We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”

Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs
Ranked #11 of 84 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: A traditional ice cream parlor combined with a cafe style restaurant featuring pizza, authentic Philly steaks, subs and salads. Also open for breakfast Saturday and Sunday
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped through here on our way to DC. One Turkey Apple and Brie sandwich and a Steak Sandwich. While the wait was not exactly desirable ( 20 minutes for 2 sandwiches) the food itself was amazing! Very fresh and the fries were light and crispy. Would absolutely stop here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Allison Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    85
    32
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, friendly, in center of town”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This little gem is a nice place to eat at. The prices were good as was the food. The owner showed fine hospitality and took the time to chat with us and also with other guests at another table, even toward the end of a busy day. The restaurant is clean. It is on the main street in the heart of the town, but sits back off the street a bit, in between 2 other establishments, so I hadn't noticed it any of the times we've driven through Hershey by car. But when we actually took a walk through the center of town there it was. Their prices were very reasonable and we will go back again when we pass through Hershey. It's a good family atmosphere as well. I believe the owner said he is expanding an outdoor area that will extend toward the street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happy60798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etowah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife, sister, and I have been on vacation all week in Hershey, and we decided to eat at Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza, and Subs. We were excitedly pleased that we did. We decided to have a large pizza with everything on it, and it was cooked to perfection. Pat brought it to our table and made sure we had everything we needed. This pizza is not overpowering with too many spices as some are, and the crust was delicious. After we devoured most of the pizza, we had ice cream for dessert. It was pretty good, but not exceptional. We did return one afternoon for some more ice cream, and this time it seemed to be better. Thanks, Pat, for being a great cook and waiter!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent Service from Pat Austin and John”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It was Sunday June 15th when we arrived in town. As it was getting late my wife and the children were starting to get hungry. When we started looking into what was available we noticed our choices were limited and most places near by were already closed. I called Phillip Arthur's to ask what time they closed, the gentleman said 10:00. At that point we had to scramble because it was 9:35. We didn't have time to ask the children what they wanted, we decided to wing it and bring them something back we figured they would like. We jumped in the car to go place an order before it got too late. Unfortunately we passed it looking for it, never saw it at all. Coming back we finally spotted it, we could not believe we actually passed it twice, it actually sits back off the street and was pretty dark. By now it's almost 9:50 and my thought was the people are going to be ready to go home and have an attitude for us coming in this late with a fairly large order. There were two gentleman there when we walked in, one was cleaning up behind the counter and one was cleaning off tables etc. The one cleaning the dining area said to us when we are ready to order let him know. I thought to myself ok cool and told my wife that's a good sign, if they are ready to go they are not showing it. A couple of minutes later another gentleman came in from the side door and he jumped right in assisting as well. To shorten this a bit we made our decision all three gentleman were helping, very friendly, very polite, double checked to make sure the order was correct. We were extremely amazed and very pleased with the entire experience. Then the gentleman that came in from the side door asked if we're staying at the Days Inn, we told him yes. He asked why didn't we have it delivered? I told him it didn't say they delivered on the list. He said if we want them to deliver the food they will so we didn't have to sit around and wait. He then asked do we have children, we told him yes, he asked do they like tootsie pops, my wife said yes me too and he gave us tootsie pops,WOW!!! They delivered the food to us a short time later and the food was good and hot!! An awesome experience. John Austin and Pat, thank you very much!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Inside out pizza :)”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a very nice experience here, one night ended there with ice cream and help with an app on my iphone with discounts and coupons that we used right away. We went back the next day on our way home to enjoy the inside out pizza which was delish!! The house salad was so fresh!! We were able to totally relax while we ate no rush at all and the staff is so friendly. Next time we'll try breakfast there the menu looked really nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagicalJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs also viewed

 

Been to Phillip Arthur's Ice Cream, Pizza and Subs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing