We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very close to Hershey Park, staff not ready for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very close to Hershey Park, staff not ready for kids”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during a trip to Hershey Park. This hotel is very close to Hershey Park, but it's not within walking distance and there is no shuttle. The front-desk staff wasn't that friendly and being so close to a park, you would think that the hotel would be more kid friendly. We checked in, and our room was too small for us, and they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a larger suite. They do also offer complimentary breakfast. Their pool is right off the main lobby, which was a bit weird, and it was tiny. I realize these hotels are built in a cookie cutter fashion, but there should be some flexibility when they build them near an amusement park....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mruffini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your response. I am glad to hear that you found our suite spacious for your family and that breakfast met your needs. I am sorry to hear about the front desk not being polite, we do strive to make every guest feel welcomed. We hope that if you are in the Hershey area again that you will give us another shot for your overnight accomodations. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you,
Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    153
    38
    9
    7
See reviews for
272
51
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed over a weekend while visiting Hershey Park. The hotel staff was very friendly. Our room was very clean. I agree with other reviewers on 2 issues: paper thin walls (you can hear everything from adjoining rooms and the hall) and a very small pool. However, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozenpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your response! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay with us again! We love to see familiar faces:) I noticed your did mention about hearing your neighbors, if you have any issues with that on your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the desk and we will take care of it right away. Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thank you,
Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here in August with 8 people. The hotel is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and staff kindly accommodated my request for late checkout without charging extra fees. It is located 5 minutes from Hershey Park which was great as we were exhausted from a really long day driving to Hershey and then staying in the park until almost nine o'clock. The tiny pool and limited exercise room are a bit of a surprise in hotel of this caliber. Otherwise,a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stb902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for great response! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is nice to know that you thought our service and our cleanliness were great. Please let us know if you are coming back to the area, as we would love to see you again!

Thank You,
Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue last week. While the hotel is very nice and conveniently located, I was surprised to have paid $219 per night (excluding taxes and fees) when just the previous night we stayed at The Courtyard Gettysburg (the same exact Marriott hotel) and only paid $149 per night (excluding taxes and fees). Why the big difference? Same hotel; same week; both tourist areas. Both hotels were very nice and clean with courteous staff but I am confused as to the huge price difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your response. Even though we are both Marriott and in destination locations, we are different brands that offer slightly different amenities which will explain part of the price difference. The other part, is that properties rates change frequently depending on what is going on in the area. I hope that even though you thought it was pricey that you still felt our property gave you the value for the price paid and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that if you are ever back in the Hershey area that you choose to stay with us again!

Thank you,

Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family came in to Hershey to stay and the staff was wonderful and the breakfast was perfect! I forgot some things and went to buy and the desk staff gave me the stuff I needed. Also they were great to my kids and the rooms were nice. The hotel was sold out and we didn't hear anyone in the hallways. The pool was tiny but perfect for my little ones! The only issue we had was when we were in the room, the TV station would go out, we figured it was the dish they were using.
The location was perfect, a couple "blocks" to Hershey/Zoo America.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPATHamilton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your wonderful response. Its great to hear such wonderful comments about the associates. I do apologize for the issues you experienced with the TV. You are correct though, occasionally during inclement weather we do experience some problems with our satellite. We hope that we get another chance to have you as our guest soon!

Thank You,

Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Fairfield Inn is so close to Hershey Park that you can hear the roller coasters when you are outside. You are also down the street from popular Hershey restaurants, Hershey Museum, Hershey Theatre, train station, Zoo America, etc. We thought it was worth the higher price to stay here rather than 10-15 miles away in Harrisburg on Labor Day weekend. The hotel is seemingly brand new and decorated in a very bright Disney-ish child-friendly way. All of the staff members we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast area was bustling, so eat early -- especially if you are planning to arrive at Hershey Park when it opens. Everyone else has the same idea. There were a lot of standard hot and cold breakfast options. The lobby is a nice size and there are computers available. We didn't use the small indoor pool, but it is off the lobby. We peeked inside and it was being used by a few families. Our suite was different from other suites we've stayed in. The wall separating the bedroom from the living room was open and there wasn't a door. Basically, the entire suite was exposed from the door to the window. There was barely any separation, which didn't allow our baby her own space to get dark and quiet at bedtime. But the living room area had a desk, two tables, and a large sofa that could open into a bed. The hotel set-up a clean pack-and-play for the baby to sleep in. There was free wifi. The bathroom was very clean and bright. I think the hotel was sold out the weekend we were there, and it did seem crowded, definitely at breakfast time and in the elevators. The hotel is also very close to a drug store in case you forgot anything, and a short distance from the outdoor Hershey outlet mall.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevators. One side of hallway faces Hershey Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StickerShock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your great response! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the staff as they work hard to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Breakfast does get crazy in the morning during park season as everyone has the same agenda! We do our best to get everyone a seat and some hot or cold breakfast before they are on their way to the park. We hope you enjoyed your stay and if you find yourself back in the "Sweetest Place on Earth" we hope to have you as our guest!

Thank you,

Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Brand new says it all! not cheap, but what would you expect being only a couple of miles from the park. Check in and out were seemless, the rooms were spotless and large. The breakfast was good, but get there early because it gets crowded fast. A fair amount of construction all around so be carefull or you may drive right by it.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Michael,

Thank you for your response! I am glad you enjoyed our property. You are right Brand New is key! We just opened in April and as mentioned down the street from Hersheypark. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and as always please come back and stay with us if you are ever in the Hershey area.

Thank you,

Molly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hershey
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Address: 651 West Areba Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033-1929
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award-Winning Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott Hershey Chocolate Avenue opened April 2013. The hotel is located minutes from Hersheypark, Giant Center, Tanger outlets, Troeggs Brewing Company, museums and restaurants. Offering everything you need while in Hershey; spacious guest rooms, high speed internet, indoor pool, workout facility, business center and complimentary full hot American breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing