We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at how big the room was! Large enough for the
four of us to be very comfortable. The "kitchen" area was a plus.
Continental breakfast left a lot to be desired--frozen donuts and scary looking cereal--not very appealing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

581 - 587 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Made reservations too late and not able to get anything else. Comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, the AC worked well.staff seemed a accommodating. It is an older place, some updating has been done, it the bath tub is stained and looked dirty, may have only been age, My biggest problem was around the door in the bathroom there were some small rolls of brown stained toilet appear, and that discussed me. Left a small tip for the maid to see if it was a temporary over sight, still not cleaned up. Breakfast was minimal. Guess we are used to Homewood Suites, Residents Inns and even Fairfield Inns, this was not up to that standard.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladykay0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed at this Howard Johnson's for one night in June. The reception area is small and sometimes unattended at night. When we got to our room, we found that the TV wasn't working. Tried to call the front desk-phone wasn't working either. I went down to the front desk to be ignored for a couple minutes while the attendant (a different one than earlier) tried to figure out how to use the computer. When I was acknowledged, I reported my problems and she would come up and take a look. After a few minutes, she couldn't figure it out so she would report it. It was getting late so no big deal. If you have a problem and the desk is unattended, you have to use a phone on the counter to call someone. Not a great system. The room I had reserved was a one bed, got a room with two queen beds. Not sure if that was supposed to be an upgrade, but at least there was a place to put the luggage. The room was fairly clean and there'd was reasonably comfortable. In the morning, there's a continental breakfast area off the main lobby. Nothing special, but enough to get started with some coffee and cereal. Upon checkout, the attendant asked about our stay, so I told her about our issues. She told me I should have reported it and I told her I had, so she offered me a break on the bill (that's as much as I'm allowed). All in all not a horrible experience, but next time I'll try somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Willis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The only good thing about our room was the size. The carpets were filthy and weren't vacuumed. In fact, my daughter found a pile of toenail clippings under the sink. There was also, what looked like, vomit or feces that was not cleaned off the side of the tub. The towels (even the extra ones we were given) were grey, dirty and threadbare. One of the towels looked like a woman wiped her makeup off and put it back on the pile -- that came from the extra towels the manager gave us. The credenza counter tops were sticky and had hair on them.

The screen door slider had a hole the size of a bowling ball and the front door had a huge gash that looked like someone kicked the door in.

Perhaps the worst room I've spent the night in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahKM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Customer service is really matter in Hotel Industry. This hotel is one of the good example of that. I was attending my friend's wedding. Need some place for my bags. I had reached in the morning. Check out time was in the afternoon, so definitely rooms were not ready and i was ready to wait, but general manager Latif Shaikh aka Larry arranged room for me. He is really nice and very helpful.
His staff was also really nice, helpful and professional. Hotel is near to local attraction. I really enjoyed my stay. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viks120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#15 of 25 in Hershey
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
610 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Address: 845 East Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033-1214 (Formerly Spinner's Inn and Restaurant)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hershey
Price Range: £45 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story brick/stucco buildings with 52 guest rooms; interior and exterior entrances - 1 mi away from Hershey attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey Hotel Hershey
Howard Johnson Hershey
Howard Johnson Hotel Hershey
Spinners Hotel Hershey
Spinners Inn Hershey
Spinners Inn And Restaurant Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing