We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Potential Charmer: A Work in Progress”
Review of Ash Mill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holicong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ash Mill Farm
Ranked #2 of 2 Holicong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Ashmill B&B in early July 2014 to celebrate our first anniversary. The inn keepers, I believe, were newlyweds themselves recently acquired the property. The property is charming and very close to local activities. It is an easy drive to Peddler's Village, New Hope restaurants/shops and area attractions. We stayed in one of the cottages that was separate from the main house, adjacent to the animal pens. If you are looking for privacy from the main house, this is a good option. The semihomemade breakfast was delicious and they took my food allergies into consideration. However, the grounds and room we stayed in were not in good condition. The carpets were stained and there are countless updates that need to take place around the property. ( i.e. paint the entire headboard/footboard, remove dead plants from window box planters, replace the cottage door mat that is mildewed/unraveling) I wish the new owners the best wishes and best of luck in updating the property as they take on this new endeavor. I hope they are up to the challenge to make the property worth the cost of staying and we could go back.

Room Tip: It sounds like the rooms in the main building are nicer than the Bo Beep Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank TripAdMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R, Marketing Director at Ash Mill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Hello! I realize this is a year later, but wanted to thank you for your comments. They were very observant and well thought out. We appreciate the feedback and your positive nature. Within the last 3 months we've completely overhauled Bo Peeps Cottage and many of your notes have been remedied. You are correct, we are a work in progress! If you choose to visit us again, we hope you'll be pleasantly surprised. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Ash Mill Farm was built in 1792 !!!! Absolutely amazing. The owner is committed to renovating this farm, as time and budget allow, so you will find parts of it are not in perfect condition ..... but who cares? It is spotlessly clean, and full of charm and ambiance. We stayed in the Buckingham suite and loved it - it was spacious, simply appointed, and had everything we needed. The ceiling fans kept both rooms cool. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. Noel and her husband run the inn for the owners, and could not have been nicer or more helpful. When we go to Bucks County again, we will definitely be back at the Ash Mill Farm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

This B and B was perfect for a two day stay with a friend. Our room had a queen size bed and a day bed in separate small spaces so we had privacy. Everything was neat and cozy but not overdone so we felt at home. The inn keepers are nice and responded really well to our requests for help: looking for restaurants, for a bookstore and for nice places to visit.
The house is old, from 1790, with all the charm an old house can have but also with visible signs of old age: the floors make noises, some painting is falling off and the carpet in the stairs is rusty, but the furniture is nice, the bathrooms are clean, the towels are new and nice.
Breakfast was good with nice choices and we thoroughly enjoyed touring the farm as well as the towns in the neighborhood.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Himelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We attended a wedding and assorted wedding pre and post events at the B&B across the road from Ash Mill Farm. We loved our stay in Bo Peep's Cottage on a beautiful weekend, complete with baa-ing sheep and a friendly cat. The bed is comfortable, the room is spacious and pretty in a simple but elegant way, and much more to my taste than the wildly ornate rooms at the B&B where the wedding was held. The innkeepers had just started in their role the weekend we stayed, and they were friendly and responsive as well as being excellent breakfast cooks. The guest fridge with free water and soda is a nice touch, as is the small refrigerator in the Bo Peep room. The towels are possibly the nicest, fluffiest towels I have ever had in a B&B. Just a small amount of feedback for the new innkeepers: it would be good to have glasses in the room, for tooth brushing and/or drinks. Also, the hanging shower holder for shampoo, etc in the Bo Peep room is very rusted and needs to be replaced -- an inexpensive fix that would make a difference. And finally, on summer weekends, it would make sense to air out the room prior to guests arriving. When we got there it had been closed up and smelled a bit musty. A couple hours of open windows completely fixed that. All in all, this was a great stay and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want a little separation from the main house, Bo Peep's cottage is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband decided we should book a B&B last minute for our first wedding anniversary. We called Avi at Ash Mill on Friday, and he had a gorgeous room still available. We had a private bath and a huge and cushy king size bed. What a wonderful inn to stay out for our anniversary. Avi is such a kind innkeeper. There were many guests this weekend, too! The inn was very quiet, relaxing, and quaint. The grounds and the sheep were beautiful as well! We came down on Saturday and checked in. Ash Mill is very close to all the things the area has to offer! We will absolutely be staying here again. Avi made a wicked good breakfast. My husband and I both had omelets and the bacon was super yummy. Nice and crisp the way I like it. Thank you so much, Avi! We will see you soon! And the towels were huge and soft.....that was fabulous. :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

First of all, Ash Mill Farm's Website photos were what brought us to select their B&B over the throngs of other B&Bs in the New Hope area. We liked the way the photos fit our style. That's what got us there in the first place. We didn't see a ton of lace or gaudy rooms in the pics and we liked the shabby-chic, rustic charm indicated in the photos posted on their Website.

When we arrived at Ash Mill Farm, we immediately fell in love with the place. Everything surpassed our expectations, which had already been pretty high. The place is stunning. As soon as you walk into the entrance, you feel like you're "home." While the house was built in the late 18th century, it looks romantically modern. Words and photos really don't do the place justice. It's stunning. We were greeted by a super friendly innkeeper, Avi, who checked us in and got us to our room. It was such a unique, little room and my husband and I fell in love with its appearance. The homemade cookies, inviting bed, and giant, white, fluffy towels also helped to pull us into the vibe of the house. After checking out the nearby shops in New Hope, we headed back to Ash Mill and pulled up to the beautifully lit facade of the house. The house was quiet, warm, and super comfy...perfect for sleeping. We awakened in the morning, after one of the most comfortable and peaceful sleeps ever experienced in my lifetime, to have a phenomenal breakfast at a rustic table in a sun-drenched room, right next to a roaring fire. Honestly, it was an ineffably fantastic experience and we're DEFINITELY going back and we're DEFINITELY going to recommend Ash Mill Farm to everyone we know. It is a wonderful place and a truly romantic, unique experience.

The rooms are clean and so neat looking. They were also quiet and warm all night long. You don't feel like you're at your great-grandma's house, but you also don't feel like you're in a hipster's hangout. You have access to free Wifi so you can take shots of the adorable sheep, goats, and barn cats on the grounds. The breakfast was delightful and made super special by that huge fireplace. The innkeeper was a soft-spoken, friendly, and obliging gentleman who made us feel welcome and well-taken care of. The bed...oh my...was like a cloud. We really, really didn't want to leave and we certainly cannot wait to go back.

What a gem!

Room Tip: The house is very quiet during sleeping hours, but, since it's so old, some of the floors can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeccaPolard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Wow! My best friend and room mate from college met here for a get away. It has been 11 years since I have seen her. Ash Mill Farm B & B was the perfect place for our reunion. The website is what attracted me to book our getaway. The sheep on their farm are so cute, We even got to feed them. Also, there was a goat, some barn cats and a white bunny. My daughters will love to visit. We had the top floor to ourselves, where we had plenty of room to chat the hours away. The B & B is very clean. Our breakfast was absolutely yummy. A fire in the huge kitchen fireplace was burning. Amazing! We really enjoyed speaking with the innkeeper and the other guests! So sad it was only for a night as our time quickly flew by. We will return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we saw seem unique/special in their own way. The top floor room was very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michellelynnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holicong
1.0 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Doylestown
Hampton Inn Doylestown
#2 of 2 in Warrington
427 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
124 reviews
4.5 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#1 of 2 in Doylestown
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Mill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Mill Farm

Address: 5358 York Road, PO Box 202, Holicong, PA 18928
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Holicong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holicong
Price Range: £83 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set just outside the lively streets of New Hope, Ash Mill is a ten-acre working sheep farm featuring five guest rooms in the Grand Manor house and two separate guest cottages. We welcome you to relax while you're here, enjoy the breeze in a rocking chair on the front porch. Seriously, 'our house is your house' and all that good stuff—we'll even make you breakfast with those sweet, familiar flavors that embody home cooking, only better, fresher {farm fresh!}The Farm grounds are also perfect for events with flavor. Situated among meadows and dotted with trees, the property with it's many multi-use buildings is perfect for casual outdoor weddings, soirees, corporate events and get-togethers of all kinds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing