We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Hershey Park, will definitely return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel was surprisingly clean and updated and not what you would expect from what you see on the outside. The room smelled clean and had new carpeting, sink countertops, bathroom tiles and a flat screen TV. The beds were comfortable. We had two adjoining rooms and that helped so that the adults could watch a show in one room while the kids watched cartoons in the other. The room was quiet and we were all able to rest after a long day at Hershey Park. The breakfast in the lobby was just adequate but the kids enjoyed it since it was mostly cereal, yogurt, donuts, etc. Overall, this motel was perfect for our Hershey vacation. The location was close to all attractions. The friendly staff made a huge difference and added to our experience. Overall, cheap price, great location, friendly staff and great hotel. I recommend this for your next stay in Hershey, PA

Room Tip: Rooms 30, 29, 28 in the back are quiet and away from the main road
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yul77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Stayed here for one night with 3 kids/2 adults. 5 minutes from the park with a continental breakfast. 2 queen beds and very small bathroom. Beds were very comfortable as well as pillows and the room was very clean. A pack-n-play was set up as requested. We received a phone call after check-in to make sure were were happy with stay. Negatives: room looked a bit dated and dark with wallpaper starting to come off walls. Our room backed up to the pool so it was too noisy for our toddler to take a nap. Air conditioner was noisy, but honestly we didn't go to bed until midnight and basically collapsed from a long day at the park so slept well. Definitely not as nice as the pics on their website but it was an ok stay for just one night. Howevery, $209 for one night?! Definitely overpriced but that seems to be the deal with any hotel near the Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j34259o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We chose this hotel based on the location and lovely pictures on the website. When we pulled up, I was sure we were at the wrong hotel! Nothing looked the same! The rooms are tiny, dank, and only sort if clean. The beds were damp feeling and musty. I honestly didn't want to leave the park to go back and sleep! As far as service, the only interaction I had other than check in/out was to inquire about the wifi which wasn't working and the issue was never resolved. The location is perfect, but I'd rather drive a few miles next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Athena0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

From the time we arrived, till the time we left, the staff was nice and helpful. The pool was great for all the kids, and the food on the patio was outstanding. We were 3 families and we had connecting rooms which is great at night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed here July 15th as an overnighter for Hersheypark. Agree that this is a motor lodge trying to upgrade- hasn't quite gotten there yet. The good parts of the room- flat screen tv, microwave and fridge, new flooring in the bathroom. Now the bad parts- stains on the bedspreads (don't want to think about it!), dirty carpeting, tiny bathroom and the shower area still needs updating although it was clean. The lobby and restaurant in the basement had a strong unpleasant musty smell. Was surprised at the high prices for the restaurant as it was in the dark musty basement of the Howard Johnson's. Continental breakfast was basic but adequate. Juices, cereals, yogurt and fruit, pastries, bagels. Hotels in this area are too expensive for what they are but they can charge since there's nothing else in the area but the park. We wanted a decent place to sleep for one night but didn't want to pay a lot. Still paid a lot and it was a little less than decent. Would not stay here again unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LynnBB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We attended a concert at Hershey Park Stadium, and decided to make it an overnight trip so that we wouldn't have to make the drive home that same night. We booked this hotel based purely on the fact that it said it was ONE MILE from Hershey Park Stadium.....in our minds, this made it very walk-able, and we were thrilled that we could walk to the concert and not deal with paying for parking and having to sit in bumper-to-bumper traffic trying to leave the venue after the concert ended.

We arrived to find that one mile was actually more like THREE (each way).....which, in 90+ degree heat, was just not acceptable. We paid a little more than we wanted for the room because we THOUGHT we were getting the convenience of not having to drive to the show and deal with the hassle of parking. We could have paid significantly less at any number of nearby hotels, and probably gotten nicer rooms.

The room was small, cramped, and musty. There were unidentifiable stains on the comforter. The photos on the website of the rooms, the pool area, etc. are extremely deceiving.

We returned late from the show (about 11:30) and got to bed around 1am, looking forward to being away and being able to sleep in. Bright and early at 7am, a trash truck arrived, and it was so loud it sounded like every dumpster on the premisis was directly on the other side of the wall. The noise was ridiculous, and went on for what seemed like forever.

We ended up leaving soon after that, because we didn't want to spend another minute in that room. (So much for a nice, relaxing morning!) Of course there was no one at the desk when we tried to check out.

The room was extremely overpriced, dirty, and disappointing. I would not return to this hotel if the room was free.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilbanksy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This hotel was great for our Hershey vacation. The location was perfectly close to all attractions and had spacious cleaned rooms. The warm and friendly staff really added to the experience. Overall, great pricel, great location, excellent staff and great hotel. I recommend this for your next stay in Hershey, PA

Room Tip: Double Bedroom had big flat screen TVs
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
355 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Address: 845 East Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033-1214 (Formerly Spinner's Inn and Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: £47 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story brick/stucco buildings with 52 guest rooms; interior and exterior entrances - 1 mi away from Hershey attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey Hotel Hershey
Howard Johnson Hershey
Howard Johnson Hotel Hershey
Spinners Hotel Hershey
Spinners Inn Hershey
Spinners Inn And Restaurant Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing