We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK But Not Great. NOT a True "Suite."”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK But Not Great. NOT a True "Suite."”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

When I book a hotel suite, I believe it should actually meet the definition of "suite"; that is, unless it was identified as a "studio suite," it should be more than one room with the rooms separated by a door. Fairfield's best and largest suite did not meet this definition. Our "executive suite" at the Fairfield Inn was just one room with bedroom furniture at one end and living room/desk furniture at the other. (There were tiny little bump-outs on the walls to define the areas, but they by no means separated them.) For me, this meant that my 7-year old's pull-out bed was in the same room as our bed, and I was subjected to her repeated complaints about her dad's snoring throughout the night. Not what I'd hoped for (or what I expected from a Marriott product).

Otherwise, the hotel was OK. The room was clean. The pool was clean but tiny. A very short and easy drive to Hershey Park but no shuttle from the hotel. When we arrived, we had only hand soap and conditioner for complimentary toiletries; throughout our 5-night stay, our housekeeper always failed to replace something (sometimes shampoo, sometimes toilet paper and sometimes coffee accessories).

Overall, it was fine, but we had hoped for better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank g00dtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue.

You indicated in your response that the room size and staff were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in our customer service and I can assure you we expect nothing but perfection from our team. I will look into our room descriptions with all reservation systems and ensure that this will be corrected.

You're a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    153
    38
    9
    7
See reviews for
272
51
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had an awesome stay here for nights with 8 members of my family aging from 7-49. Took my family their for my nieces graduation and we all had a blast. Rooms were very clean, pool was small but it was salt water and fine. Breakfast amenties ranged from make your own waffles to the continental standard and more. Their is ample setting and the staff was wonderful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Room 302 and 304 was very comfy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Fairfield. We were 5 and the rooms were great. The staff, the pool and gym exceeded my expectation for a small rural hotel. The location to Hershey park and Chocolate World was optimal.The only negatives were the nightly rate, I thought was high, and the noise heard through the walls and roof. Seems the "walls are too thin". You can hear kids walking above you, and the folks outside.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn with our two young children for one night. It was probably the quickest check-in I have every experienced. The pool was small and relatively cool but my kids didn't care and still had a blast. Older children might find it boring though. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it was very quiet. We ate at the complimentary breakfast and were very impressed. There was something for everyone. Fruit, cereal, eggs, biscuits, waffles, etc. Lots of different juices, milk and coffee. Checkout was also a breeze. My kids loved it and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My family just spent a long weekend at Hershey and stayed here. Very spacious and clean rooms and the service is very good. The staff is friendly and professional. The breakfast is very good with lots of options. The dining area is spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIttsburgh
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and 2 kids stayed at this hotel as we were going to Hershey Park. First my kids wanted a pool and I have to say, this pool was ridiculously small. I don't even know why they built a brand new hotel with a bathtub size in it? You can't fit more than 5-6 people in this pool. It just boggles my mind why a new hotel did this? Overall the hotel was very nice and clean and the room was a nice size and very modern. The breakfast was very good and the eating area was very spacious, clean, and modern. My only complaint is the pool and the location is about 10-15 minutes to Hershey park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molly_troutman, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your response we appreciate all the comments we receive from our valued guests. Our goal is to give the best customer service possible so we appreciate all feedback. We try to accommodate all of our guests and apologize for the size of our pool. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a clean, spacious and modern room as well as a good breakfast to start your morning.

We hope you visit with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Staff was friendly, the two girls that worked during the day and night were helpful for places to eat and suggested other places to visit in hershey. breakfast was great, many options. Close to the park. Rooms were modern and clean. The rate was reasonable and worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hershey
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 25 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Address: 651 West Areba Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033-1929
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award-Winning Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott Hershey Chocolate Avenue opened April 2013. The hotel is located minutes from Hersheypark, Giant Center, Tanger outlets, Troeggs Brewing Company, museums and restaurants. Offering everything you need while in Hershey; spacious guest rooms, high speed internet, indoor pool, workout facility, business center and complimentary full hot American breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing