the window. to your left is a cereal dispenser of cinamon toast crunch that looks like it had been sitting there for eight years. The last day we went to see if we could find anything that looked half way decent and they locked the doors and left an emergency number on the door. So much for breakfast. We came back to the motel later after we had checked out and demanded a refund. The man infront of us was also demanding a refund! Weird! not. This place is a disgusting dump.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardenwich, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry to learn about your experience. The guests have made reservation for 2 queen beds for 2 persons. We checked them in around noon as a courtesy although our check in time is after 2 pm. They called the office about 11.30 pm & complained about cookie crumb in bed so we offered to change everything. When we went to change the sheets, they were number in party 5. I offered rollaway bed for them to be more comfortable at no cost( usually $10.00 per night ). Next day when we went freshenup their room, everything was just on flloor or beds & open make up stuff everywhere & left open. We tried to clean up & setup beds & everything as much we could. We did not want to touch or spray on their makeup stuff. They complained about that we did not properly clean the room. We offered them refund & find a plce they would be more comfortable & they denied. They said they were okay...
About continental breakfast, we open our breakfast between 7 am & 9.30 am. They seemed to enjoy the breakfast as they came in couple of times. We offer tea, coffee, hot chocolate, orange juice apple juice, 2 kind of cereal, milk, coffee cake, bagels-cream cheese, waffels, cinemon rolls, fresh fruits etc
We are in fact doing some remodelling to our property at the moment and we will continue to improve our service and quality..as we strongly believe that we will not be Happy if our Guests aren't..
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    54
    34
    31
    110
See reviews for
120
64
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shangrila
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Milton Motel is great for basic accomodations at a reasonable price. The place was pretty clean and the staff were very friendly. It met all of my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardenwich, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We thank you for your review. We will try our best to meet your expectations as we are under going some renovations. Your next stay will be better & hope to serve you in future.

Thanks again
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This place is a dump we were to stay 3 nights and could only make 2 nights the water kept running and beds sucked all lumpy and it was junky looking I would find another place to stay and it not really a hotel its more of a motel avoid if possible,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardenwich, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn about your unpleasant stay. Although we can not identify the guests as they do not reveal their names, we assume they stayed with us. We would really appriciate if they would come to the office to draw our attention for something they did not like or unpleasant during their stay. We are working hard to make sure to meet all our guests expectations. To make our guests stay more comfortable, all our rooms are equipped with Microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ board, DVD player, all premium channels including PREMIUM ESPN PACKAGE free, complimentary breakfast and wi-fi. All our beds are new PILLOW-TOP mattress same used in star hotels. Our linens are serviced in a big laundramet so they are properly cleaned & ironed. We will not compromise with anything that our guests would not like to have.
In anycase, we will make sure to have clean comfortable rooms with all the great amenities and corteous service. We always believe that our customers always right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hershey hotels

Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Milton for 4 nights around Thanksgiving. The room was inexpensive (we paid $55 a night), which I'm sure is part of its attraction. Also it is conveniently located.

We were given, what was claimed to be, one of their nicer rooms, which was quite spacious. It had a coffee maker, a microwave, and a refrigerator. It also had Direct TV, which was great but there was no channel listing (lots and lots of channels). That was somewhat inconvenient.

We were reasonably pleased with our stay. The staff, primarily asst mgr/maintenance man, Bill, was extremely cordial and. helpful. There was a nice restaurant (Dukes) located next door.

We often stay at the less-expensive motels on our short trips, as long as they have a microwave, a refrigerator, and a TV. Typically I rate the non-upscale motels with 3 stars.

In this case, however my rating is 2 stars. I did state that we were reasonably pleased, but I sensed that getting a decent room is somewhat the luck of the draw. The motel advertised WiFi in some rooms (we neither requested nor provided with WiFi), but while we were there others had a hard time getting it to work. I also overheard a complaint about loss of power in one room.

Regarding our room, there were no major problems, but a lot of small niggling ones. The interior was a little bit shabby, the bathroom sink barely drained at all, the refrigerator was not quite cool enough (control broken off), the heater would not turn on and off automatically (just manually), there were no extra blankets in the room, and the amount of hot water available for shower seemed to depend on guest demand (need a larger hot water heater)

In short, the hotel needs further renovation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmerTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardenwich, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you for your feed back. We regrett that we could not make your stay more pleasant although we did not hear any complaints from you except for the poor internet signals. Well, that has already been taken care of. We are in the process of some remodelling as we haven't had chance during busy summer. We will keep maintaining the place & will make sure to keep it clean comfortable & affordable for our guests.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I'd like to start by saying that I stayed here a couple years back. It is a budget motel but served it's purpose enough that I recommended it to 5 families in my neighborhood when we planned our trip to Hershey Park for the weekend of Oct 29, 2011. Unfoirtunately, a nor'easter blanketed much of Pa and NJ with as much as 17" of snow resulting in the closing of Hershey Park. In anticipation of this snow storm I contacted Hershey Park which said if there was snow coverage, the park would in fact be closed. Myself and the other families immediately contacted the Motel on the 28th to request that we be given the courtesy of visiting in the early spring. ( we didnt want our money back just a future visit when the park opened in the spring) Our calls were met by an answering machine and never returned. My husband contacted the hotel on the morning of and spoke to a gentlemen to ensure that they knew we would not be visiting and inquired about our request for a future stay. He stated that he would have to discuss it with management and would get back to us. Well after nearly two weeks, we once again contacted them and were told by the woman claiming to be the proprietor/manager that they would not make good on our request (our resv was paid through a reservation web-site and pre-paid. They were very gracious and said they would make good on the Refund if the motel agreed). She said we should have called 24 hrs prior because she lost business and could have used the rooms. When I said we had and were forwarded to a machine she had no reply. As for using the rooms, a lie as there was still availability the day prior and the knew by 9am October 29th that we were not coming. As I told the wonderful woman that I spoke to at the Milton Motel, we five families will never use their property again and will tell everyone we know on every travel blog we can not to waste their money or time on a greedy business with terrible management and an unforgiving cancellation policy even under the circumstances. If you value your money, hold on to it and spend it elsewhere!

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyFaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardenwich, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
We are not happy to learn this as our guests made reservations thru other reservaton website.. We received phone calls in the morning to cancel the reservatons for the sameday.Our cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to arrival date. We all knew that snow was in the forcast for that particular day and our guests did not cancel their reservations a day before. We offered the credit towards their next stay as a hotel courtesy. They also threatened desk clerk that if refund is not issued, they will write on Tripadvisor. We are still offering them credit towards their next stay...we regret that they do not want to accept our offer. We value all our guests & will always take a good care ....

Thanks
Milton Motel Hershey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I was in town for a high school reunion. I decided to opt for a budget motel and this place fit the bill. It was clean and the staff was friendly. They have wireless internet but unless you sit in the lobby or on the sidewalk outside your room, you might not get a decent signal. The bed and bath areas were clean, and the bed was comfortable. I would stay here again. They do offer a breakfast, but I did not have that. I did have a fridge and microwave in my room and I used them instead. If you want a place that is SUPER MODERN, stay at one of the chain hotels that you can pay 3 or 4 times more for per night. If you are looking for a decent place to sleep at a good price and you are going to be out enjoying the area until bedtime, then this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Called the motel the morning of our one-day, October 28th stay, booked in early September, and requested a cancelation and refund as we had just heard there was a big weather system coming their way. It turned out to be a "nor'easter" that dumped 10" of snow on Harrisburg and went up to northern New England (October 29th). I was told to call Booking.com and they were very gracious but said it was up to the motel. Needless to say, they charged us for the room. We were lucky to leave the area on Friday before the storm hit and arrived home (RI) that night.

If you're looking for an inexpensive motel with a good cancellation policy find something else. We have never canceled a room before but did expect some consideration given the circumstances. The night before we stayed at an Econo Lodge off I-81 at Rte. 39 about six miles from Hershey and were very pleased. Price for Thursday night was only a few dollars more than the Milton and they would have canceled the second night without a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Kevtenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
344 reviews
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Hershey
Econo Lodge Hershey
#18 of 25 in Hershey
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#15 of 25 in Hershey
210 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey
Address: 1733 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1122 (Formerly Milton Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn & Suites® is located in Hershey, PA, minutes away from Hersheypark, Hershey’s Chocolate World and Hershey Theater. This Hershey, Pennsylvania hotel is also convenient to Cullari Vineyards Winery, Zoo America – North America Wildlife Park and Giant Center, home of Hershey Bears hockey.Hollywood casino, National Race track & Hershey Medical Centre are just minute’s way from Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey, PAGuests of the Rodeway Inn & Suites are invited to relax in the seasonal outdoor pool and sundeck, have a meal in the picnic area and take care of business needs in the business center. Free continental breakfast and free wireless high-speed Internet access are also available at this hotel.All guest rooms offer a microwave, refrigerator , Iron & Ironing Board, DVD Players coffee maker and hair dryer & 40” Flat Screen TV . Rodeway Inn Hershey Hotel also features some suites & rooms with kitchen facilities.The Rodeway Inn & Suites is a great place to stay for leisure and business travelers in the Hershey, PA area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Hotel Hershey
Milton Motel Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing