We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but needs some work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Hershey
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean but needs some work”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I checked out of this hotel Sunday morning after a 2 day stay. Checking in was pretty easy, the people at the front desk seemed nice. They took the time to advise us of the breakfast and pool hours. We had a 2nd floor room, looking at the hotel next door. We had one with a king bed, and we both felt the room was a nice size. There were no issues with cleanliness that I could see. There was a mini-fridge and microwave in the room which was a nice thing to have. The internet was a little sketchy. I was able to get right on sometimes, other times it took a few tries. A friend in another room on the 1st floor was told he needed an Ethernet wire to connect, not sure what that was about.
They have most of the same offerings as other hotels that offer breakfast, but the breakfast area is set up kind of weird. There is a wall dividing the section up, and for example the waffle maker is on one side, but you have to go to the other side if you want butter. Same thing with the toast, it's on one side of the wall and the toasters and butter are on the other. The juice machine is set in a corner where it doesn't really fit and they have extra pitchers of juice with it. Next to that is a sink, and then the coffee pots. There's really not counter space to make you coffee unless you bring it to a table, but when it's crowded, that's not always your first choice. It seems to me they need to reorganize the whole section for less walking back and forth especially when it's crowded.
Speaking of coffee, it was only available during the day when the boss was there. Despite being advertised as 24 hours, when we asked, we were told they did not have it at night. Friends in 2 other rooms were told the same thing. I do have to add, that upon checking out, I did mention I was disappointed not to have coffee in the evenings, and the man who I believe might have been the boss told me it was supposed to be 24 hours and he would talk to the night guy. Hopefully he does.
Also regarding breakfast, the hot food was not that great. There was only 1 waffle maker and that was fine, but the sausage looked pretty gross, and so did the hash browns. The color of the food was unappetizing to say the least. I realize it is only heated on location, but it might be time to find a supplier who can provide food that at least looks cooked. We try to stay in Choice hotels most of the time and those two items never looked so bad in any other hotel we tried.
On Saturday we used the pool. There were wet towels around from a previous guest, but other wise it was pretty clean. The pool is a little small, but only my hubby and I were in it at the time so it was fine. It was heated, so that was a plus.
The vending machines were not working, however you were able to buy soda at the front desk according to the sign. We brought our own, so we did not need it.
All in all, I think we would stay here again, primarily because the day time front desk people are very nice, and the rooms are clean. It appears to be very convenient to the local tourist attractions as well (Right next door in the Antique car museum which is why we were there). Across the street is a delicious ice cream parlor which we went to twice! I probably wouldn't rely on breakfast though unless it was toast or muffins or something along those lines.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrskramden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    82
    40
    50
    98
See reviews for
203
59
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Only 1 mile from entrance to the park, it is a very good location. There are other chain hotel properties beside the hotel. The room was clean and bed very comfortable, which was a very pleasant surprise. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast area was small, crowded and food was not really to my liking but seemed to be comparable to most other properties I've stayed at before in this price range. A few disappointments were the keys not working upon check in which required a return trip with bags to the lobby. The staff accompanied us back up to ensure the keys would work. The skim milk in the container at breakfast was spoiled and I had to advise the attendant who quickly removed and replaced it. It was noisy with kids coming and going to rooms late then early in the morning. I wish I had gotten a better price but it was lower than the neighboring properties and not too bad of a value considering the good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apurplesquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The outside of the hotel was clean the day I checked in there was a conference for High School kids. They put me on the ground floor so I would be away from the noise but that didn't work. There was an odor and the pool area and weight room was musty with an unpleasant smell. I was there for the week for business and when I arrived the room didn't seem as clean as I would have expected. I found garbage in places that looked as if they were placed there on purpose and not found by hotel staff. The third day I came back to the room late after a long day and I just wanted to relax and the room was not cleaned. It was after 6pm and it was as if I just left it. There was no cleaning staff on duty and the after desk worker was kind enough to change the towels. I don’t believe the sheets had been changed the whole time I was there and there were many unhappy people yelling at the front desk people. I went to get something at the front desk and overheard someone getting a room on a Wednesday night, for one night with an empty hotel and they charged her $156 for a room. I wish I would have seen that room because that's not the one I stayed in. If it wasn’t for one or two of the desk workers I would be saying a lot more. Oh and don’t get excited about the hockey puck eggs that were still frozen in the middle, the rubber sausage and mess of hash crap that they microwave in the back room, it's not worth it. I also watch a young girl spit out the curdled milk they were serving. The only thing that seemed good were the waffles but those are hard to screw up when you take the ingredients out of the package and set them out. I was also advised by a fellow Colleague who was staying at the same place that the manager threw a fit and screamed at her when she tried to get the set rate we were told we would get. The manager is very unprofessional and had to understand when he is screaming.
I will be staying clear of this place when I return there are many other hotels in the area just reserve early and be picky.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if your looking for a deal and bring your own cleaning supplies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ushmacpatel, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Property CHI
GM
CM
717-583-5151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hershey hotels

Shawinigan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stopped at your place for the 3rd time this year. It is very clean and the mattress was very confortable. On our way back to Florida we like to go to Hershey World. You accept the coupon and it is well appreciated. The breakfast is the best we had compared to all other motels.

Room Tip: If you want very quiet room, it's Wise to go on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ushmacpatel, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Property CHI
GM
CM
717-583-5151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Came in after midnight after dropping my son at Hershey Lodge for a conference (too bad they didn't have a room available for me!) The maintenance man, who spoke very little English, was at the front desk and would not honor my travel coupon. ("The owner doesn't like to use coupons."...Then why allow your hotel to have a listing under travelcoupons?) He said we would settle the charge in the morning. The morning couldn't come soon enough. The body odor/mildew smell in my entire room, and most especially in the sheets, was disgusting and gave me the dry heaves the few hours I tried to sleep. I didn't want to even use the bathroom in the morning and left as soon as the sun came up. Tried to check out, but the same maintenance man said the owner was not around to decide what to charge me. Had to leave quickly, as I was getting ill just being in the lobby. Stay away!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Marilynn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ushmacpatel, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

CM Patel
GM
Quality Inn & SUites
7175835151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My son & I enjoyed our 2 day stay at your hotel while we were visiting Hershey Chocolate World. We were in the two room king bedroom suite w jacuzzi, that was very relaxing for my bad back. It was everything we wanted. The lukewarm water @ the indoor pool was very nice just right for this time of year. Waffles for breakfast were great. The staff was very nice and friendly especially Luis was very helpful with answering any question I had. Would definitely stay here again. Was just what I expected & more.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ushmacpatel, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

CM Patel
GM
Quality Inn & SUites
7175835151
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here when attending a concert at the Giant Center in Hershey. It is about a 2 minute drive to the arena and about a 5 minute drive to Hershey Park. It is an excellent location! The room was large with a king bed. It was very clean! Bonus at this hotel is the free wifi and the free hot breakfast.

The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and welcoming! He provided great information on where we could find dinner that evening. It was a nice and clean place and we plan on returning for another stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themadzins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ushmacpatel, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Hershey, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank You,
Please come next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hershey hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
505 reviews
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Springhill Suites Hershey Near the Park
2.1 mi away
The Milton Hotel
The Milton Hotel
#18 of 25 in Hershey
668 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 25 in Hershey
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Hershey

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Hershey
Address: 181 Hershey Rd, Hershey, PA 17033-2412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hershey
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Hershey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Hershey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Hershey Hotel Hershey
Quality Inn And Suites Hershey
Quality Inn Hotel Hershey
Quality Inn Hershey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing