We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great...”
Review of The Forebay

The Forebay
Reserve with OpenTable
The Forebay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 84 Restaurants in Hershey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: University Drive
Description: Creative comfort food, including premium steaks, seafood, and pastas, served in a cozy loft setting.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay but not great...”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My boyfriend and I came here for New Year's Eve...After being seated for ten minutes, a manager came over to our table and asked if the waitress had been over yet and she hadn't... Once she took our drink order, we waited another ten minutes before she came back and told us she forgot what we ordered! Overall, the food was good but not worth the high prices for the small portions. The only bonus was the free pretzel bread sticks to start.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Over rated and over priced”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Had dinner here during holiday season. Food was ok but overpriced abd more diner like. My ceaser salad was a disgrace. Had dinner here before a few years back was much better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thecips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in Hershey Lodge”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Terrific menu with good variety and local ingredients. Nice open room - accommodative to kids but doesn't sink to typical kid restaurant standards

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Had dinner with friends on our yearly Hershey Christmas overnight. All the entrees were really good but the smoked short ribs were the star of the meal. Good wine choices and excellent service. Definitely calls for a return visit the next time we're in town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I was here for work, and decided to try having dinner here. It's a little more fancy than the other restaurants, but reasonably priced for the portions. Drinks are expensive, but they are that way throughout the resort. They work with you if you have food allergies, and the chef comes out to talk to you. The other restaurants did not have the chef come out. They only had brussel sprouts for a vegetable, which I thought was weird... The lamb burger was delicious!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mssnappy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Forebay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing