We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a great value for the money. Clean, quiet, needs remodel though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“This was a great value for the money. Clean, quiet, needs remodel though”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This place is not for everyone. It is a well worn motel that really needs to be remodeled, but is still a good deal for the budget concious. The beds were comfortable. My room was quiet. It is very CLEAN! There is a fridge and microwave in every room. No coffee maker so bring your own. If you are travelling on a budget and can forego the ultra modern hotel prices and amenities, then this is a good place to try. They have a seasonal outdoor pool that is not open yet. If you are someone that demands ultra modern convenience, location close to attractions, up to the minute decor, then don't stay here. While this place is a great value, it is on the outskirts of town so you can't walk to any of the attractions. You must have a car to see anything. There is a full shopping center down the road to the right in Palmyra about 10 minutes down the road if you want to buy groceries for a few days.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room that does not face the main road, you will not hear the traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    44
    19
    17
    32
See reviews for
79
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

On a trip to visit Elizabethtown college, we stayed at the Cocoa Country Inn. We would definitely stay again. Clean room and no street noise. The best part was the manager on duty, Perry.
He is the son of the owner's. when he found out that we were visiting the college, he gave my daughter his experiences with the school and college in general. Very grounded young man who loves his family and goes out of his way to be kind to the guests. He gave great life advice to our daughter also. Will definitely stay here again if she attends that college.

Room Tip: We were in room 212 which was right by the hall door but on the back side of the motel. I was afraid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

First of all, do not confuse this motel with "Cocoa motel" which is nearby and has worst reviews on internet. Some of those people have by mistake stayed there, had bad experience and and wrote bad review for this motel.

So when you read the good as well bad reviews consider that point.

Now about "Country Country Inn":
we stayed there with 2 kids, wife and a guest in the month of January. It was off season to visit Hershey. The motel has very good price. Close to Hershey factory. Also lots of food places within 1 or 2 mile. The motel is not like the 4 star or 5 star. But decent value for your money. It is kept clean. Bathrooms, rooms, hallway is clean. Internet worked fine. From my understanding it is family owned and run. so they do best to give best service/value for the dollar they charge.

Also if you are looking for cheapest price for this motel book dirtectly from their website. I found it was lower than any web offer.

Room Tip: "2 beds King and queen is best value if you are travelling with kids"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrakashGaonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed 1 night New Years for the R5 concert. I wasn't looking for anything special, just somewhere clean to sleep since we weren't going to be in the room for more than a few hours to sleep. Upon arrival, we noticed we were the only cars in the parking lot, bad sign? It took 3 trips to manager to get then to open the door. The key card reader was not working. I was actually in the process of booking another hotel whey they finally got it to work, it was certainly a safety issue. The room was smelly and outdated. Seriously out dated! Like 1950 carpet and bed spreads. Strange stains mottled the carpet and it had weird black flecks all over it. The beds were ok. Pillows were flat and lumpy. Bathroom toilet wouldn't flush properly, the toiletries consisted of 2 paper thin wafers of soap and an obviously used and refilled bottle of green mystery liquid. There was mold on the shower curtain. Thankfully the tub was clean. Towels were small and hard. The mini fridge wasn't plugged in and the microwave was filthy, but we had no need for either one. I wouldn't recommend this motel/Inn until some real renovations are done and a little more effort is put into the place. It certainly has potential. Location is the high point. Easy access to all hershey attractions. Oh and the night stand between the beds ( that is attached tony he wall) had been strategically placed and is for show only. I put my iPhone on it, as it came crashing down. Smh.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sue_albanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hershey hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Staying in room 112. The only heat in the room is by a space heater in the middle of the room...not the safest in my opinion. The beds are comfortable, mattress only, no box springs. The bathroom is old but clean. New flat screen tv with plenty of channels, and a mini fridge are nice. Not sure that I'd stay here again, but I have stayed at worse places.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neoplanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

For our Hershey Park Getaway my family likes to stay at Cocoa Country Inn. It works out for our budget and the accommodations are pretty good. You’re in close distance to most Hershey attractions. It's a pleasant place that is clean and reasonable priced, you really can't beat that. The attendant is always really helpful and we always enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtcgonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We made & paid for a reservation for 7 days. We arrived late Saurday & stayed. Early Sunday morning we informed front desk that we needed to leave, unfortunately. We gave 24 hours notice & knew we would pay for an extra night. The employee on duty that Sunday was unable to acess computer to check us out & could not get in touch with owner. We left message for owner/management to call us to finish checking out & set up refund. We finally got someone to answer phone Monday afternoon.Spoke with the manager, Barry, he was not helpful. He seemed angry that we were leaving early. Barry said we'd be charged for 3 nights. What a rip off.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stacems623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hershey
Travelodge Hershey
#14 of 25 in Hershey
343 reviews
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Hershey
Econo Lodge Hershey
#18 of 25 in Hershey
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
4.0 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#19 of 25 in Hershey
672 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

Property: Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Address: 1518 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1167 (Formerly Motel 6 Hershey - Grantville)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated Inn! We upgraded to new furniture in 2016 and large TVs in all rooms. Featuring all NON-SMOKING ROOMS! We offer an Outdoor Pool with a large deck. Diamond Award Winner. Just 1.2 miles from Hershey attractions!! Hershey Park visitors family favorite! Microwave and Refrigerators in all rooms, FREE Morning Coffee, FREE WiFi in all rooms, Coffee Makers, Irons, Ironing Boards, and Hair Dryers are some of the amenities we offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Country Inn & Suite At Hershey Hotel Hershey
Cocoa Country Inn And Suite At Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing