We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was a 4 mile walk in the hot sun from chocolate world; also unclean w/ a pool that smelled like a sewer, and horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“This hotel was a 4 mile walk in the hot sun from chocolate world; also unclean w/ a pool that smelled like a sewer, and horrible”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I would never stay in this hotel again. The office staff was deceitful about their location which required us to walk for hours in the hot sun to return from Chocolate world. The beds appeared to have been slept in already, the shampoo bottle was half used, The soap was the size if a quarter, the staff was discourteous. I quote..."you are on vacation! Why do you care how much something costs!". We paid $60 to come by cab from Harrisburg after they said it would cost $20-$30, and they discouraged us from trying to take a city bus. They wanted to charge us $30 to check in early (1:00pm) even though we were going to leave our things in a dirty room and were only there for a day. These people were unkind, deceitful and unprofessional. One of the worst places I have ever stayed!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acemyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoaCountryMgmnt, VP of Operations at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I apologize that you were dissatisfied during your recent stay with us. I assure you that we did not intend to mislead you on our location and proximity to the area Hershey attractions. Should you choose to stay with us in the future please know that we can assist you in making transportation arrangements.

- Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    42
    19
    17
    30
See reviews for
76
20
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hammonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

this is the dirtiest place i have ever seen, blood splatter on sheets.... toilet leaking, don't flush, dust everywhere, smelly, broken window, old 19 " tv... they advertize 27" flat screens... stay far far away.....i choose to drive the 3 hour trip home after the park instead of staying here. it was that bad..

Room Tip: no good rooms here, all nasty, especially the basement rooms with no rooms, and water damage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoaCountryMgmnt, VP of Operations at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
We apologize for your negative experience. We are diligently working on upgrading our guest rooms so we can meet and exceed all guest needs. The cleanliness and maintenance issues that you expressed are being addressed.

- Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hershey hotels

Jeffersonville, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel is an inexpensive option on Chocolate Avenue, but I would stay somewhere else if we ever went back.

The complex is a bit hard to navigate as there are a couple of different buildings and it's hard to tell where you're supposed to pull in and park. After checking in, we had to pull all the way through the complex out into a back alley and drive around the block to get back to the right parking area.

Checkin was a bit of a hassle. I had booked online and the price I was charged was about $20 more expensive than I was expecting. Turns out, the online price didn't include a hefty $17 tourism tax and another random fee charged by the hotel. I still don't fully understand what the extra fees were about. I asked, but the family who runs the hotel speak in accented English which I couldn't understand very well. The office appears to connect to their living quarters and it smelled heavily of curry, which bothered my husband's allergies.

The first room we checked into had a broken air conditioning unit. It was sweltering, so we asked to be moved to another room. When we got there, I tried running some hot water in the sink and it never got hot. We called the front desk again, thinking there was no hot water. He came in and figured out that the hot and cold taps on the sink were switched. Ugh!

There were rowdy crowds of teens hanging out by the pool. I didn't much care because I wasn't intending to use the pool, but they were also congregating on the sidewalk near my car which made me a bit nervous as I had left a good portion of my luggage in the hatch and worried a bit about one of them trying to break into my car. That didn't happen, but when we checked out in the morning there was a large pile of pocket change lying on the sidewalk near my car. Don't know what that was all about, but I wish someone would have enforced a curfew since it was well after 11pm last time I checked and they were all still out there being loud.

The bottom floor where the ice machine is located appears to be used for long-term tenants and is not well maintained. There are several places where the walls need patched and re-painted. They also store a lot of old furniture down there. It has a creepy vibe.

The room itself was clean and fairly large. The wifi worked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LacyPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed the weekend for the one direction concert. Definitely not worth $200 for one night but it was close to the park which helped a lot. Took a while to get checked in, as the staff was not being very accommodating during check in. The room was a good size and the air conditioning was fabulous. The rooms could use a bit of remodeling, as the furniture seems quite and the bed was very squeaky whenever someone moved. Conditioner should be provided and more pillows too, as there were only two very flat ones of the bed. Overall it was an okay stay, what you can expect from a motel.

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning and a room on a higher floor as some rooms are in the basement/ windowless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Clean rooms. Stayed the weekend of the One Direction concert. So I decided to give a value hotel a try. Very glad we did. No frills. Clean rooms, newer carpet, comfortable beds. friendly staff. Close to Hershey Pantry, a must to eat. I would suggest they add hair dryers to the rooms. But they did provide one at the desk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I just wanted to let everyone know that I just stayed at this hotel...I had 8 rooms booked for a soccer tournament. Troy was great as well as the rooms. The rooms were clean!! Perfect location to get to/from Hershey park. Give this place a chance!! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Bend, West Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I loved it. The rooms were great, Maid service was out standing. We spent 4 nights there and it only cost us $240.00. I have stayed there before, and the first time it was just as great as this time. Management was so nice to us. We sat around the pool at night and drank beer, and played cards, and went swimming. they even turned on the lights by the pool so we could see. Maid service gave us as many towels as we needed each and every day. Rooms were very clean, and had mini fridg's in them with microwaves . extra pillows in the drawers, Some of the room have flat screen tv's and great internet. I hope when we go back we can stay there again. Its just a short drive to Hershey park, Maybe 15 minutes at the most to the the park, Oh and gas was 3.35 a gallon..that was great to fill up on the way home, and its just right down the road from the Inn. maybe 2 blocks. My family had a ball in the outdoor pool. I would recommend this to any family. Great price at 59.00 dollars a night. that way you have more money to spend at the park.. I wouldn't stay anywhere else but here. you can't beat the price when you have a family. oooooohhh and the beds were so comfortable, just like sleeping at home. The Lambert Family

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#18 of 25 in Hershey
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

Property: Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Address: 1518 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1167 (Formerly Motel 6 Hershey - Grantville)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated Inn! We upgraded to new furniture in 2016 and large TVs in all rooms. Featuring all NON-SMOKING ROOMS! We offer an Outdoor Pool with a large deck. Diamond Award Winner. Just 1.2 miles from Hershey attractions!! Hershey Park visitors family favorite! Microwave and Refrigerators in all rooms, FREE Morning Coffee, FREE WiFi in all rooms, Coffee Makers, Irons, Ironing Boards, and Hair Dryers are some of the amenities we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Country Inn & Suite At Hershey Hotel Hershey
Cocoa Country Inn And Suite At Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing