We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great staff but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hershey Grill at the Hershey Lodge

The Hershey Grill at the Hershey Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hershey Grill at the Hershey Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 84 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Focused on culinary details and creative flavor combinations, there is something unique at every meal.
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I were looking for a dining experience that said......Hershey. This place was hit and miss. I'll start with the negatives because there weren't many and they were relatively minor. First, any place with "Hershey" in the name has to have some creative uses of chocolate or cocoa in at least a few dishes but there were no such dishes. Also, no such luck on non-alcoholic drinks. Here's a tip, not all adults consume alcohol. Just to feel like a kid again, I ordered a chocolate milk but it wasn't very good. Lastly, there were flies all over because of the doors constantly being opened by the staff serving those seated outdoors. Can't really help that one. Now for the positives and boy were there many. First, the philly steak quesadillas. All we could say was WOW!!!! Delicious doesn't do them justice. We sat at the bar so we could see that they were very popular. Try the philly steak quesadillas; you won't be disappointed. Next, this will sound funny but I had the meatloaf. It was fantastic!!!!! Served with the best whipped potatoes I ever had and an andouille sausage gravy, this meal made it easy to overlook any and everything that didn't meet my expectations. My wife had the salmon and loved it! We finished off with a huge bowl of ice cream with giant chocolate chip cookies and chocolate syrup. The staff was very friendly and engaging. We will make this place must stop on future visits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    113
    56
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

good quality food, with attractive presentation, pleasant service, good bar drinks, nice outside eating area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cmcmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Delicious food and friendly staff. The crab cakes and salmon were some of the best I've had. The restaurant and bathroom were clean. Very happy with the Hershey Grill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5cohunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden views-sit outside if you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A glass of wine, a nice salad, and beautiful garden views. What could be better than this lovely setting at the Hotel Hershey. They even have complimentary valet parking. Take the time to look at the historical photos in the hallway-they are a great insight into the lore of the hotel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spasister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, PA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

First of all, this is a hotel restaurant which explains some. This is my second visit since the remodel and still unhappy with the décor - very drab/boring/institutional and unwelcoming. WHY did they get rid of the cute/quaint/unique circular booths (still trying to get over that). The food used to be better -- in fact, they used to have one of the best burgers I have ever had -- no more! Lunch with coworkers and none of us were thrilled with our meal. Love the covered outdoor seating with pond, lovely flowers, and landscaping (turn the music off outside so we can enjoy the serenity of the waterscape landscaping, though!). Back to the food... my burger overdone, another's underdone, two ordered breakfast and were so excited for the s'mores French toast and both were extremely disappointed, and the last got a salad and didn't have much to say about it. Five out of five people disappointed? Not good for business! Price for a burger $9 (not bad, really, considering hotel restaurant in Hershey) -- but very limited menu. Haven't been here for a while and it'll be a long time, if ever, till we return. Bring back the circular booths, get with it with the food, and we'll be back! Too many other and better choices close by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The4Ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hershey Grill at the Hershey Lodge also viewed

 

Been to The Hershey Grill at the Hershey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing