We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our quintessential Bucks County wedding experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holicong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Holicong B&B and Inns
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our quintessential Bucks County wedding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I cannot recommend Barley Sheaf highly enough! My daughter's wedding reception was held there on Sunday, August 17, 2014. The barn is a fabulously gorgeous venue for eating (food was delicious! Could not get enough of the brisket!), dancing, and conversation. We were extremely fortunate to have outstanding weather, so the outside seating and lawn areas were filled with our guests and the little children who attended. The room where the bridal party prepared for the wedding (The Man Who Came to Dinner) was so lovely! Three big rooms plus a balcony, and my daughter and son-in-law had the most fabulous breakfast the next morning. I have also eaten at the Barley Sheaf on several occasions other than this wedding. The food is impeccable. Portions are small but absolutely outstanding. It's also BYOB, so that makes me happy:) The scenery, the service, the food, the rooms are beyond excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth_A_M_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    21
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
23
69
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My company rented the entire property for a company retreat. I checked out the Inn online after the arrangements were made and thought it looked nice enough. However, upon our arrival, I was really blown away and couldn't believe we were being treated to such a stately and elegant experience.

The long approach down the driveway really sets the stage. We were met by a picturesque fountain (complete with cherubs) and and a beautiful Manor House that is in perfect harmony with the surrounding area (which is a much more interesting corner of the Northeast than I've ever seen). We were all assigned different rooms and later discovered (on a room-by-room company tour) that each one is special in its own way. My room, Dancing in the Dark, made me feel like Marie Antoinette. If I came back, I'd love to stay in Hello Sweetheart, with its cavelike bathroom, which was the envy of our group.

The pastoral grounds are absolutely dreamy and the pair of on-site miniature horses were adorable. We loved the pool and the meadow behind the barn where we did a group improv activity.

Dinner was served to us in the dining room and the food and service were both exquisite. Scallops, duck breast, halibut, lamb... there was something for everyone (including the vegans). Presentation was beautiful and we all left very satisfied.

My only complaint was the lack of ghosts for such an old and historic place. I had been hoping for a haunting, alas, got a perfectly undisturbed night of sleep. Also, it is really a very romantic setting, which was perhaps wasted on us as bunch of colleagues. Based on the in-suite guest journals, the Barley Sheaf is an no-brainer when it comes to an anniversary destination. I would love to go back for my own.

Room Tip: Manor House suites are great for design-lovers and antique enthusiasts. The barn rooms are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Inn was gorgeous with wonderfully cared for grounds and the service was graciously friendly but not at all intrusive. The moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and the antique charm and character of the Inn was comfortable and relaxing. We had an amazing dinner in the restaurant with fresh farm to table menu items followed by complimentary dessert candies. Our room was clean, well appointed and the double jacuzzi tub was just perfect. I cannot think of anything about our stay that I would change, everything was lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in the No Place To Go room on the third floor which has a sun porch with a (private) two p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jem9699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A year ago, my wife and I decided to have our wedding at The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm, and we were fortunate to celebrate our 1st anniversary there as well. We plan on celebrating every anniversary, as well as any other excuse we can find, by enjoying this exceptional place. We love it more than can be expressed in this review.

The staff is amazing. They are all so sincerely welcoming, that you really feel like a personal guest... More than just a customer. The breakfast is delicious... We made it a point to try everything on the menu and not a bad note could be found. The grounds are beautiful. The long tree lined path offset the property from the road and make it feel completely secluded and serene. At night, fireflies light up the trees and the grass surrounding the property creating a vista that my wife repeatedly called "magical".

As far as a weekend getaway, Barley Sheaf is a perfect peaceful retreat. As far as holding an event, the Barley Sheaf staff helped us host an amazing wedding weekend for our guests.

I could not recommend The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm more highly. My wife and I can not imagine having had our wedding anywhere else.

Room Tip: Each room is unique... Best to explore the pictures of each to decide which suits your style more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRanBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was in town for a motorcycle rally and stayed for three nights. (It was the 40th Anniversary of the BMW R90S.) Sometimes motorcyclists are not viewed in a favorable light but the folks at Barley Sheaf could not have been more accommodating. They even made room for me to park in their barn. They begged me to eat breakfast on Sunday even though I was leaving early. (it was wonderful). I stayed in "Beggar on Horseback" which is in the barn. It was quite nice and it reminded me of my grandfather's barn. Bottom line: This is a very nice place to stay with a GREAT staff. Don't miss the breakfast.

Room Tip: The barn is neat if you like a more rustic (but modern) accommodations. Antique furnishings add a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our experience at the Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm was memorable, distinctive, natural and peaceful. The owners and the exemplary staff demonstrated empathy,sincerity, kindness, graciousness, and joie de vivre. Our entire family stayed at the Inn where we held the rehearsal dinner for our son's wedding.......the attention to detail, the follow through, the fine dining, the refined goods and services were perfect. The Barley Sheaf Inn is distinctive...distinctive from all perspectives...and I can't even begin to name everyone on the staff who made our stay and our Rehearsal Dinner the most memorable and distinctive experience ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Where do I even start? We had our wedding at this facility. I will go through some details below, but if you don't want to read much, our day was perfect. I know that is used a lot to describe things, but I can honestly say I would not have changed one thing about my special day.

1. plan early. My wife went and went on tours of the area, and really liked the spot. I went back with her and we locked in a date. Advice, go early and book early, there is a reason the good dates go fast.

2. Planning. They know how to do weddings (and celebrations). We were assigned Jolene, she has been there a while, and wasn't bossy but steered us in the right direction.

3. Size. We had 60 at our wedding. The facility is perfect for 40 to 80 maybe. Our size happened to be perfect.

4. Room. Every room is different and for an old house, the rooms were huge. And clean.

5. Staff. They get 6 stars on a 5 star scale. Housekeeping. They know when you are out of your room and by the time you get back from breakfast, your room is refreshed. it's almost like magic. Wait staff. Take care of all needs. Chef. Unbelievable. The taste is great and portion sizes are perfect. Grounds. Immaculate, well taken care of.

The only bad thing i can say is a few people drove by the entrance because it's on a state highway and not in a town, so it's hard to explain exactly where to turn. No one missed the wedding though!

So wether its a wedding or just a weekend getaway for a couple, i can HIGHLY recommend this gem a bit out of Philadelphia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLoweAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holicong
1.1 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
6.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Doylestown
Hampton Inn Doylestown
#2 of 2 in Warrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm

Property: The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm
Address: 5281 York Rd., Route 202/263, Holicong, PA 18928
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Holicong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Holicong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm is a beautiful premier New Hope Inn located in Bucks County. Enjoy expansive views of the country side as the property is situated on 100 acres of preserved farmland and forest. Experience the delicious brunch or dinner menus at the property restaurant or take advantage of our expansive wedding venue grounds for your special day. The Inn at Barley Sheaf Farm offers a unique and elegant experience. Make your reservation online today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Barley Sheaf Farm Hotel Holicong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing